We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little strange...but a good stay”
Review of Hotel The House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel The House
Ranked #89 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is very centrally located and close to Vitosha Boulevard. It's quite small and we didn't stay in the main building, our suite was in the building next door which looks like your typical eastern European apartment building. The entry didn't give a great first impression, very dark and some graffiti to welcome you, but the room itself was fine. It was very clean and comfortable but the decor was interesting and a bit dated and dark. The restaurant was fantastic, and just what we hoped for in traditional cuisine. Great staff and excellent value, just needs a little updating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for only one day. Despite that, I really enjoyed to be there. This hotel is very central located, walking distance from Vitosha Boulevard. It is not a classical hotel, there are only few rooms, the stairs are quite strange. But, the room was nice, clean, bed very comfortable, toillets of a good quality. And there is a fantastic Bulgarian yogurt for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiborBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This hotel is correct.
The reception is almost correct.
I give their information as I must take airport to leave earlier.
They told that they prepare me a sandwich instead the breakfast included before my departure at 6.00 am.
But I never have seen this sandwich.
I wasted my money for breakfast.
So I wanted take taxi to go to the bus which picking me up to airport, as taxi driver doesn't speak English.
This taxi driver picked me up to the airport directly.
So this is very well situated next the down town in Sofia but it misses a little managing of customers.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Client A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

First impression can be quite strange, as from the outside the place looks a bit deserted and when you get inside the decoration is very dark and the stairs very narrow. (This can be quite a problem for someone with walking difficulties)
Nevertheless, our room and bathroom were large and clean. The heating worked fine and we had tv and water - coffee - sugar in the room. Breakfast was decent and served until late (11:00) which was great for us, as during our stay we enjoyed the nightlife of the city. Staff was helpful and friendly. We also had a dinner with friends in the restaurant which was great and well priced.
The best thing though about this hotel is the location. It's right in the center with many shops, cafes and a subway station in walking distance. But it's also located on a small street, so you can get a quiet night's sleep. Third, you get free parking, which is really hard in the center. All that compared to the price we paid, was a real bargain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EleannaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The hotel is right in the center of Sofia.
It was also great that we had a free parking place for our car.
The room was spacious and equipped with an electric kettle.
The breakfast was freshly prepared and tasty.
The staircase was very narrow making it difficult to carry our luggage to the upper floors.
The air-conditioner in our room (number 10) wasn't working properly and as a result we were a bit cold. The toilet plate was broken which was quite annoying.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prespapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Nice place to be for a short stay in Sofia; paid e31 per night (single occupancy of a twin room) for b and b. Good breakfast and bedroom/facilities fine too. Rather liked the brown 'bohemian' feel to the bedroom. Recommended.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank pjkExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This establishment is both a small hotel and a restaurant. The hotel is well situated and is a very short walk to the center of the city (there is also a large park 100 meters from the hotel). The rooms are clean, the shower is open to the rest of the bathroom (everything gets wet when showering), and there is wifi and tv. There is free secure parking. The entrance is either through the restaurant or in the back past the trash cans and up a narrow stairway. For the price, the hotel is adequate and for a few nights will suffice.
The restaurant was the highlight of our stay. It has a varied menu and is reasonably priced. It has a good reputation and is frequented by locals.
Lastly, if it your first time in Sofia, be sure to take the free walking tour. It will give you a very good introduction to the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savvy2olympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Akord Hotel
#35 of 135 in Sofia
102 reviews
Hotel Cheap
#40 of 135 in Sofia
72 reviews
Serdica
Bon Voyage Hotel Orlando
Bon Voyage Hotel Orlando
#85 of 135 in Sofia
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Dream
#39 of 135 in Sofia
79 reviews
Poduyane
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#30 of 135 in Sofia
275 reviews
Forum Hotel
#29 of 135 in Sofia
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The House

Address: ul.Verila 4, Sofia 1463, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: £21 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is situated in the centre of the city, 20 metres away from Sofia’s most personable boulevard – Vitosha, and in close proximity to the National Palace of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The House Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing