We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay.”
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Just stopped for one night this time in Sofia. Our room, No 210 was very tastefully furnished, not like the previous reviewers and we paid just £66. Not the biggest of rooms but an OK size. No bath though, but a lovely big shower. No tea making facilities though, much to my wifes distain, but free WiFi. I had a lovely 60 mins relaxing massage in the wellness centre, c46 Euros. To date my favorite Hotel in Sofia between here, the Shereton and Grand. Just remembered, no view out of our window either, we looked out onto an area like a corridore but no one walked past. The staff here were all pleasant to us.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petethefeat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Petethefeat1,

I am very pleased to hear about your pleasant stay at Arena di Serdica Hotel and nice experience with our staff and services. We do offer complimentary kettles upon request, so please do not hesitate to ask the reception desk. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    135
    37
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
104
26
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

There are a few things really going for this hotel: its location is smack in the town center and it is a little secluded (i.e., quiet). The authentic ancient Roman ruins that have been well integrated within its lobby are a distinction hard to beat. It offers good breakfast buffet selection and the rooms are equipped with nice and modern bathrooms. Still, the room design is definitely off the mark. The furniture is kind of casually thrown together - eclectic, but not in a good way. It seemed aged and tired - as if dug out of second-hand stores. Combined with some odd interior lighting decisions and a somewhat old TV set, it actually made the room look old and shabby instead of old-chic classy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Spent 2 nights in Sofia and this brilliant hotel. Sofia was a wonderful city to visit, with really well priced food. We went in the middle of winter, with a foot of snow on the ground. After trudging off of the main road we came to our hotel, and were blown away. Really nice entrance, helpful staff carried our bags, really happy with the room. After a long days walk around, the bath was big enough for 2, with a brilliant shower, and a good sized, comfortable bed to sleep in. Breakfast was a really nice buffet selection, with the option of hot foods.

It was a really great location, and thinking back, although it was just a hotel and not the "main attraction", it made our holiday.

Only possible downside was the view from our window, but under all that snow it really didn't matter.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beder
Level Contributor
463 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I have stayed at the hotel 4 times and have also had a seminar for 30 people. The hotel is nice and good value for money.
Apparantly the coffee in the termos at the breakfast buffet is made the night before and the coffee is less than luke warm. It was the same for my guests at the coffee break - the coffee was cold.
I mention it over and over to the staff, but no changes.
Last week when I stayed 2 nights at the hotel the internet was unpredictable even if I got a room close the the router.
Next time I go to Sofia I will stay at Arena again, but if the coffee still is cold and the internet is unstable, it will be my last stay.
P.S. I am filling in forms everytime I stay at the hotel to give feedback.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the internet router
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikMollerMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Excellent location. Close to all amenities and important sites. Very quiet and peaceful. Staff while helpful were aloof and not very approachable. A smile would be very helpful and create a better atmosphere.
Wonderful and sympathetic preservation of the old Roman remains.

Room Tip: Upgraded to a suite which was spacious and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186605Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

Superb boutique hotel with big rooms , attentive staff and a more than acceptable restaurant . All at a great price . If you normally stay at the Hilton in Sofia then stop being silly and check in here . You will not regret it !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemandru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dushanbe, Tajikistan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I had fabulous stay in this hotel. The location was great, the room was great, the receptionists were very friendly and helpful, food was good, you can find there anything you want or almost :).
The only thing I didn’t like was bad speed of internet connection, it was a bit slow.
Overall I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muyassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#7 of 133 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Fleurs Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel

Property: Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
Address: ul.Budapeshta 2, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena di Serdica is the newest 5 star Residence Hotel in Sofia affiliated to the FPI Hotels & Resorts chain.Strategically located in the heart of the city, right next to the main states institutions, business centers and banks, as well as to the cultural and historial places of interest in Sofia, the luxurious Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel Sofia is excellent choice for business and cultural trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing