We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much everything you need in a business hotel”
Review of Holiday Inn Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sofia
Ranked #19 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Really friendly and helpful staff, nice clean good sized rooms, excellent shower and spacious bathroom and a great selection at breakfast :). Wifi works, gym was never really busy so no waiting to use my machines of choice and the bar/restaurant waiting staff were very good. Made a week long trip very bearable

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank nahill17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We appreciate your positive comments related to our team members professional and friendly attitude, our spacious relaxing guest rooms, and the abundant selection of delicious food at breakfast. We are also delighted you have enjoyed the Esprit Lesiure Club & Spa, which is one of the finest in town.

It is real pleasure for us to know you had an enjoyable experience with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

At the foot of the mountain and about 15 minutes drive from the airport, this Holiday Inn offers very good facilities for a Business Trip, being located in the commercial area. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Internet in the room. Good sized rooms with TV. Excellent bathroom and shower. Breakfast is very good; offering cooked and continental buffet. Theme nights fro dinner are also good. Not the place for children though. You need to get a taxi downtown avoiding rush hour as traffice gets grid-locked at these times.

Room Tip: My room on the 5th floor gave good views of the Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you you taking the time to write about your memorable experience with the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We are delighted to have read your lovely comments relating to our warm and caring team members, the comfort and facilities in the guestrooms and our delicious and abundant breakfast offering. The picturesque views from the rooms and the quiet modern surroundings are just some of the advantages of our location and we are glad you have appreciated them!

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to your next stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia!

Kind Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently for 2 nights. It is a beautiful hotel located in a business park. The lobby area is just beautifully decorated. The room I was given turned out to be a suite and was very nice. The gym has an exercise room, sauna, steam room, pool etc., and is great! I had a wonderful stay and to top it all off, there is a complimentary shuttle to the airport. I like this hotel. The staff were generally very responsive. I'd like to give a shout out for Jergana in the lobby bar, who was an excellent hostess. She was friendly, caring and service-oriented, making me feel at home.

Room Tip: If you have status as an IHG elite member, you may be upgraded to a suite, which will make your trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravi4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Highly Valued Guest

We are most grateful for your lovely review following your recent stay with us at the 5 star Holiday Inn Sofia. Your loyalty to IHG is highly appreciated and it is real pleasure for us to know we have met and exceeded your expectations for a comfortable and memorable stay. We are particularly pleased that you found the Suite and the superb Esprit Fitness & Spa facilities so much to your liking

We will share your comments with our entire staff as they serve as a reinforcement to continue our efforts in providing exceptional service and accommodation.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn Sofia in the very near future.

Kind Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Good, quiet, comfortable hotel.
A bit disappointed that you need to pay in order to access the wifi and you need to pay quite a lot. I'd expect for a hotel in this star range to offer this service in the price.
Good fitness facilities & pool, all you need is provided.
Decent restaurant, haven't tried the breakfast.
Bar open until very late - I was able to choose a late meal, which in other places is difficult to find.
Be careful, there is infrastructure work in progress (march 2014) on the main boulevard - doesn't affect the quality of sleep, just the ease of access...

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Radu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We were pleased to have read your feedback regarding the comfort of our hotel, our superb Esprit Fitness Spa facilities and the flexibility of guest service provided in our restaurants and bar.

Further to your comments related to the high speed internet service we provide, kindly note that we offer large variety of rates and packages, including internet packages, to meet the different needs and requirements of our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact our team directly when you plan your next stay to ensure that you receive the most suitable for your needs rate.

Although we do understand that the traffic in Sofia is currently a bit slower, we are happy that upon finishing the road construction works - due shortly, the access to the hotel will be greatly facilitated via a brand new subway and boulevard which will add up to all the great advantages of the Holiday Inn Sofia.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us,

Kind Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent hotel. Great food, outstanding service, very good value for money and very convenient for the Business Park. The best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at - and if they were all to this standard, wouldn't think twice about staying with the Holiday Inn every time.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding your experience with the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful comments related to our delicious dining offerings, outstanding service and convenient location. Indeed, it is truly rewarding to be acknowledged as “The Best Holiday Inn” and this will serve as a reinforcement for us to continue our daily efforts in making our hotel a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

Kind Regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I never stayed in the hotel but what I can share in general is that Its virtue is its location in Business Park Sofia and if you have colleagues who come to Sofia for business trip to a company situated there, they can sleep 1 or half an hour more, since they can get to the office in 5-10 min.

The restaurant is very expensive, so it is for high end business lunch.

The hotel has good conference rooms.

I wanted to use the SPA and especially the massages in my lunch break, since I work in BPS. My first impression is that the massages room is not accommodated for a comfortable massage experience. The room was cold, the music too loud and too cheerful but neither of them could be controlled locally from the room, so I had to live up with it. The bed was very uncomfortable.

The masseur was not polite and I had a terrible pain wile she was working on me. I asked her to apply less pressure but she did not mind. I threatened her that I will go away if she continues to massage in this way, then she listened to me.

I complained to the manager of the SPA area and the only thing that he found appropriate to answer was "Very strange, you are the only one to complain!" I had the impression that he did not care. The next day I asked for the other masseur to take care of me and I felt much better during the procedure.
As a whole, I would not recommend the massages.
My rating with dots in this review is about the SPA not about the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PlacesCases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Madam

As you have never been a guest at our hotel ,and in fact have not even visited our Spa since March 2012 we are somewhat taken aback by your review over two years since your last visit.

Our records show that you booked a course of 10 anti cellulite massage treatments in January 2012 and that despite the recommendation by the spa manager to space these out over a period of at least 8 weeks to ensure that treatment and recovery time were correctly adopted, you insisted on having the treatments provided over less than a four week period.

Both therapists who provided the massage treatments to you were highly skilled and professional and have always received commendations from guests.

As you are further aware you made no mention of the issues you now raise two years after the event which clearly brings in to question your intentions and motives in writing this review in the first instance two years after having set foot in the hotel.

We also note with interest that you are a serial and prolific reviewer where in a single day you have completed numerous reviews.

As you will appreciate the objective of reviews is to provide constructive feedback that guest focussed businesses like ours can use constructively to undertake improvements where appropriate. However the circumstances and approach that you have adopted in our opinion is neither constructive nor helpful given that our staff are highly motivated to be providing exceptional standards of service to all our guests as evidenced by the numerous awards that we have won.


Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

It is a great hotel. The personnel is extremly pro and are doing an excellent job. Very clean. Probably more choices in the restaurant but still a very good one.
One of my colleague was sick and the duty manager was with us all the needed time so a big thank you to him.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dhia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sofia. We are delighted to have read your comments related to the professionalism of our team members and the cleanliness of the property.

We place the comfort and well-being of our guests at the heart of everything we do and it is real pleasure when our guests notice this and take the time to say Thank You. We will convey your gratefulness to our colleague and the entire team as this will serve as a motivation to continue delivering exceptional service on daily basis.

Once again, we appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to see you and your colleagues back at the Holiday Inn Sofia in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
4.8 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,386 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 135 in Sofia
578 reviews
2.2 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
800 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
1,057 reviews
5.9 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sofia

Address: bul.Aleksandar Malinov 111, Sofia 1766, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sofia
#6 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#12 Business Hotel in Sofia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: £53 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm "Welcome" to Sofia's newest 5 Star hotel. Winner of the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Best Newcomer Award’ 2008, the 'Building of the Year Award" and the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Torchbearer Award’ 2009, 2010 and 2011 the Holiday Inn, Sofia features the highest standards of international contemporary design, comfort and service alongside unparalleled facilities in one of Eastern Europe's most vivacious, dynamic and charismatic cities.Enjoy the best of both worlds with extensive SPA and Conference facilities at the exceptional 5 Star hotel Holiday Inn Sofia, Bulgaria. Just 10 minutes from Sofia Airport and Sofia City Center on the hotel’s shuttle bus, the hotel is ideally located in the foothills of the Vitosha Mountains within close proximity of Sofia city centre.Winner of numerous international awards, the Holiday Inn Sofia is proud of its unrivalled levels of standards and services. The Holiday Inn Sofia offers 130 luxurious spacious bedrooms, including Executive Rooms and Suites, many with breathtaking views of the imposing Vitosha Mountain.The hotel’s extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities are unrivalled in Sofia, combining the latest technology with personalized service. Dedicated staff on our self-contained conference & banqueting floor will help to ensure the smooth running of your event in 11 state-of-the-art function suites with space for between 10-300 guests. The Holiday Inn Sofia provides a variety of gourmet dining experiences, ranging from a seasonal A la Carte menu or quality bar meals to a variety of delicious lunch and dinner buffets. We are certain you will enjoy the “Esprit Fitness & Spa”, including a 19m pool with separate children’s pool, indoor & outdoor Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Gym and Solarium, not to mention our numerous Treatment Rooms for those who prefer to relax and be pampered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sofia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing