We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enthusiastically recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
Ranked #22 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enthusiastically recommended”
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Enthusastically recommended, business or leisure. I used most of the hotel facilities during my time there. The restaurant made Bulgarian cuisine approachable and food was thoughtfully prepared. Fitness facility very good. Some rooms offer a fine view over a park, distinctive Orthodox church spires, and the National Gallery of Art. Excellent staff, genuinely hospitable with polished service skills. The location provides an excellent base for walking around many historical sites in Sofia. And incorporating a Roman ampitheatre within the lobby atrium is architecturally impressive.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarkingSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    139
    44
    11
    5
See reviews for
36
109
26
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights with some friends for my first trip to Sofia. The ruins in the lobby basement are a strange sight at first, but have been very well preserved and integrated into the building. The hotel doesn't look much from the outside, but the bedrooms are large, modern and well equipped with fantastic large bathroom and nice L'Occitaine products. The free wifi is excellent.

Breakfast was standard European mix of cold and hot buffet options, not fantastic, but far from poor. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is very good, close to the main square and within easy reach of most of the tourist spots.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Fully endorse other reports on this hotel, my wife and I stayed 3 nights over a weekend and found everything to a high standard , from food to service.
Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again, particularly if we can repeat the price of £70 per night to include breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We used the hotel to organise an international training course and the hotel could not have been more helpful. We included an assessment of the hotel on the course feedback forms and these were universally positive.
My room was in fact a suite, and was perhaps the best hotel room I have ever stayed in.
The public areas are fascinating as they contain the excavated ruins of a Roman arena.
The rooftop restaurant gives a fantastic view over the city with good food. The breakfast/lunch restaurant on the ground floor also offers a wide selection which should please any Western guest.
The room was air-conditioned and had a massive plasma TV with more channels than one could cope with, including English. There was also a combination safe - always welcome.
The hotel is in a quiet street but very close to the centre of Sofia. If coming from the airport, you are recommended to let them arrange a car for you - travel tips about Sofia warn about taxi scams, so the hotel can get you an assured ride. My cars were comfortable with friendly drivers both ways. Several good restaurants can be accessed by walking up the steps behind the hotel, but Sofia has a variety of eateries.
Finally - special mention to all the staff, who were universally friendly and helpful. They were very patient with me when I made complicated requests. There is also good wifi in the hotel.
The conference room we used (there are quite a few) even contains a translators' booth !
We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clibil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

My first trip to Sofia and even though time was short and meetings were long, the hotel was a very welcome refuge. The facilities were excellent, the staff charming and the rooms clean and well equipped. With many hotels looking very similar, it was a welcome change to see the open plan reception atrium looking down onto a significant part of the city’s history.

The location is ideal if you leave via the steps at the rear of the building for visiting one of the city’s livelier squares and there are plenty of good restaurants an easy walk away. Overall I would definitely choose to stay here again.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank niknak586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilanovADS, Meetings and Events Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2009
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you very much about sharing your impression about staying in our hotel in Tripadvisor.
We trust that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward welcoming you again in the Residence Hotel of Sofia!

Kind Regards

Stefan Milanov

Meetings and Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
1,151 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Moved from the Kempinski in Sofia to the Arena di Serdica hotel. Small number of rooms. Excellent value, perfect service (managed to get a french-speaking driver for a rather complicated & lengthy crosscountry trip for EUR 75). Located in the middle of Sofia, but in a quiet side street. The spa is small but beautiful. Rooms very large. Their "standard" room would pass as an executive room at the Radisson / Kempinski. Will no longer stay at Radisson / Kempinski in Sofia, but only at this small gem.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilanovADS, Meetings and Events Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2009
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you very much about sharing your impression about staying in our hotel in Tripadvisor.
We trust that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward welcoming you again in the Residence Hotel of Sofia!

Kind Regards

Stefan Milanov

Meetings and Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I stayed twice in 12 days in this hotel - the first time by myself, the second - with a client. In both occasions the hotel was great for relax, for business meetings (walking distance from all major business HQ of banks, institutions, etc.) and for visiting the capital of Bulgaria. Few steps from the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, the National Museum of Archeology, Sofia University, the Bulgarian Academy of Science and St. Sophia Church.

Great, real kitchen room service 24/7 (I had jet lag and this proved very useful), super nice personnel and great food on the top floor panoramic restaurant.

The ruins of the Roman Amphitheater make you feel living in a luxurious museum, with the difference that you can drink your coffee sitting on a 2000 years seat or wall.

Definitively, this is my dream boutique hotel in Sofia.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Grand Hotel Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
725 reviews
Serdica
Hotel Anel
Hotel Anel
#5 of 133 in Sofia
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel

Property: Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
Address: 13-15 Moskovska Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena di Serdica is the newest 5 star Residence Hotel in Sofia affiliated to the FPI Hotels & Resorts chain.Strategically located in the heart of the city, right next to the main states institutions, business centers and banks, as well as to the cultural and historial places of interest in Sofia, the luxurious Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel Sofia is excellent choice for business and cultural trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing