We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great eclectic restaurant, adults only”
Review of Ego

Ego
Ranked #442 of 1,042 Restaurants in Sofia
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great eclectic restaurant, adults only”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

This is a great eclectic restaurant, with some oddities. The food was excellent, including very fresh fish and great desserts. Do not bring the children, as their wallhangings and decorations are quite profane. Also, be sure to bring cash with you, because their credit card machine regularly fails, as does the only neighborhood ATM. Otherwise, the waitstaff tries very hard, although they are not well-versed in English, are able to communicate well enough. B-

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidPlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
“one gorgeous place in the heart of the capital”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Tthe restaurant is very elegant, the food - very excuisite, the service - very professional. This restaurant is a special secret place for the highlife people of Europe!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect summer holiday dinner in the Garden”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Found this place by following the 'Ego Garden' signs to behind the restaurant proper and a true hidden gem of a summer restaurant appeared. Like an oasis of holiday chillout in the middle of central Sofia, felt like we were at the beach and on holiday even though I was there for business and just grabbing dinner with a colleague. Excellent food, great wine, fun and funky music and really nice people who work there - can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A shame”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I generally strongly agree with TRIP ADVISOR feedbacks I get but this time I was really disappointed...
The restaurant is very expensive for the quality you receive .
The sea bass rolatini with mozzarella is simply disgusting .
The goat cheese salad was Ok but nothing special ...
Seriously guys , I am not a kind of guys that generally complain about food ,
but this restaurant doesn t deserve you to lose your time and money !!!
The service is really good but the food is really bad

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arns28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had dinner here this week. We had our meal in the garden. We did not have a starter. The waiter brought olives and bread to the table. They were very tasty. We all had the lamb with almond crust. Very nice if small portion. Had a long wait for the main course to arrive. Wines very expensive for Sofia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 169traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ego also viewed

 
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Ego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing