We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good historical museum with a beautiful garden.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Museum of History

National Museum of History
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.24*
and up
Sofia Full-Day Tour
Ranked #18 of 156 things to do in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Museum of History has the most impressive collection of national treasures and is the largest museum in Bulgaria. Through more than 650,000 artifacts – Thracian gold and silver, pottery, icons, art & jewelry, mosaics – it tells the story of the European civilization from the dawn of times to the modernity. With focus on the 1300 years history of the Bulgarian state, the museum is a must-see attraction to visit while in Sofia. Closed on national holidays - 1 Jan, 24, 25 Dec.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good historical museum with a beautiful garden.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The mesuem is situated in a spaceous green park and has big collection showing the history of Bulgaria from ancient times. You can combine visit to the museum with visit to one of the oldest churchies : a tiny Boyana church with bestiful frescs.
The beautiful garden with great view on the mountin is hiding behind the social-monumentalistic building of the museum.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oslo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    97
    36
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Much information up for grabs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is an interesting site to see. There are many diverse collections, in a very interesting building of communist origin, probably. It covers many periods of the Bulgarian history. Worth mentioning, the view from the back of the museum is just breathtaking.
However, much of the collections are only explained in Bulgarian which was rather disappointing. Should be seen, but I really had to think whether I should give it 3 or 4 dots.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Impressive treasures in an impressive building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were here on a tour so can't comment on how difficult the museum is to get to on your own. We were also only here for a short time but wished we could have spent more time as I feel we only touched on a small sample of what the museum had to offer. The displays are excellent, our guide was knowledgeable and the building itself is quite beautiful inside with carved ceilings and a beautiful garden to the rear. I found both shops to be some of the better shops selling souvenirs in Bulgaria.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Even more amazing gold artefacts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you have time do visit this museum, even though it is not in the centre and therefore a little bit more difficult to get to. I think it is wonderful - open and airy, plenty of different exhibits of Bulgarian history, from national costumes to religious artefacts to a short piece on the research Bulgarians scientists are doing in Antarctica. But best of all is the room of ancient artefacts and my lasting memory of Sofia will be the gold "phial" on display as you go up the steps and enter that room.

There is a joint ticket with the Boyana church, which is quite close by and it is easy to do the two together.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pippa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Epic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The span of history is covered in one building. The early christain church mosaics, the Roman and Thracian treasures. The landscaping behind the building, the avenue of sarcophagi lining the road to the entrance. An absolute must. no entry fee, unless taking photos (10lev) and you will want to take photos, believe me!
Spectacular

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing