We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business”
Review of Holiday Inn Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sofia
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Holiday Inn Sofia is located in the Business Park Sofia, a location full of offices. Therefore it is extremely good for Business stays. For tourists the location would be less attractive as it is quite far away from the city centre and there is no direct public transportation to the centre. Fortunately the taxi is not costing more than 6-8 Euros to take you there. I have not been to other hotels in Sofia and although the room rate is reasonable, I consider the price of the buffet breakfast relative expensive. It is also important to be a member of IHG in order to have wifi without an additional fee. The Spa area was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank YorgosY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for chosing our hotel for your recent stay .

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as seen from the high score you gave to the service provided by our professional and friendly team.

Further to your comments about the location, it has advantages for both leisure and business tourists, as we are conveniently situated in the foothills of Vitosha mountain, in a modern and tranquil area, a short ride from a number of natural and historical attractions, movie theater and shopping centers. The taxi fares are indeed very affordable and, moreover, a subway construction is due to be finalized soon, which will connect us to the most visited points in the city, including downtown Sofia.

Kindly be advised that we have variety of room rates and packages to suit the needs of all our guests, including competitive rates inclusive of breakfast and internet. Please do not hesitate to contact our team directly when you plan your next stay with us in order to advise you on the most suitable for you rate. We would also mention that our breakfast offering is one of the best in town, with an abundant choice of all kinds of dishes, and it is priced accordingly, matching the rates of the other 5-star properties.

As you also mention, being a member of IHG Rewards Club gives you numerous benefits which can be used in our hotels worldwide.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you again in future.

Kind Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Sofia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed here before so book it again as a over night stop on our road trip to Turkey we booked the hotel for our way to & from Turkey, we were very disappointed with the check in on both visits, the staff had trouble finding us on their computer & then tried to tell us we only had a single room booked, thankfully we had our emailed printed, we double checked that the return booking was all ok & were told it was, but on our return still more problems at check in.
A real plus are the bar & restaurant staff so wonderful helpful & friendly, both evening meals were excellent as was breakfast.
Had to use internet in bar area as no free internet in the room.
We enjoyed 2 lovely swims in the great pool.
Such a shame that check in was a mess.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest

Let us take the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Sofia again.

We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your check-in in the hotel

It is real pleasure to have read your positive comments relating to our bar and restaurant service team. We will convey your comments to them as a reinforcement to keep up their great work.

Once again, thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Sofia. We look forward to welcome you during your next visit to Sofia.

Kind Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed one night and there is very little to add what has already been written. The Service from start to finish in every aspect was excellent. The check in was fast, professional, attentive and what you would expect in an a luxury hotel. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and service prompt and professional. Probably expensive for Bulgarian standard but very good. Expect to pay between 14 to 50 Bulgarian Lev per main course.

The location as stated elsewhere is really dependent for what you are looking to do. If you have no car and our a tourist. This is not a great option. If you have a car it is just fine. If a business traveler and are doing business in the business park it is perfect.

The rooms were big, nicely appointed and had all the right touches from kettle and tea/coffee to soft and firm pillows depending on your taste and it even had English TV stations--not something every place in the Balkans / Europe have.

Overall, my hats off to the management and staff--Excellent job keep it up.

Things to note. The area / street leading up to the hotel is a mess due to a renovation project to put in a metro lane. When they are done it will be a great addition to the area but for right now is a mess.

It is about a 20 minute drive from/to the airport in a fairly direct route. But if you are driving and are not familiar with the area or Sofia, do yourself a favor and get a GPS.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmurrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your wonderful experience at the Holiday Inn Sofia.

Our main goal is to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and it is real pleasure for us to read your lovely comments on the friendly and professional service as well as the high-quality facilities and amenities provided on site.

As you mention yourself, the road works around the hotel are soon to be finished and the new modern transportation network that is being created will make the access from the hotel to both the city center and the airport an ease for all travelers.

Once again, thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were there only for 1 night, but wished we could've stayed longer. Everything in this hotel was luxurious. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and I cannot say enough about the bathroom. It was sparkly and spacious, with a huge bath tub and a separate shower. The service we received from checking in to checking out was outstanding. The location of this Holiday Inn is not ideal and there is some constructions going on in the area (building the subway), but once you check in it is totally worth it the long drive. All in all we had a great stay and if ever returning to Sofia we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dineto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent visit to Holiday Inn Sofia.

It is with great pleasure that we have read your wonderful comments related to the highest level of cleanliness and maintenance in the hotel, the services and facilities we offer and the caring attitude by our lovely team.

It is truly rewarding for us that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Kindest Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Holiday Inn Sofia is located in the Business Park Sofia. This is a location along the ring-road and is full of offices. Therefore it is extremely good for Business stays. For tourists the location would be less attractive as that it is quite far away from the City Center. However this is slowly being changed as that there is a Metro stop not that far away from the Hotel, which would bring you to the City Center for just 1 Lev (0.50 Euro).

The rooms are good and properly sized and equipped with everything one would need. For me personally, I wouldn't have selected the dark furniture as that it makes the room smaller but I guess this is a matter of personal taste.

The Fitness area is one of the best that I have seen. The swimming pool is large and is indoor. It also has a separate Jacuzzi. The fitness/gym area is, for a hotel, actually large and offers all kind of equipment. You can find there Treadmills, Spinning machines, but also machines to workout your muscles. Very complete!!

The personnel is .friendly and helpful. Breakfast is offering the standard choices. The dinner menu is offering enough choices and when using Room service, the food is served at the right temperature.

Overall a hotel that is definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymondWooninck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your pleasant experience with the Holiday Inn Sofia.

We are delighted to have read your lovely comments related to the high quality of accommodations, the delicious meals served via Room Service and the friendliness and professionalism of our team members. Our Esprit Fitness Club & Spa is indeed one of the best in town and it is great you had the time to experience it.

It is truly rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and would definitely recommend Holiday Inn Sofia. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Business hotel located far away from city center. If you are on wheels it's OK. Clean, spacious rooms. Excellent bathroom and shower. As Platinum I was upgraded to some kind of family room. Swimming pool and sauna on the ground floor are very well organized and clean, also. Really friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Mountain view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your loyalty to the InterContinental Hotels Group and for being guest of the Holiday Inn Sofia. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are delighted you have noticed the high standards of cleanliness and maintenance of the guest rooms and the facilities at Esprit Leisure Club & Spa. It is also with pleasure that we have read your nice comments related to our team members.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn Sofia in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

What a Hotel! From the moment I entered to the moment I left, everything was top class.
Check in was swift, and service was great. Had some specific room preferences and a request for early check in - both were accommodated without an issue.
Rooms are very good - very modern, and immaculately clean. Bathroom as well - everything just sparkled.
I travel a lot, but must say that breakfast was one of the best I had recently - it's not just the wide selection, but it's the freshness and quality of everything. Service at breakfast was also very good.

On the second day, I needed a vignette sticker for my car. Reception staff and concierge arranged it without an issue. I was also asked whether I found the room temperature suitable (after calling reception about it the previous evening). You simply don't get that kind of service everywhere.
Also, have to mention that the quatlity of food and drinks at the bar was also, exceptional.

Bear in mind that the hotel is not in the city center, so you will be needing a car (or taxi). On the other hand, great access to the motorway towards Plovdiv.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pagm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Let us take the opportunity to thank you for being guest of the Holiday Inn Sofia! We highly appreciate you taking the time to share your memorable experience with us.

We place our guests, their comfort and individual needs at the heart of everything we do, and it is truly rewarding that you have noticed it. It is with great pleasure that we have read your lovely comments related to the personalized service provided by our entire team, the cleanliness and maintenance of our guest rooms and facilities, and the delicious and fresh meals served in our Brasserie Restaurant & Terrace.

Your review will be shared with our entire team as a reinforcement to continue their efforts in making the Holiday Inn Sofia one of the Great Hotels Guests Love.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you again in the very near future!

Kind Regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
4.8 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
1,311 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Sofia
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 133 in Sofia
513 reviews
5.9 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
740 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
964 reviews
6.2 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 133 in Sofia
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sofia

Address: bul.Aleksandar Malinov 111, Sofia 1766, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#5 Family Hotel in Sofia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#12 Business Hotel in Sofia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: £53 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm "Welcome" to Sofia's newest 5 Star hotel. Winner of the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Best Newcomer Award’ 2008, the 'Building of the Year Award" and the InterContinental Hotels Group ‘Torchbearer Award’ 2009, 2010 and 2011 the Holiday Inn, Sofia features the highest standards of international contemporary design, comfort and service alongside unparalleled facilities in one of Eastern Europe's most vivacious, dynamic and charismatic cities.Enjoy the best of both worlds with extensive SPA and Conference facilities at the exceptional 5 Star hotel Holiday Inn Sofia, Bulgaria. Just 10 minutes from Sofia Airport and Sofia City Center on the hotel’s shuttle bus, the hotel is ideally located in the foothills of the Vitosha Mountains within close proximity of Sofia city centre.Winner of numerous international awards, the Holiday Inn Sofia is proud of its unrivalled levels of standards and services. The Holiday Inn Sofia offers 130 luxurious spacious bedrooms, including Executive Rooms and Suites, many with breathtaking views of the imposing Vitosha Mountain.The hotel’s extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities are unrivalled in Sofia, combining the latest technology with personalized service. Dedicated staff on our self-contained conference & banqueting floor will help to ensure the smooth running of your event in 11 state-of-the-art function suites with space for between 10-300 guests. The Holiday Inn Sofia provides a variety of gourmet dining experiences, ranging from a seasonal A la Carte menu or quality bar meals to a variety of delicious lunch and dinner buffets. We are certain you will enjoy the “Esprit Fitness & Spa”, including a 19m pool with separate children’s pool, indoor & outdoor Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Gym and Solarium, not to mention our numerous Treatment Rooms for those who prefer to relax and be pampered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sofia Hotel Sofia
Sofia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing