We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in center of Sofia”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arte Hotel
Ranked #44 of 131 Hotels in Sofia
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great hotel in center of Sofia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a gem of a place located in the center of the city. The rooms are modern, spacious and clean, and the beds are comfortable. The hotel is decorated with original artwork, thus the name, and the staff are helpful. I was worried that I would pick up some ambient noise, being so close to the center (there were street demonstrations while I was in Sofia), but that proved not to be the case. I paid $60 a night and feel I got good value for my money. I didn't opt for the breakfast, as it seemed pricey at 9 euros per person.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANUCKINBETHESDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    89
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
66
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

So our Bulgarian airline flight was spontaneously rearranged but this hotel made things very easy, organizing pickup from the airport, helping us get into our room a couple hours ahead of schedule so we could rest, and kindly giving us great advice on visiting this pleasant city. This is a perfect location with a professional staff.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mateuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The rooms are quite small, but comfortable and clean. And for the price, you can't beat the location. Walking distance to everything around the city-center, and easy access to public transportation. The halls are decorated with various pieces of art although the design is nothing too amazing. Still, a cute boutique-y hotel with an equally "cute" price tag.

Room Tip: A room in the front would offer a nice view of the street below, but rooms in the back don't off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCalvaresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovering cornwall
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of Sofia within walking distance to many sites and close to an underground station. In the immediate surroundings of the hotel are several banks with ATM machines on the outside. On the next corner is a kiosk which sells bottled water, sweets, fruit etc at very low prices until late at night.
My room was newly renovated, with an exceptionally well equipped bath room. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The staff at the reception are extremely friendly and spoke fluent English and German.
Breakfast was not so great - - there was a shortage of plates and knives...but again, the staff was very friendly.
Another "problem" is, that there is only a tiny lobby (with seating for three) and there is no bar or restaurant or any other palce on the premises where guests can buy something to drink, or sit together and talk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbow51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. For the price I expected it to be a bit more basic but the room was actually quite luxurious. Very clean, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, mini bar. Reception staff were helpful. A good option for a night or two in Sofia.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luispquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

My son and I stayed there for 2 nights. The location was perfect, the price was good, the hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful. I would stay there again. We took an airport shuttle to and from the airport but a local bus was available from the airport which stopped at the university a few blocks away. Be careful of the Taxis as you can get really ripped off. Stick with OK taxis and not CK Taxis. Great art in the building if you're into that. Good price for the quality of hotel,

Room Tip: Can walk to most of the sightseeing location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 767captlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
220 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Touring Bulgaria with a group of friends we stayed one night at this hotel at the beginning of the holiday and two nights at the end. It is a place of contrasts. Location is excellent, staff are friendly, helpful and speak English, breakfast and the room in which it is served are delightful. The rooms themselves are a very good size for a city centre hotel, a bit bland, although the orange highlights brighten it up a little, but the beds are small and the pillows bullet-like. If you prefer a double bed then ask for a twin bedded room and push the beds together, because unlike all the other hotels we stayed in during our trip, this was the only one with 4ft 6in double beds. The singles aren't huge either, but pushed together are fine. Bathroom is small but everything works and there is a shelf for putting ones own toiletries on (missing in most hotels I find). Almost the best thing about this hotel is the real art on the walls, particularly on the staircase. It is worth taking the stairs rather than the lift just to see the pen and ink drawings, there being a particularly fine portrait of a woman on the landing near the ground floor. Because the hotel is situated on a main road traffic noise is a problem if you leave windows open at night. We tried the A/C but it didn't seem to work, so tolerated the swishing of traffic which turned out to be reasonably soporific. All in all a convenient and pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms at the front are an interesting shape with lots of space and a window on each wall so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Highgateglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Serdica
Hotel Maria Luisa
Hotel Maria Luisa
#55 of 131 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thracia Hotel
#7 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arte Hotel

Property: Arte Hotel
Address: Dondukov Blvd 5, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Poduyane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 131 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing