We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay June 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lion
Ranked #31 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stay June 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Lion Hotel is a bit of an oddity, very central, part of a small chain... My room on the first floor corner was large clean and surprisingly quiet despite large windows onto a busy junction... reasonably priced, though many staff have little English and a desire for you to pay on arrival. Minibar well stocked and reasonable as these things go... but breakfast is in a coffee / pastry shop on the ground floor and was included. On the first 2 days a very 'Bulgarian' buffet' was provided with no options other than water melon, cheese, ham and sliced bread, thermos coffee with plastic beakers, and orange fruit drink. then day three and subsequent days a 6 option menu was produced with cooked options of various alternatives, fresh coffee... but no alterations allowed! The young staff are charming, the older somewhat take it or leave it... but excellent location and price.

Room Tip: The front rooms are big and airy, but front a busy junction, but the air conditioning was quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionSofia, Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear NickExeter,

Thank you for choosing Hotel LION Sofa and sharing your experience in TripAdvisor.

It was good to see that you received good value for the price paid. Our aim is to provide top quality service to all our guests and I would like to thank you for your constructive comments. Your feedback will help us to improve our service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at the LION Sofia in near future.

Sincerely,

Vladimir Tsekov
Manager
Hotel LION - Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    96
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
20
72
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Location: not downtown but an ok location. I didn't like that gypsy prostitutes hang out on the other side of the street by the market.

Hotel service: I didn't really interact with them except when I needed new towels and they got it done quick.

Room: room was great for a decently priced hotel in Bulgaria. The only gripe I had was that the shower drain was clogged a bit so the water would rise in the shower. I never mentioned it to the hotel so who knows if they know.... But shouldn't they test these things!??

Price: We paid 100 leva/night. Very adequate price for above average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaeslami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The taxi service from the airport managed to catch me out by standing by the door of the official taxi booking agency -- a rip off. Don't be put off ... go inside the taxi office and book a real cab. The casual and somewhat distant mood of the reception staff was not a good beginning either, but the location and price of this hotel made it a bargain. The room was good. There is a great coffee bar next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionSofia, Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Rod129,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to see that you were disappointed by your taxi service form the airport.
Please be kindly informed that we offer a pick-up service at a very reasonable additional cost. We highly recomend to our guest to take advantage of it..

We have taken note of your comments regarding the welcoming of our front desk staff and will do our best to work on the necessary improvements.

I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel, ambience of the room and the service in the coffee bar.

I Look forward to welcoming you again at LION Sofia hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vladimir Tsekov
Manager
Hotel LION - Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

It is a nice hotel, near the city center by walk 5-10 minuts, or in a minuts by metro.
It is clear with nice and good rooms :) i found a gentle reception people and a nice bar too :)
If you don t want spend a lot this is the best in my opinion

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio_Vitale_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionSofia, Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Fabio_Vitale_11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive impressions from staying at LION Sofia hotel!
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and remained highly satisfied with the hotel location, room ambiance and the service of our team members! We shall do our best to keep up the good service.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Vladimir Tsekov
Manager
Hotel LION - Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST. ALBANS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Lion Hotel, which is well situated for the Bus and Train stations, as well as the city centre. With a new metro station right outside the door all of Sofia is easilly accessable. The luxury room that we stayed in was big, clean and comfortable. The only downside was the traffic noise outside and the hotel can hardly be blamed for that. The hotel receptionists were very helpful,but the service in the cafe next door where we ate breakfast was a bit "Bulgarian"! I have now stayed at this hotel three times and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Sofia. By the way, while other websites were advertising our four night stay at around £160, Gala's price was £124, so I highly recommend them as well and will use them in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JOHN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yambol, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My Wife and I have stayed not once but several times at The Lion Hotel, Maria Louisa Boulevard ,Sofia, Bulgaria.during the past eight years. We first stayed there in 2005 following a twenty minute taxi ride from the airport. The staff made us so welcome as they do every time we stay and all speak English. We have stayed in different rooms and found them all to be very clean, with on-suit bathrooms. Our family have also stayed with a baby for which extra care was provided Down side no tea/coffee making facilities.. but a fridge full of drinks and chocolates.There is an excellent restaurant on the ground floor where the breakfast is provided and adequate.They also do evening food ..but close at 9 pm Next door is a KFC and many other eateries, The hotel is central for the indoor and outdoor markets and shops and a stones throw from the railway and bus stations, The hotel staff are only to willing to collect or take you for free, or to the airport.
Yes we enjoy our stays and will be back in October,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Two couples, retired professional educators stayed 4 nights at the Lion Hotel in Sophia. Adequate location. Close to the bus station where we arrived. Some may consider it in the lower levels of Sophia but we found it perfectly adequate. In fact it is close to a market where most tourist probably would not look for. Rooms were a bit run down, some dirty carpet and clean glasses were not always provided each day. Adequate for the prices we paid. WiFi was excellent in each room. Breakfasts were probably the least bountiful and expansive we had in our entire month in Eastern Europe. Apparently they have a contract with a downstairs bakery shop to serve breakfasts. Service initially was poor with grumpy young waitress. After the second day it got better. Had a choice of 4 or 5 different breakfasts. No extra coffee without paying extra. However, whatever misgivings we had were erased with our experiences with the front desk. A clerk. Rasho, arranged to have a special taxi take 4 of us to Rila Monastery which saved us a substantial amount of money, allowed us to print out our flight tickets for Wizz air which would have cost us each 60 Euros had we done it at the airport and gave us lots of useful information about the city. The taxi driver, an off duty policeman was extremely helpful giving us directions to places of interest and directions to one of the best traditional Bulgarian restaurants in town. Many thanks Rasho and other Hotel Lion personnel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binder40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.3 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#10 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
3.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Sofia
Suite Hotel Sofia
#13 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Favorit
Hotel Favorit
#18 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Light
Hotel Light
#15 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Niky
Hotel Niky
#21 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lion

Property: Hotel Lion
Address: bul.Knyaginya Maria Luiza 60, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Poduyane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Sofia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lion Sofia is situated in the center of the city. The hotel offers direct connection to the public transport network. The entrance of the new metro station "Lavov Most" is right in front of the hotel. It is just a few minutes walking distance from Sofia's main places of interest and administrative buildings. A range of shopping venues are to be found on Vitosha Street, within a 5-minute walk of the hotel. Alexander Nevski Church is also situated in vicinity. Sofia airport is only 20 minutes drive. Transfers are offered on request at additional cost. Hotel Lion provides 32 large, clean, beautifully decorated rooms. Each room includes: separate fully equipped bathroom, work desk, free Wi-Fi Internet, air conditioning, mini-bar and cable TV with more than 100 channels. Hotel Lion will charm you with its unique atmosphere of quietness in the heart of Sofia. The attentive staff creates a warm and friendly atmosphere and will be happy to help you with all your queries. Pizza bar and grill "Papaya" offers various breakfast and many delicious specialties. A nice place to have a drink after a long and busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing