We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hostel mostel”
Review of Hostel Mostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Mostel
Ranked #1 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

so friendly staff, sociable hostel and pub crawl organised each night Had a whale of a time Beds were comfy enough and bathrooms were clean Breakfast was great especially the waffles Highly recommended and good location

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great staff, really friendly and helpful.
Pretty good location, most things are within walking distance but the trams are real cheap and easy.
The rooms are clean and great value for money. I'd recommend staying in a dorm if you're on a budget and its definitely worth paying the couple of euros extra for the food, the dinners every night are delicious, cheaper than you could do yourself and brings everyone in the hostel together.
They run a rila monastery trip which is a little pricey but definitely worth it, and i've been told the vitosha mountain hike and city walks they recommend are also great.
If you're going to sofia stay at this hostel...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

By the time i got to Hostel Mostel i was well over due some real sleep and despite being in sofia thats exactly what i did. The guys in the hostel were great. Showed us to our room, great price and the bed was exactly what i needed to catch up on my sleep. Good showers too. Thank you very much. They also included a meal and a beer in the price which was great and there was a lot of space in the common area for everyone to chill out!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank YorkshireTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Was pleasantly surprised when i walked into the courtyard, a well-preserved Greek mansion greeted me. Even cooler was the common area on the ground floor with its laid-back design, comfortable chairs and sofas for just lazing around to use the wifi and cool hippie music playing over the room speakers. I think most travelers just spend most of their time here to do some work or chat with newly made friends.

The dorm rooms are not so spacious though. 4 bunk beds squeezed into a small room with no space for even a table in the center. Not very well ventilated as the back windows are sealed. However, a huge window facing the courtyard solves this, with an open concept where other hostel visitors can peer into your dorm from the walkway.

The hostel has a zero tolerance policy on noise and alcohol after 10pm. But this is understandable due to its location being surrounded by residential areas and for the consideration of other guests. Be sure to take your party out by 930pm.

The staff was super nice! Extremely helpful with planning my day trips to explore the city. The hostel has relationships with a honest cab company, so be sure to go through them when calling cabs to avoid taxi sharks on the streets.

Overall a comfortable stay. I would definitely be back here if i have an entourage of 4 to take an entire dorm. The common area is shupar cool. Come to see this place at least once.

Room Tip: Choose a private ensuite room with a group of friends. The single person apartments are NOT located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed in Sofia from Thursday-Sunday and I had a fantastic time! The hostel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the vibe of the hostel was very relaxed and fun. There was a pub crawl every night, so there was a lot of time to get to know all of the fellow travelers. I stayed in the 8 bed room and it included breakfast and dinner every day, which was great and it saved me quite a bit of money. I have to go back to Sofia in about a month and will definitely he staying there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at Hostel Mostel.
Nice, clean rooms. Good (free) breakfast.
Super friendly and helpful staff!!
I recommend this place to everyone who's looking for an affordable stay in Sofia.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IneVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hostel Mostel is located in the centre of Sofia close to the main attractions. The main bus & train stations are within ( long ) walking distance. Also bus 84 for the airport. There are many shops & restaurants nearby. The hostel is clean & comfortable & the breakfast & evening meal ( included in the price ) are good value. The staff are friendly & helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
629 reviews
1.1 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 135 in Sofia
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
10 Coins Hostel
10 Coins Hostel
#5 of 143 in Sofia
90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Moreto & Caffeto Hostel
Moreto & Caffeto Hostel
#3 of 143 in Sofia
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hostel
Art Hostel
#20 of 143 in Sofia
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mostel

Address: pl.Makedonia 2a, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Price Range: £10 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Mostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Mostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mostel Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing