We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but cold coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
Ranked #22 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Beder
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but cold coffee”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

No water in the morning for two consecutive days, but if you push the guy at the reception he might inform there is stille water at the spa, due to higher preassure. Aparently the internet has improver since my last stay.
Although I have had a long e-mail correspondance with the management, they have decided to continue serving luke warm coffee in the thermos at the breakfast buffet.
As there were no warer the staff at the restraurant could not make fresk coffee and they told the coffee in the thermos were made several hours in advance.
It is generally a nice hotel and I will consider going back.
Advice for the management:
- Serve fresh coffee in the thermos
- Install vending machines
- Offer instant coffee as an option

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the router, if you want to connect to the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikMollerMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    137
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
32
108
26
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Very well located close to beautiful area in Sofia, the hotel offers high class, reasonable rates, great spa, good service, good breakfast and huge rooms. Very comfortable hotel in all the respects, only negative thing is that the wireless internet in the rooms sucks, a tiny but annoying factor, but outside of that, hard to find anything to complain.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Timo V,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! I am happy that you had a chance to try most of our services. Unless the wireless connection (which we have taken the appropriate actions to improve it) we also offer individual cable connection and you can request free cable from the reception desk. We hope to see you on your next visit to Sofia!

Best Wishes,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This is a nice hotel, rooms OK and quite a good size, no bath but really good shower. Bed fine and clean. No view from window - just looked at Office block. Buffet breakfast was very good. Lovely to be over the Roman ruins - it is beautifully done. The hotel location is excellent. You can climb a series of stairs just outside the hotel and get to some of the main tourist sites or walk the other way and reach another part of town. There was only one problem and that was noise from a nightclub on Thursday/Friday/Saturday night. It took us by surprise as the hotel had been lovely and quiet for the first 3 nights. Staff were sympathetic but could not do much about it - it was such a shame as everything else had been so good.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from nightclub if staying Thursday to Sunday
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear LandPLondon,

Thank you for your time to tell us your feedback and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay besides the noise from a nightclub. The noise at the night club was an accidental event and we would have changed the room in order to make you feel more comfortable. We would be happy if we can make your next stay here even more pleasant and make it up to you and please feel free to share your preferences. We are trying to fulfill all guest requirements as much as we can. Some classic rooms also have bathtubs. We will know your preferences for your next stay in the hotel and it will be our pleasure to accommodate them.

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caylus, France
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I'm a regular visitor to this quietly located hotel right in the heart of Sofia. Superbly redesigned around a Roman ampitheatre that was discovered during construction, the preservation of the 2000 year old walls are very impressive. The hotel has its little idiosyncracies - the furniture in the bedrooms and the decor are sombre - but the deluxe suites (that I am fortunate to be booked into when I go) are vast, with beautiful bathrooms including huge, deep tubs. Free wi-fi, although sometimes slow. Excellent buffet breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good value aiport transfers to and from hotel can ge arranged.

Room Tip: See if they will offer an upgrade to a deluxe suite - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHard2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear MrHard2Please,

Thank you for being our regular guest and we really appreciate your feedback. Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel will always welcome you and will be happy to upgrade you whenever available. Hopefully see you on your next trip to Sofia.

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Just stopped for one night this time in Sofia. Our room, No 210 was very tastefully furnished, not like the previous reviewers and we paid just £66. Not the biggest of rooms but an OK size. No bath though, but a lovely big shower. No tea making facilities though, much to my wifes distain, but free WiFi. I had a lovely 60 mins relaxing massage in the wellness centre, c46 Euros. To date my favorite Hotel in Sofia between here, the Shereton and Grand. Just remembered, no view out of our window either, we looked out onto an area like a corridore but no one walked past. The staff here were all pleasant to us.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petethefeat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Petethefeat1,

I am very pleased to hear about your pleasant stay at Arena di Serdica Hotel and nice experience with our staff and services. We do offer complimentary kettles upon request, so please do not hesitate to ask the reception desk. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

There are a few things really going for this hotel: its location is smack in the town center and it is a little secluded (i.e., quiet). The authentic ancient Roman ruins that have been well integrated within its lobby are a distinction hard to beat. It offers good breakfast buffet selection and the rooms are equipped with nice and modern bathrooms. Still, the room design is definitely off the mark. The furniture is kind of casually thrown together - eclectic, but not in a good way. It seemed aged and tired - as if dug out of second-hand stores. Combined with some odd interior lighting decisions and a somewhat old TV set, it actually made the room look old and shabby instead of old-chic classy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Spent 2 nights in Sofia and this brilliant hotel. Sofia was a wonderful city to visit, with really well priced food. We went in the middle of winter, with a foot of snow on the ground. After trudging off of the main road we came to our hotel, and were blown away. Really nice entrance, helpful staff carried our bags, really happy with the room. After a long days walk around, the bath was big enough for 2, with a brilliant shower, and a good sized, comfortable bed to sleep in. Breakfast was a really nice buffet selection, with the option of hot foods.

It was a really great location, and thinking back, although it was just a hotel and not the "main attraction", it made our holiday.

Only possible downside was the view from our window, but under all that snow it really didn't matter.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Les Fleurs Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel

Property: Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
Address: 13-15 Moskovska Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena di Serdica is the newest 5 star Residence Hotel in Sofia affiliated to the FPI Hotels & Resorts chain.Strategically located in the heart of the city, right next to the main states institutions, business centers and banks, as well as to the cultural and historial places of interest in Sofia, the luxurious Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel Sofia is excellent choice for business and cultural trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing