We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, clean, and well-located”
Review of Sofia Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofia Residence
Ranked #38 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming, clean, and well-located”
Reviewed 18 December 2010

I have stayed 3 times at the Residence Obrishte .. a charming boutique hotel, located in the center of Sofia. It is a converted villa, with spacious rooms, traditional furniture, yet modern bathroom. (great showers!). On same street as foreign embassy residences, only 10 minute walk to Nevsky Square. There is a delightful new restaurant adjacent, offering a healthy breakfasts, a modern European menu for dinner, and bar stocked with some outstanding Bulgarian wines. This is "find" in Sofia, more suited for the vacation than business traveler, and at an affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HDaniel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    16
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
24
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Recommended both for business and family holidays. We are coming back to this place every time when we stay in Sofia. Excellent, warm-hearted staff that is willing to go "the extra mile". Rooms are large and well decorated in a classical style. Many diplomats are staying in the place. If you prefer a small personal hotel / residence to a large anonymous one, this is for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savile_row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth West Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We have stayed in this hotel 3x in the last 3 years. Each time we were delighted with the staff and the quality of service. We were at an advantage because my partner speaks Bulgarian. However, one must realise that this is an advantage for any traveller, in any country.
The hotel rooms are a good size and comfortably furnished. They are clean and the bathroom is a good size. Some rooms have a little balcony as well.
Breakfasts were fresh, tasty and well presented. Coffee fabulous ,and after a trip around Europe where quality was very erratic, I looked forward to my coffee every day. Comfort in the breakfast area and on the terrace is delightful and welcoming.
I would like to thank Svetla for management and the lovely staff.
The location is a 15 minute walk from Alexander Nevsky in the centre of Sofia. The street is a very pleasant walk past many of the Embasies in Sofia.
Eating at restaurants in the vicinity (actually anywhere in Sofia is pretty good), is an excellent experience, with a wide range of outstanding salad and vegetable dishes. Shopska Salata with feta cheese is just divine; as are many of the other salad combinations.
Value for money is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nephrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Booked 2 rooms for 5 single people and requested 5 single beds. However when arrived they have no twin bed rooms, only double beds therefore they put a temporary z-bed in each room plus set up a (short) chez longue as a bed. This was unnaceptable and we were going to leave but they gave us a 3rd room as a compromise (they wanted to charge for this but eventually didnt). Also, the confirmation email stated sauna & steam bath included in the rate bit when asked about this we were told it was chargable. Also it stated welcome drink but none was offered. The breakfast was very poor. It is a long way from any tourist sites, We made a big mistake staying here.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TC/CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

I was quite taken by this hotel - it's very reasonably priced, the room is a good size, with separate sitting room and large bathroom and the fact that it serves breakfast in the bedrooms means that the noise level is seriously reduced, particularly for people on the ground floor. having said that, i'd ordered my breakfast the night before (as requested) yet it took two further reminders to arrive and none of my comments when ordering were noted (e.g. coffee was served despite saying that i wouldn't want any and the omlette came completely plain despite saying i'd like it with bacon and ham). still, just minor quibbles and over all it was a lovely stay

  • Liked — the comfortable bed
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2007

i have stayed in this lovely appartment hotel twice and have on both occassions been delighted with the personal attentive service and the luxurious stylish individual nature of the appartments. For the price it is a bargain. A restaurant is in the process of being installed. Across the road and a short walk in the direction of Alexander Nevsky Cathedral you will find a perfectly good Hungarian restaurant.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — At the time no restaurant
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank griffun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serdica
Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Residence

Property: Sofia Residence
Address: 63 Oborishte Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria (Formerly Residence Oborishte)
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#25 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofia Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofia Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Oborishte Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing