We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the apartment”
Review of Hostel Mostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Mostel
Ranked #1 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We wanted a private room for two and shared bathroom. They took us a couple of streets away to an apartment building where they have one of the apartments. The apartment is really big and has I think 4 double rooms (not sure on that) and two bathrooms. There is a pretty decent kitchen diner too.
The only gripe was the creaky bed, it was really quite loud at the slightest movement, maybe they changed that now. It was clean and tidy and the bathroom was nice. The street it was in was quiet too.
Breakfast was included at the hostel, as was evening meal I think but we went out on the town. Breakfast is a real filler even though it was busy when we were there. The staff were really helpful, I mean really helpful and attentive considering how many people were around.
We'd definitely stay there again, actually we did, although we asked for a different room to avoid the creaky bed and it was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNNN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

After travelling a month around Eastern Europe with a couple of friends, our final stop was Sofia. I stayed for three nights... If it had been the first stop, no doubt we would have stayed longer, and you should too! Although Sofia itself wasn't that great, this was head and shoulders the best hostel I've stayed in. On our first night we went on a free pub crawl that Hostel Mostel offers. Make sure you don't miss it out! It's a great way to get to know everyone. And at the hostel, the common room is a buzzing hub of people, rather than dejected and desolate. There was such a friendly atmosphere, that by the final of three nights, we had accumulated about 20-30 other people on our night out. That same night/morning, I left for the UK at some ridiculous hour (3am or so) which was no problem for the hostel; I didn't have to pay for that night because the huge common area is open 24/7. The lady on 24 hour reception sorted out booking a taxi to the airport with a company they use all the time, so it was safer and cheaper than booking it yourself. We had such a great time that I can barely remember the rooms, but they were very clean secure, I think we each had a card key with a sensor on it. Amazing breakfast, better than I've had at any hotel. A complete smorgasbord of eggs cooked various ways, meats, plums, grapes, cheeses, camomile tea, coffee, orange juice, AND (saving the best till last) homemade waffles. Then there were the little things, like the random walnut nutcracker by reception and some strange metal tongue drum - just odd things like that which got people talking and making music. Oh, dinner and beer was included too, all for the jaw-dropping price of £10! That was in late September/the beginning of October, so not peak season, but still very popular. This would be a great stay for solo travellers; although I was in a group, I spent more time with the people I met at Hostel Mostel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Friendly staff introduces you to the city center and they are really proactive, helped us to buy return tickets. We paid 52lv. for a room for two, breakfast and dinner, bathrooms and showers are clean, but shared with other people.

Room Tip: Double rooms are located a block away from the main place, where you have breakfast and dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis_Mamontov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a great value hostel which ticks all the boxes. Location on the edge of the city centre is very convenient. Facilities are very good. Staff friendly and helpful. If only all hostels were this good! I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hostel was clean, comfortable, and safe.
The staff was excellent and helpful, making sure I knew how to get around Sofia.
The free breakfast included in an already-low price was really nice.

Overall it was just a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomasAmbrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Book ahead. This place is busy in the summer and for a good reason. It's cheap, clean, solid staff, interesting travelers, nice private rooms w/ shared showers and the dorms are nice as well. Security is solid and the location is central to where you want to be in the center of Sofia. There are several computer terminals available, breakfast and light dinner are a big plus as is the local butcher shop (cheap and good) a market nearby has japanese ramen for those of you missing a little asian food on the cheap which is easy to cook. Pretty sweet here, lots to see and a very comfortable common area. They also have a helpful staff to direct you where to go and what to see. Ask about their Veliko Tarnovo location, I think it's great.

Room Tip: Book ahead and consider the price for a private room with shared shower. It has a slightly better lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Fantastic Guys and girls run the hostel, clean, cheap and with a super cool buffet breakfast(better than a lot of hotel!)
The guests are awesome as well, best weekend in europe since years!
It s included also a free glass of beer and a dish for the dinner, very useful to know the other guest(and maybe join the daily pub crawl!)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Fedeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1.1 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 135 in Sofia
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
598 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Akord Hotel
Akord Hotel
#32 of 135 in Sofia
101 reviews
2 mi away
10 Coins Hostel
10 Coins Hostel
#5 of 140 in Sofia
89 reviews
1.2 mi away
Moreto & Caffeto Hostel
Moreto & Caffeto Hostel
#4 of 140 in Sofia
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mostel

Address: pl.Makedonia 2a, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Price Range: £9 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Mostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Mostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mostel Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing