We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tennis camp style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat
Ranked #49 of 131 Hotels in Sofia
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“tennis camp style”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

nice place a bit away from the city with a feeling of a tennis camp. the included breakfast is a bit slim but you can cool off in the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
8
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Holiday village diplomat is a very nice hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, even if their English could be a little better. The hotel is situated around 20 minutes drive from the city centre, but is surrounded by greens and has a nice pool, so if you're looking for a relaxing holiday - like we were - this is a perfect spot. A taxi to the centre costs around 10 Leva which is very cheap, so even coming into the centre for dinner every day is not a problem. The rooms are spacious (to say the least) and well maintained. We had booked a room, but got what seemed to be a little house, with two floors, two bedroom, a living room and two bathrooms. There's a safe in the house for valuables. There are tv's on both floors of the house, but the free wifi internet is limited to the pool/restaurant area. We would stay here again if we come back to Sofia. definitely

Room Tip: Even though it says on hotels.com that all the rooms are smoking rooms, they do have non-smoking roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IggyCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

This complex is not as far away from the city center as I had read. The biggest problem is that it is pretty hard to find if you don't know the area or you didn't view its precise location on the map because it has another firm written at the entrance. It has many buildings, one for reception, one for the rooms, one for the restaurant. The rooms are huge, friendly and clean. It has free Internet and free parking places. The staff are welcoming and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

Where do you start with this hotel or holiday complex. When we stayed there it was one big building site. Our rooms were large but souless and empty. Beds were hard. There were no instructions anywhere on how to use the phone to call for more pillows. On check out we were asked if all was OK and lack of pillows came into the conversation. Manger could not understand why we had not called for more. I asked how to use the phone, as there were no instructions, her answer "We had never thought about that". The bathrooms were the largest I have ever seen, but the shower did not work properly, the plug blocked and the shower was dirty. When you left the room there was dust everywhere from all the building work, so your room soon got dirty. The breakfast was a real treat. We were the only ones using the hotel and we arrived in a nice looking restaurant. 1 Server with very limited English. We were asked what we would like, so we answered what is available, answer anything. I asked for cereal...her answer no cereal. We asked for some sausages....she answered no. We went through a long list of things, in the end we asked again what was available, her answer ham and eggs only.......and thats exactly what we got. No orange juice, but wonderful Illy coffee. So would I stay here again? Not if it was the last hotel standing in Sofia. I dont enjoy staying on building sites.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sofia hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

Im not sure how I ended up here. It was MILES away from the city. Luckily (I suppose), I was sick for a few days so I could only manage to get there once anyway. If your up for trying to catch the local trams, good luck. A taxi sets you back around 10 Bulgarian $$ each way. The rooms are massive. It is basically an apartment. I wouldnt recommend this to people who are wanting to check out the city and are only in sofia for a few days. It is more like a holiday camp for people that live in the area. For example, 2 weddings were held when I was there, and thats who booked out the rooms. The staff are helpful enough, however they struggle with their english. There is a restaraunt onsite also, which is also pretty good. I wouldnt go back to this place purely on its location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_peterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Cheap
Hotel Cheap
#38 of 131 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Geneva
Hotel Geneva
#81 of 131 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.7 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#30 of 131 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Akord Hotel
Akord Hotel
#37 of 131 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Brod
Hotel Brod
#63 of 131 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.7 mi away
Art Hotel Simona
Art Hotel Simona
#70 of 131 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat

Property: Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat
Address: bul.Nikola Petkov 51 | Gorna Bania, Sofia 1619, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Gloria Palace" is perfectly located overlooking Vitosha Mountain. It offers not only peace and quiet, but ensures quick access to the city as it is only 15-20 minute drive to the centre. Both the holiday village and the hotel are part of Gloria Palace Diplomatic Club and its park of 2.5 ha. The hotel has 6 rooms and 2 suites and the holiday village has got 10 villas, each one with own patio. The interior design of the rooms offers unique comfort and coziness. The decoration, furniture and service meet the needs of the guests and guarantee a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our guests will enjoy a perfect holiday in the best way possible in "Gloria Palace", spending time in the park, restaurants and cafes, or by the pool, refreshing in the gym, relaxing with a massage, playing tennis and paddle and so forth. Furthermore, we offer and organise conferences and other events, such as wedding parties, baptism and christening reception parties and many others. Each villa has two floors. On the first floor there is a living room with TV, mini bar and a bathroom with a shower cabin. The second floor of the villa has two bedrooms with an option for double or single beds, and a bathroom. Each villa is equipped with air conditioning system for cooling and heating. In addition to the atmosphere, the villas have own patios. There is an Internet connection available in the whole area of Diplomatic club "Gloria Palace". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Diplomat Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing