We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Vasil Levski Monument
from US$56.53
More Info
from US$103.84
More Info
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
6
12
20
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
12
20
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We walked past it daily as we went to and from our little rented apartment. The monument is smart and easily accessible for a closer inspection due to the most admirable manners of Bulgarian drivers who give pedestrians priority when they cross the roads. There is no need for a traffic light here. He was a very special hero to the Bulgarian people and this monument deserve our time for his modern thoughts on nationhood. Acceptance of diversity and freedom of expression. We all have to carry on upholding his philosophy as best as we can.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank diellasulaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

There are definitely more visually impressive monuments if Sofia, but this one has several interesting facts behind.

First of all, it's dedicated to one of the most prominent figures in Bulgarian history.

Secondly, its construction took 17 long years because of negligence.

Thirdly, its shape may look somewhat incomplete, that's probably because initially there was supposed to be a Christian cross on the top, but it was never materialized.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Kostyantyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

13 meter high monument is standing on the place where Bulgarian national hero Vasil Levski was executed by hanging. A historical site.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank yegorb306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

It is a place of worship for each Bularian, as it comemorates the National Bulgarian 19th century Hero Vasil Levski, if you visit the nearby Botanical garden or Quadrat 500 - national fine arts gallery you could have a drop to that monument too

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank angel922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

The location is perfect, it is laying on a place next to technical university of sofia. But the monument is nothing extreme, just an average pole.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Αριστείδης Π
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews