We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Stella
Ranked #13 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you are coming from the States Don' t expect that the Best Western Hotel chain is the same quality all over the world. This was a bit of a disappointment. There is no shuttle service to the airport. If you are not driving you will need to take a taxi ride to and from the airport. There is a local bus stop a short distance from the hotel to take into town.

Room Tip: We had 4 adults in the group. Thought from the pictures that we had two rooms reserved that had two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 892dizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a very brief stay -- late evening flight to Zagreb and early morning departure, meant we needed a simple airport hotel and nothing more. For those expecting hotel shuttles, these don't seem to exist in Zagreb, so you are at the mercy of the local taxi system -- and (unless perhaps you prearrange things) you will be held hostage by the local taxis at the airport. No bending among several drivers, 100KN minimum -- while the hotel's night desk clerk was happy to co-ordinate a taxi ready and waiting for us at the hotel door to return us to the airport at 5:45 a.m. for just 30KN. Room itself was okay, though the bed was kind of mushy and uncomfortable and the lighting effect was dim. But these points didn't matter. We needed clean, simple, near the airport and with reliable wake up call and transport to the airport in the morning, and achieved these results

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Publisher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had been traveling around Croatia by car and needed a place to stay to catch a plane the next day. The hotel and specially the rooms are very modern and clean. The shower room is quite large. Breakfast is decent and service staff is nice. You can park your car for free. You can reach the city center easily by car, parking at the Train Central Station.
Very solid three star hotel, just don´t expect to be able to do anything outside the hotel since it is located in a kind of industrial area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fgrajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for just one night before we flew out. The hotel is in a great location, just 5 minutes from the airport 15 minutes to old town. Free parking, free internet (wifi) and a wonderful free breakfast. The hotel is clean and comfortable.

We arrived in Zagreb around 1:00 pm and our flight was the next day. The staff had free maps and handouts that helped us tour the old town on our own. The staff was very helpful and giving advise on things to see and places that would be good to skip. Also, there was a shopping center about 5 minutes away, a great place to pickup some small gifts/chocolate before you fly out.

All in all I would recommend this hotel. As I said we were going to fly out so we purposely got close to the airport, if you are staying for a few days you might want to look closer to town, otherwise it is a great hotel.

Room Tip: We just got a standard room (King Bed) and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here as we had an early flight. Convenient to the airport. Basic room, clean, well appointed. Wifi was strong. The only downside is no restaurant, but you can order food in. Has a nice bar for drinks which is open all day. Staff spoke good English and were very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chose this hotel for the start and finish of our holiday due to its close proximity to the airport. We arrived in the early hours of the morning at the start of our holiday and was impressed that they gave us ground floor rooms so as not to disturb other guests. The nights at the end of our holiday were on higher floors and were actually a better spec. Nice rooms and good wifi.

Reception staff were helpful with booking restaurants, taxis and a trip in the city. They were pleasant and friendly.

Breakfast was nothing special and was pretty basic but without problem.

TAXI FROM AIRPORT
nothing to do with the hotel but beware when taking a taxi from the airport: The driver was very pleasant and chatty, giving us advice on places to go etc. he charged us 171 kuna, we gave him 200 as he didn't have change. Being 1am and very tired we thought this normal. Going back to the airport next morning we had a taxi called by the hotel and it cost 35 kuna! We later discovered that it is against the law to charge and not give a printed receipt that is linked to the tax system. Lesson learned.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank NessaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This was booked by our travel agent as part of our driving holiday. Very easy to get to from the airport by car and when we arrived although a bit austere looking on the outside we were pleased by everything on the inside. Helpful staff, nice little gym and on the bus route to the city if needed.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank marie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
5.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
5.5 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
5.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,410 reviews
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
5.7 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Stella

Address: Maslenichka Ulica 1, Zagreb 10010, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Stella 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stella is a new hotel in Zagreb, near the Zagreb Airport Pleso. It is situated at the main road which leads from the Zagreb Airport to the city centre, very close to the highway and it’s only a few minutes away by car from the Zagreb Fair exhibition site. Our hotel is ideally located for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing