We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
Ranked #22 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I spent 7 nights here during a recent business trip. The staff was very nice and helpfull. The executive room was a very decent size and very comfortable. The TV has very few english speaking stations, so if you are going to spend any time in the room, plan some other type of entertainement. The wifi was free and fast.

As for the included breakfast, it was ok. The coffee was not great, but it was possible to order espresso, so that was not a problem. Also, a few other items were available upon request (pancakes, omelettes).

The ruins on the lower levels of the hotel were very interesting to visit. Also, the gym is a decent size for a hotel gym.

The only down side is that the hotel is next to a discotheque that is open only on weekends. If you want to sleed on those nights, plan ear plugs, which I did, and I slept well throughout my stay. I would return to this hotel if I had to come back to Sofia for work.

Room Tip: I recommend a room that does not face the street. That dead end street is usually very quiet except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Petiji,

Thank you for your recent stay and your review was a treat to read and I couldn't be happier that you had a great stay.
We all look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,

Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

This residence hotel is located just behind the UK consulate at few steps from Alexandre Nevski cathedral..very central location This is the nice combination between an appart hotel and a historic site. in the basement, you can see some old wall from the Roman period when Sofia was called Serdica.
Quiet room in this quiet area, do not ask for a room with a view as it is almost inexistant

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaynice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Jaynice1,
Thank you for your appreciation about the preserved amphitheater. This amphitheater was found in the year of 2004 when the construction of the hotel was started. When the amphitheater was discovered this completely changed the architecture and design of the hotel in order to preserve the ancient treasure.
Thank you for your review and I will be happy if you choose Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel for your next visits to Sofia.

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hotel is located in a small dead-end street (makes it extra quiet). It is located close to city center, touristic attractions. Reception hall is stunning looking down to ancient arena discovered when hotel was being built. Reception staff is very helpful, very warm and ready to help or suggest. Room is spacious. WC is not in the bathroom. Bathroom is spacious and includes l'Occitane products.
If you are travelling with your car, the hotel has a small, secure parking.
Spa seems to be the trend but when it is so warm I would have preferred a swimming pool.
For breakfast, you can order à la minute eggs or special coffees. Buffet offers a good variety of food. But if you want tea or regular coffee, it is on a self service basis. I don't appreciate this in a 5 * hotel. To my opinion, staff at breakfast still needs to learn how to manage the breakfast service (lack of presence in the room, don't know what to do, speaking loud with other colleagues...)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Superket,
I am very pleased to hear that you had a good time at Arena di Serdica Hotel. Our guests are the most important equation and we will do everything to make sure they leave happy. Thank you for your feedback about the staff and the services and I will take that note for the breakfast service.
Please do not hesitate to let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more special.

Yours sincerely,

Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

At 100 Euros per night I am going to evaluate this hotel as if it was a five star as claimed.
The rooms are tired, carpets need replacing and there was no tea or coffee/kettle in the rooms.
The rest was fine; bathrooms and amenities were very spacious and clean.
The attention to detail was lacking with the air conditioning barely coping to get to 22degrees and it wasn't hot outside, the fridge was scarcely cold enough for drinks and the light and tap in the bathroom were broken.
Now the good bits, breakfast was plentiful and of good quality and variety, no hidden extras fro real coffee or freshly cooked eggs. Very good location and easy to find.
Staff were helpful if not overly friendly.
There was no swimming pool and I did not try the spa or fitness centre as it was a little claustrophobic and limited in the equipment.
Would I stay again, yes if I got a better rate

Room Tip: Would I stay again, yes if I got a better rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justinelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Justinelh,

Thank you for your recent stay at Arena di Serdica Hotel and thank you for your feedback about the services and the staff.

For good or bad the initial design of the hotel was changed (including swimming pool) when the building of the hotel started and the ancient amphitheater was found. This completely changed the architecture and the conception of the hotel. There is spa complex with swimming pool in a short taxi ride from the hotel.

We have 24 hours room service which can serve hot drinks in the rooms anytime needed.
The fridge in the room is a minibar cooler.

We will take into consideration the other remarks and I am sorry that some of the features did not meet your preferences.

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed there on a single motorcycle trip in 2011 and returned for two nights with my wife, also on a bike tour. Location is really central (a bit difficult to find in a side alley), great underground parking, big clean rooms. This time we used all amenities : restaurant for evening meals, spa, massage ....
Not a single negative comment, all really great, good value (not cheap but reasonible considering the hotel), good selection, really good food.
If we were to return to Sofia, I know were we would go!
In August 2013 there were construction works in the area and restrictions on hot water during peak hours. Was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Patrick N,

Thank you for your recent stay at Arena di Serdica Hotel and I am happy that you had again pleasant stay and good experience with our staff and services. Thank you for your understanding about the construction.
Our team hopes to welcome you again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We arrived a day late and the hotel personnel were so pleasant and helpful, making us feel very welcome and comfortable... The suite was fabulous and the bathroom was just heavenly...The location was central, secure parking and safe neighborhood...a dinner at the restaurant is a must ...
breakfast adequate for a 5 star and served in a nice surrounding...I will recommend this hotel for short stay as it rather lack the personal touch for a long stay, however I must say if cleanliness and size is what you are looking for this is the place and for me that made this hotel a 5 star....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Nsunshine,

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel. I truly appreciate your feedback about the services and the staff. Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A modern, very comfortable hotel in a great location within walking distance to the main sites. We were thrilled to find we had been upgraded to a suite without us even knowing beforehand. The only reason we did not give it a 5 rating is because the hotel is rather lacking in character.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoJo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear WoJo W,

Thank you for your feedback and I am happy that you had a pleasant stay at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel. Our team will be happy if you visit us on your next trip to Sofia !

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.5 mi away
Les Fleurs Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 135 in Sofia
1,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 135 in Sofia
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel

Address: 13-15 Moskovska Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: £77 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena di Serdica is the newest 5 star Residence Hotel in Sofia affiliated to the FPI Hotels & Resorts chain.Strategically located in the heart of the city, right next to the main states institutions, business centers and banks, as well as to the cultural and historial places of interest in Sofia, the luxurious Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel Sofia is excellent choice for business and cultural trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing