We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“National Theater”

Ivan Vazov National Theater
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.99*
and up
Sofia Food Tasting and Cultural Walking Tour
Ranked #13 of 170 things to do in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“National Theater”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was absolutely breath taking at night and so was the atmosphere around it. It's also surrounded by some of the most beautiful (and expensive) late 19th/20th century residential buildings in Sofia. Definitely worth a visit in the day too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    70
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful buildings in Sofia”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Highly recommended a visit. The building is in excellent shape from outside - clean and all details are restored to pristine condition.
I did not go inside - unfortunately I did not organize tickets for a show in advance.
But the surrounding area is also very nice and the fountains are working.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MysteryShopper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
381 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Excellent theatre with such a huge history”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I went twice during my last visit to Sofia. the theatre is well located, well maintained and not too big. you maybe seated at the balcony or down in the stalls, you have a perfect view of what is happening on stage.
Compared to lots of theatres in Europe, the seats are very affordable: around 10€ for a nice seat. Lots of various performances are offered.Bulgarian is not my languages but both performances I have seen where just amazing

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“National theater”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wonderful buliding. In the area nearby you can see couple of the most beautiful residential buldings in Sofia, dated the begining of 20th century or even the late 19th. The park in front of the thetater is also very nice place. Althought in the night there are lot of young people there drinking beer and playing music, it is safe. It is the most lively place in the downtown if you do not count the malls.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere on the Earth
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A place to see the Bulgarian shows and the meeting point for Sofia Bike/Hike Tour”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

In my trip, I did not have time to check the events inside. Well, I visited there for other reasons. First time was during the Sofia Free Walking Tour and the second time was for the Sofia Bike/Hike Tours which the participants meet in front of the theater at 11am every day. Well, the walking tour guide said that the painter who colored the baby's genital area on the top of the column got fired after he did that. Maybe, that is one of the trivia every visitor should know for a good joke from Sofia. It's just like something not every tourist knows like the hidden bell hanged on the tree in front of "that" church. One more trivia about the theater area, do you want to know? Check out what is in front of the theater: a Michael Jackson memorial place!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WonderingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ivan Vazov National Theater also viewed

 

Been to Ivan Vazov National Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing