We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised with this little hotel right in the centre.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scotty's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 101 Sofia B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised with this little hotel right in the centre.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had booked the sister hotel, Bulgari, but since Scotty's is a better hotel and we could stay there at the same price, we were happy to move. We had the same reception staff, dear Damien who spoke good English and helped us with so many requests and bits of information. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was simple but served in our room by a friendly lady. The location is superb, opposite the biggest Synagogue in Europe and a few minutes from all other attractions.
We would stay there again and would recommend this little Hotel to able bodied people. Just be prepared for some noise from the tramlines. There are no lifts and 2 flights of stairs to the main reception area.

Room Tip: Sofia room on first floor. Other rooms are on another floor with more stairs. Just beware of the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    47
    42
    17
    14
See reviews for
9
53
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

It took a bit of finding but eventually we did. The reception is on the 1st floor and there is no lift. So be warned if you have heavy suitcases. The staff are very friendly and try to be helpful. If you are using a car during your visit then take advantage of the parking offered. It is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel but having somewhere secure was worth it. The rooms are basic but clean. You can order breakfast which is delivered to your room. In the room I had there was a small table which I could put the tray on and I sat on the bed. There was an ensuite shower and toilet which worked. There was Internet points on 2 floors, but the one on the top floor didn't work and the one on the 2nd floor was very slow. So slow I could not get connected even to Facebook because it timed out whilst trying to connect. That was frustrating and could be improved. Otherwise it was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

could be much better .... staff very friendly and helpful, but they should set a ring downstairs to call some staff for help (carrying luggage) and should take better care of general quality of bathroom (need renovation) and the rest : very very old linen, very old towels,
...
needs renovation

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvainpalembang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sofia hotels

USA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

On the surface, our room appeared nice. This place considers itself a boutique hotel and instead of room numbers, uses names of cities and decorates accordingly. We stayed in the San Francisco room. The room was a disappointment. The floors were very dirty, and the bathroom smelled of urine. They did come and re-clean the bathroom when we complained, but it did not help much. I used the shower head and cleaned the bathroom myself and it did get better. Shouldn't have to do that. Could not bring myself to walk barefoot on the really dirty floor. Hair balls in corners of room from previous guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed here 3rd - 5th July. It was a great base for visiting Sofia. Right by the Central Market Hall and a few minutes walk from the center. Excellent staff. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Sofia Good price - Great location. Also it seems to be in "shoe shop central" lol

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a really nice hotel that is centrally located. It is across the road from the synagogue so within easy walking distance of most of the attractions. We were in a good size room at the front of the hotel and all rooms are air conditioned and provide a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was not that impressive in that it is basically a wet room. A shower hose is located on the wall between the hand basin and toilet so everything is wet after showering. The shower pressure is great though and plenty of hot water. A basic breakfast is provided to your room and a good free wifi connection is available. There is no lift and the rooms are located over a few floors. The staff were very friendly and helpful when asked. I would definitely recommend to friends and would stay here again myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sully1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This gay-friendly hotel is located near Sofia city centre. The rooms are large and clean but the bathrooms are not that good. The breakfast included in the rate is ok but nothing more. They offer a trip to a monestary but think twice before you book that: it says the tour includedes a guide, but its just a driver who speak no english at all! The drive to the monestary is around 3 hours but its nice to see.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbn1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Gloria Palace Hotel
#60 of 131 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Poduyane
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#33 of 131 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Poduyane
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#45 of 131 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serdica
Hotel Maria Luisa
Hotel Maria Luisa
#58 of 131 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Hotel Favorit
#13 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Sofia Plaza Hotel
#105 of 131 in Sofia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotty's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotty's Boutique Hotel

Property: Scotty's Boutique Hotel
Address: 11 Ekzarh Josif St, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotty's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scotty's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing