We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funny and nice Hostel, one of the best, we've been to”
Review of Hostel Mali Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Mali Mrak
Ranked #9 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“funny and nice Hostel, one of the best, we've been to”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

we've been in the Mali Mrak Hostel in Juli! It was really clean, and we met nice people there! Recommented by Lena and Thomas tour20elf.jimdo.com. We are on a longer trip through the balkan and we would definately come back to Mali Mrak. Thanks for the nice stay and hosting!!! We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and had a locker and free coffe. Although we had a secure parking slot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas12341234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
21
33
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms are reasonable and the service is great. Felt that everything was clean and that no hassle in the neighbourhood, which is great.

However, very noisy due to other travellers, woken up a number of times from noise outside the room (had a private double room).

15-20 minute tram ride from town - and easy to get to, being a 5-min walk from the tram terminus.

Would recommend, particularly given the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Manager at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hey, i'm always impressed by people mentioning other travelers being noisy in connection with the hostel. What do you suggest we do, give out muzzles (for a small deposit) at the reception upon check in? Will you hold a workshop explaining people from a hundred different cultures how to talk quietly? I appreciate your review, it's very good - reasonably convenient, but please get down to earth, at least with one foot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aranjuez, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I recommend everybody who visits Zagreb to stay there, is a very familiar place and people there is really good. Maybe not so close to the centre, but near are the trams and it's a real good place indeed.

Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pagangirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Thank you :) !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Pretty nice hostel - very nice hostel staff. The location is not real close to the city center, but getting there is not difficult. We did have a lot of trouble finding the hostel, but it was really late when we got in so there was not anyone to ask for help. We stayed in the room for two people with one queen bed. The room was quite small and the bed was not too comfortable, but overall the hostel was perfect for the money. It was really inexpensive and everyone there was really nice. There was a kitchen you could use for free as well as three computers with internet for free. Doing laundry was not very expensive either. The place was very quiet and not loud and crazy like some hostels can be. My only complaints would be the room was really small and it was hard to find upon arrival. I would stay there again though! Great for people on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmexico11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2009

This is the best Hostel we ever have visited. It is convenient located
near a tram stop, (the last stop of several tramlines so you can not
make a mistake getting off) and within 15 minutes we were in the very
centre of Zagreb.

The staff was superb, friendly and helpfully and the service they
provided was excellent! (excellent will not cover it because they are
more than excellent).
The hostel was spotlessly clean, from the bathrooms till the rooms all
so clean that if you want you can eat from the floors. The prices are
very good,

My friend Ana also works part-time at the Dutch office of the Croatian
National Tourist Office, were she will recommended this hostel to
Dutch people who are asking information about accommodation and
hostels in Zagreb.

In short we really recommend this hostel to all people who are looking
for a quiet, friendly and clean hostel in Zagreb!

We wish you all the best,

two very happy and satisfied customers,

Ismael & Ana

  • Liked — the staff and the service they provided
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ismaelvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
I guess we're a few years late with answering our first review :D
A lot has changed since you came, for the better, i hope. Thank you for the review :=)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
2.3 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
2.7 mi away
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
#13 of 59 in Zagreb
814 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
#2 of 159 in Zagreb
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swanky Mint Hostel
Swanky Mint Hostel
#1 of 159 in Zagreb
357 reviews
3.7 mi away
Funk Lounge Hostel
Funk Lounge Hostel
#7 of 159 in Zagreb
232 reviews
2.3 mi away
Taban Bar & Hostel
Taban Bar & Hostel
#6 of 159 in Zagreb
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mali Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mali Mrak

Property: Hostel Mali Mrak
Address: Dubichka Ulica 8, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi there! If you need a warm, cozy place to stay at, you're welcome here, but please, indulge me and read on first, see what's up here, then make up your mind,ok? Thank you :) Take your time, read some the reviews (there's 1000+), that's what choosing the right hostel for you is about - ESPECIALLY those of unhappy guests because they tell a good story - if you recognize yourself in them, please skip the booking and save us all the trouble, there are things more important than money -spoiled and complicated people are not a thing here :) Also, Mali Mrak is *NOT* a party hostel, we don't do pub crawls, drinking games or similar routines. The house is a simple, clean, warm and cozy place, run by friends, as well as an ongoing ambience & art project, with many contributions and handmade items from different places. While it has all the amenities of a hostel, we and a huge proportion of our guests think of it as home and way point for travelers. We prefer simplicity, honesty, spontaneity, sharing, community, common sense, talks, exchange of ideas, to see who you are and what you do - you have all our knowledge and resources at your disposal, as long as you respect the house and the people inside. The house is also ideal if you just want to have a quiet time on your own, bothered by no one, to do your own thing. Stuff that often happens, no schedule or plan though: Hiking trips, cooking, bike & other spontaneous tours around Zagreb. There's always good, local wine to be had here, at this time of the year that will often be mulled or spiced wine. We don't charge for *anything* except your bed, and that's it. LOCATION: We're located 15-20 min. by tram from the center, in a peaceful neighborhood, as well as 15 minutes walking from the nature park 'Grmoscica', located on the foothills of Medvednica, the local mountain. Ideal if you love hiking & nature. Also, for those who are traveling on a budget and have certain skills- if you can and feel like it, you can contribute /upgrade the house in a specific way - we love that (especially the art section has grown in the meantime). You certainly wouldn't be the first. ***PLEASE NOTE:**** The City Tax (7kn per person per night or cca. 1€) is not included in the room price you book . That's all, folks! igor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Mali Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing