We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sofia
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good business location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights as participant to a conference. Extra spacious rooms unusual for the typical business traveler. Price too high but comparable to same 5 star hotels in the area. Great location in the heart of the city. Had breakfast/ lunches/diner there. Would prefer to taste more of the local/national delicacies than the same international standardized menus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATHANASIOS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us and for choosing Grand Hotel Sofia. We are proud of our property and your feedback shows that we have managed to pass the experience to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    258
    52
    18
    9
See reviews for
87
198
67
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great location in the centre, close to Presidential and Governments offices, as well as major museums. Large bedroom with magnificent views. Free wifi and good desk area. Good wardrobe and bathroom. Staff very attentive. Great facilities for conferences. Among the very best hotels in Sofia. Recommended for business, but also for tourists because of its location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Sofia. Our team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as possible. When we accomplish that we have done our job. Thank you so much for the kind words. We are more than thrilled that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations.


We hope it will not be long before we welcome you again as guest of the Grand Hotel Sofia.
Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel ticks most of the boxes for the modern business traveller.

On the plus side; the location is excellent, there is a decent sized fitness center and rooms are of high quality.

On the down side, breakfast is charged at a ridiculous amount given local pricing so I would recommend getting it included in your room rate.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank andyhook2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are so honored that you chose Grand Hotel Sofia while you were in town. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience. Your kind recognition has been very well received.

We are proud of our culinary operation and try to satisfy all tastes and preferences. The breakfast might seem a little bit expensive compared to what is on offer locally but it allows us to maintain the quality and variety that our guests deserve.

Naturally, we would love to be at your service again in the future and hope that your travel plans will take you back to Bulgaria.

Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a Business trip.
The rooms are large and spacious.
My room was a superior room, double bed, room safe, no balcony, TV with two English channels, BBC news and discovery channel. No kettle.
The bathroom was old fashioned but large. All bathroom amenities provided, the hairdryer was the old fashioned type and should now be relegated to a museum. There was a seperate shower and bath. Room service available and the food was good.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and was good, with all tastes being catered for.
The hotel was located in the centre of Sofia, so everything was within walking distance.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: My room was on the 4th floor and I had no complaints. 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking some time to share your comments with the Tripadvisor readers. The guest feedback is the best way for us to rate the quality of the services that we provide. Thank you for helping us in our ongoing efforts to achieve excellence. Your notes have been taken into consideration.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Sofia and our hotel.
Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel has an excellent position bordering on a large park in the centre of Sofia - there are very nice views of the art gallery and of the nicely renovated theatre - the staff are very nice indeed - all have a great attitude and are eager to help - I left a charger behind in the room - it was very quickly found by housekeeping and given to me before I left - breakfast is very good and comprehensive but expensive at 19 euros per person - probably the best feature of the hotel is that all rooms are huge

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are more than thrilled that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations.
We really hope that you will find reasons to come back to Sofia and I would like to assure you that my colleagues will make it another worthwhile experience for you.

Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had been a week in Bulgaria and had a marathon 5 hour drive from Varna late at night, so we were very relieved and happy to have checked in for our last night in Bulgaria in the Grand Hotel. From the start the service was excellent, we were upgraded with a lovely room with a balcony, a complimentary tray with a little bottle of wine, water, tea and coffee, and we went down to a late supper in the restaurant. The room itself had a very comfy bed, extra pillows arrived within minutes (as opposed to never at the hotel in Varna), and a super bathroom with fluffy bathrobes and more. Staff were excellent. The only gripes I have are (1) we would have had to pay extra to use the gym and spa (so we didn't) and (2) at dinner and at breakfast (19 Euros each - not cheap) the staff were rather "over-enthusiastic" at removing our still-containing-food plates, and at breakfast it was only after I determinedly held onto my plate (which only contained a couple of grapes!) did the staff member in question stop trying to take it away! Probably just more training needed - but do get rid of the gym charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your overall rating of Grand Hotel Sofia as a good hotel.
We would also like to thank you for the valuable feedback you shared with us, because it all will help us in our ongoing efforts to meet guests’ expectations.
We can assure you that your recommendations and remarks regarding the breakfast will be taken into consideration. Please, accept our apologies if the service did not meet your expectations all the time.

Our guests can enjoy the fitness center included in their room price.
Apart from this they can choose from the variety of services that we provide and enjoy the good professional and service attitude of our colleagues. Many of our guests take the time to indulge themselves in different body treatments and all of them share their positive experience.
You can also book a SPA day package up on your next visit, which includes a whole day of relax in the sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath.

We hope it will not be long before we welcome you again as guests of the Grand Hotel Sofia.
Sincerely

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very comfortable , staff helpful and accomodating. Only real negative is that the lifts were inadequate for the volume of people trying to use them. The rooms are enormous and luxurious; the bathrooms amazingly clad with marble. Would definitely recommend !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaChidgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petya A, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor readers. I have to admit that we had a wonderful start of the week after reading your comments. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the facilities and above all that the services met your expectations.
We hope it will not be long before we welcome you again as guest of the Grand Hotel Sofia.
Kind Regards,

Petya Angelova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#5 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#6 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sofia

Property: Grand Hotel Sofia
Address: ul.Gen. Gurko 1, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#2 Business Hotel in Sofia
#3 Family Hotel in Sofia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star hotel's unique central location and easy access to major sights makes this an ideal choice when staying in Sofia. It offers extremely spacious rooms where to enjoy a 5-star level of luxury, style and comfort. The modern Convention Centre features 4 conference rooms, varying in size to accommodate from 10 to 150 delegates in different set-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing