We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Expo Hotel
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I don't expect much from a Best Western hotel. Perhaps I'm pessimistic or the hotel in Sofia was above average but I liked it. The fact that they have a concierge surprised me. I have no idea what he does except running outside to open the gate to the parking lot since I did not need such services but it is a good sign. My expectations on a hotel restaurant are not very high either but I was pleasantly surprised by the food (turkey with rice). The room was nice, it had all the amentities I needed and I could not find anything negative except the shower head which is losing its metal finish (electroplated plastic).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Expo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayad here for 2 nights. BW EXPO hotel was a nice surprice. Nice, clean and very comfortable hotel. LocationTsarigradsko Shose but some 8 kilometers from city centr. Blv. Metro station is 100 m from hotel. Good parking in front of a hotel too. Interesting modern arhitecture. Elevator with big windows to the street.
The hotel is not so big, so you really have influence the personal takes care of you. Some would say the hotel is quite away from city centre, but there is a cheap taxi and a very clean Metro.
I would recommend for business stay, but not for family.
The breakfast is good with a nice athmosfere. Rooms are clean and spacious.
The bed was comfy and the well appointed bathroom very clean with an excellent selection of toiletries.
I had some problems, while my credit card was debted in advance and than the POS terminal did not work, so there was some confusion at checking out.
If you have an early morning flight, this is the best hotel, while you can see the airport from some rooms.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank filafila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Me and my parents stayed there last winter due to a delay in our flight. EasyJet provided the accommodation there and we didn't pay a penny, HOWEVER it is a very expensive hotel for the typical Bulgarian man/womans's pocket and so I wouldn't go there again due to the high prices. The breakfast in the morning was great and rich, the rooms were clean and the service very polite. Due to the situation it took a while to get the keys for the room. Once we got to the rooms I was nicely impressed as they were modern, light, with big windows.The atmosphere is very "business orientated hotel" and the location is very out of the city of Sofia, but there is a metro station which makes travelling easier. I would recommend for business stay, but not for family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel looks clean very organized and the staff is pretty friendly !

The elevator is way too slow. The rooms are good clean and with a nice vew. The bad thing is that the walls are too thin so a lot noise can hear out or to the next room like the couple that was staying there next to us!

i really like the carpets that they have inside the rooms make it more warm!

The prices at the minibar at least for what is hell of expensive... 1.5 Euro for a 0.5L water? Really?

We didnt use spa or fitness at all so we dont have an opinion about that.

Overall i could stay again there as it was ok for me !

Regards.

Room Tip: Dont stay at front rooms go for the back ones.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d1m0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed here for one night before departing on a morning flight out of Sofia. The staff was very helpful and van help to arrange for your rental car to be picked up there. The restaurant has a pleasant garden, and pretty good good food, though a bit overpriced by Bulgarian standard. The room is clean and comfortable. All in all, a good experience.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Travelhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I would hate to have to stay in this hotel in the winter as at least on can sit in the garden area during the nice weather. The bar and restaurant areas are very poor and really do lack any atmosphere as does the reception area. The rooms are basic but then again the price and location to the expo centre is perfect and makes up for the hotels shortfalls.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The hotel has good location for doing business at the expo, rooms are good and the breakfast was excellent. They have good parking place and that is very important when you travel to Bulgaria! Would recommend the hotel for business travelers

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.9 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel Sofia
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Sofia Airport Hotel
2.6 mi away
Suite Hotel Sofia
Suite Hotel Sofia
#12 of 133 in Sofia
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Lozenetz Hotel
1.0 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 133 in Sofia
512 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Expo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Expo Hotel

Address: 149 Tsarigradsko Shose Blv., Sofia 1784, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sofia
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: £42 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Expo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS & SERVICES Best Western Hotel Expo is: Part of the largest hotel chain in the world - Best Western - with more than 4000 hotels worldwide Located in the heart of Sofia's Business District, within walking distance of the International Exhibition Center, in close proximity to the Sofia International Airport, the numerous city sights, and between two shopping malls Being located in the heart of the Business District of Bulgaria's capital city and within a walking distance of less than 10 meters from Sofia's leading International Exhibition and Congress center, the 4-star BEST WESTERN Hotel Expo offers its guests 99 comfortable rooms, multifunctional meeting rooms, a state-of-art business lounge, a modern bar as well as other dining option, among which and a lush open-air summer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Expo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Expo
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing