We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable”
Review of Hostel Mali Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Mali Mrak
Ranked #9 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Handily situated not two minutes down the road from the Črnomerec tram stop, when we arrived at Mali Mrak we had little idea how good it would be. Sure, the hostel initially looked largely like any other, clean and spacious with great facilities and incredibly helpful staff, but that's not what made it - the thing that makes Mali Mrak is the people. After an hour we felt immediately at home and by the next night we knew everyone by name and spent the evenings enjoying a drink and playing games and it was exactly like a family - we were incredibly sad to leave. The hostel manager mixed being incredibly helpful and able, checking train times and so forth, with an approachability and friendliness unseen elsewhere, often joining us in the evenings. Before our travels my friend and I envisaged travelling with little to do with anyone else. Not only did we not realise that with such an attitude a whole new world would be lost to us but that at Mali Mrak it would be impossible. I have never felt more at home at a hostel.

I could not recommend Mali Mrak more highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vukojebinje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Manager at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you very much for recognizing our place :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Was only here for 2 nights but had a lovely stay. Upon arrival was greeted by one of the owners and they were very welcoming and friendly. we stayed in a private room and it was perfect. the bathrooms were extremely clean and modern. Excellent wifi and they let us do laundry for free! Only one negative, its a little out of the way but once you have yours bearings its easy to get places. highly reccomended!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bpftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Nice review, thank you! We are where we are, no helping it :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We've been in the Mali Mrak Hostel in December, at Christmas. Very friendly staff. Small rooms with comfortable beds. We got a map of Zagreb at the front desk and all the information you need. In the common room there are two computers with internet running well. In the hostel wifi works very well.The advantage is that you can pay by credit card at the reception.
There is a supermarket nearby where you can do some shopping.

Walls between rooms are thin, so the rooms are very acoustic.
No parking directly at the hostel, to be parked somewhere on the streets nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ania2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

uuh, thanks, i guess? I have to note - People seem fascinated by supermarkets. If you want the real deal, ask us here - the place to buy your stuff is one of the real marketplaces throughout the city. Better prices, incomparably better quality (local produce) and principle (direct economy, no big, bad middleman ;))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel in Zagreb. The atmosphere was very good, a good place to meet other backpackers, though it was still quiet enough to sleep (unlike some places we've stayed!!). There was a great array of facilities, a computer room with 3 computers, a common room with a large DVD collection, laundry room, and a kitchen. every floor (3 plus basement) had toilets and showers, and these we cleaned daily. Hygiene seemed to be important at this hostel, which we found great, we'd see the "caretaker" cleaning rooms and bedding everyday - this really impressed us! The hostel has a mix of dorms and private rooms, ours was a private, and though small, it was clean and had a TV and balcony! The whole hostel was nicely decorated, giving it good charm, all the walls painted according to different themes, it was a well ran and well looked after hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adr11iano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Memento: we are not a youth hostel. That's a specific franchise/chain/system and we are not part of it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

stayed 1 night

+ very welcoming staff. they're ready to host you 24hrs (we got here at 1am).
they have a nice outside terrace.
kitchen
in case you want to find a company - it's there in abundance. seems to be a very lively place.

- smallish room. but has their own character.
there is 1 men's toilet on 1st floor, 1 women's on 2nd floor and one mixed on 3rd floor, so you might end up being obliged to jump the floors.
outside of a city center. be ready to spend some time getting there and away.
probably the most problematic one - it is pretty noisy. so I had to use earplugs to fall asleep. Although, they seem to have a policy not to party at night.

I'd recommend it for persons seeking lively place or a company. but definitely not the best option for ones looking for a privacy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dronych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

For staying one night, you seem quite the expert in hostel analysis. First, this is not a party hostel, if you are unable to deal with "loud" guests, we are here for that. Second, you missed to mention some facilities in your grand overview, and third, your perspective is simply annoying ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

we've been in the Mali Mrak Hostel in Juli! It was really clean, and we met nice people there! Recommented by Lena and Thomas tour20elf.jimdo.com. We are on a longer trip through the balkan and we would definately come back to Mali Mrak. Thanks for the nice stay and hosting!!! We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and had a locker and free coffe. Although we had a secure parking slot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas12341234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms are reasonable and the service is great. Felt that everything was clean and that no hassle in the neighbourhood, which is great.

However, very noisy due to other travellers, woken up a number of times from noise outside the room (had a private double room).

15-20 minute tram ride from town - and easy to get to, being a 5-min walk from the tram terminus.

Would recommend, particularly given the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Manager at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hey, i'm always impressed by people mentioning other travelers being noisy in connection with the hostel. What do you suggest we do, give out muzzles (for a small deposit) at the reception upon check in? Will you hold a workshop explaining people from a hundred different cultures how to talk quietly? I appreciate your review, it's very good - reasonably convenient, but please get down to earth, at least with one foot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,390 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swanky Mint Hostel
Swanky Mint Hostel
#1 of 170 in Zagreb
374 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
#2 of 170 in Zagreb
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hostel Bureau
Hostel Bureau
#3 of 170 in Zagreb
131 reviews
2.3 mi away
Taban Bar & Hostel
Taban Bar & Hostel
#5 of 170 in Zagreb
214 reviews
3.7 mi away
Funk Lounge Hostel
Funk Lounge Hostel
#6 of 170 in Zagreb
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mali Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mali Mrak

Address: Dubichka Ulica 8, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range: £13 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi there! If you need a warm, cozy place to stay at, you're welcome here, but please, indulge me and read on first, see what's up here, then make up your mind,ok? Thank you :) Take your time, read some the reviews (there's 1000+), that's what choosing the right hostel for you is about - ESPECIALLY those of unhappy guests because they tell a good story - if you recognize yourself in them, please skip the booking and save us all the trouble, there are things more important than money -spoiled and complicated people are not a thing here :) Also, Mali Mrak is *NOT* a party hostel, we don't do pub crawls, drinking games or similar routines. The house is a simple, clean, warm and cozy place, run by friends, as well as an ongoing ambience & art project, with many contributions and handmade items from different places. While it has all the amenities of a hostel, we and a huge proportion of our guests think of it as home and way point for travelers. We prefer simplicity, honesty, spontaneity, sharing, community, common sense, talks, exchange of ideas, to see who you are and what you do - you have all our knowledge and resources at your disposal, as long as you respect the house and the people inside. The house is also ideal if you just want to have a quiet time on your own, bothered by no one, to do your own thing. Stuff that often happens, no schedule or plan though: Hiking trips, cooking, bike & other spontaneous tours around Zagreb. There's always good, local wine to be had here, at this time of the year that will often be mulled or spiced wine. We don't charge for *anything* except your bed, and that's it. LOCATION: We're located 15-20 min. by tram from the center, in a peaceful neighborhood, as well as 15 minutes walking from the nature park 'Grmoscica', located on the foothills of Medvednica, the local mountain. Ideal if you love hiking & nature. Also, for those who are traveling on a budget and have certain skills- if you can and feel like it, you can contribute /upgrade the house in a specific way - we love that (especially the art section has grown in the meantime). You certainly wouldn't be the first. ***PLEASE NOTE:**** The City Tax (7kn per person per night or cca. 1€) is not included in the room price you book . That's all, folks! igor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Mali Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing