We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Community Atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Mali Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Mali Mrak
Ranked #8 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Community Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

As a backpacker I always seek out hostels which facilitate the best community oriented atmospheres, and none match that of Mali Mrak. I was consistently welcomed back to the hostel with a cheerful "My friend! Come, we are all having wine outside!", by the friendly owner, Igor. This atmosphere obviously made it easy to meet many fellow backpackers. If you place an importance on this type of atmosphere, quit browsing and book this place now! It's truly an amazing place, and my favorite hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you :) Everyone is welcome who respects the community and the house, as simple as that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
21
33
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed at this hostel for 3 nights in May and was not disappointed. It is a short tram ride from the centre of the city, but is definitely worth it for the people alone. Igor, the owner, was extremely welcoming and, along with the rest of the staff I met (Ivanna, Nika, <can't remember name>), created such a pleasant environment. More than just a bed for the night, it seems to be a place where mutual respect, individuality, and creativity thrives. I definitely enjoyed the many chats whilst sampling the local wine and rakija. On my last evening there, Igor drove a small group of us guests to a nice food place and then took us for beers afterwards - first time I've experienced a hostel owner doing that ^_^.

The hostel and the staff certainly get a thumbs up from me. I think Arnold Schwarzenegger puts it best: "I'll be back".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
:D your sense of humor is one of the things I'll remember about you, Imran :) . Actually, i'm still surprised how people perceive what and how we do things here - there's so many reviews (other sites) where people write about a glass of wine, coffee, or getting dinner for free. Here, we wouldn't even bother to mention that, because it's simply normal. While i did my share of traveling back in the day, i get a different picture of contemporary Europe & abroad from all these comments - as if nowadays most places are just out to get our money and that's it.
Running a hostel is a way of life, not a way of business.Yes, the monetary aspect can't be denied, but that doesn't mean the "hostel owner" (i hate to be called that way :D) can't take you out and buy you drinks or cook food or whatever o.O) It's not a rule, and there's certainly people i'd never invite, but to the few of us running the place it's completely normal to do so. Thank you for this perception of the hostel, we all really enjoyed having you here, Imran. See you around :) i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I can say that this is certainly one of the best hostels i've ever stayed. Reasonably priced, clean, very comfortable, organised and with an unique chilled out atmosphere. Igor, who runs the hostel, treats you as a friend since the first second. And gives the best recommendations as well, since he is a true Zagreb explorer from childhood. Quiet location with cheap shops around, it is the perfect place to know other backpackers and have a pleasant conversation around the dinner table at the backyard. A true family away from home. Thank you Hostel Mali Mrak!

Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GnomeZagreb, Manager at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
hi there :D !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for one day this weekend with a friend in a 4 bedroom dorm room.

Check the location on Google maps before you book - it's a bit far from anything most will want to do in Zagreb. If you want to be in a quiet, far out (5 mins to tram stop then 15-20 min ride to centre) then that's grand - if not it's a bit of a pain...

Was generally average, Enough room, fairly comfy and the owner appeared friendly (however see below). Kitchen was a bit of a mess, bathrooms kept pretty clean (though they are lacking). Not particularly noisy - and with earplugs in we slept pretty well.

Having already left a review on Hostelworld (through which I booked the hostel), I recieved a fairly agressive reply, so I won't be surprised to see that here as well. It appears that any criticism is fiercly denied, rather than taken in to account and acted upon - which is a shame, as this place is chilled out and could be pretty great if these things were taken seriously..

Room Tip: There's many rooms to choose from - couldn't see any being particularly bad! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Ah, the hipster would-be-insider appears again, following up on his overinflated,veiled email threats :D since there's always at least two sides to a story, here's ours: i don't take kindly to prissy people like you, insulting me and my friends that run the place,working hard and doing our best. The reviews of hundreds of people on more sites speak for the hostel and them, no need for me to intervene on that part. As for not accepting criticism, you show your arrogant ignorance again, as many things in the hostel are because guests pointed out things that were then implemented, over the course of 7 long years. Funny that you say average hostel, before my criticism you called it better :), and i see you also followed my guidelines on how to write more serious appearing reviews - well done! We might make something out of you yet <3 So, i'll spare you my review of yourself (you did that yourself here actually) and instead invite you to stay here with us for free (food included), so that you can learn something, especially how to run a good hostel. And please, don't pretend you know anything about Zagreb or Croatia and think you can recommend things to people, it's too obvious and ridiculous, even more so since you stayed only one day. Thanks for the laugh you gave us, no hard feelings & you're totally welcome here, no sarcasm. Take care, hip dude, from Zagreb with <3, Igor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I went to Zagreb with the intention of staying a night or 2 and then heading to Zadar. However, the hostel was really nice and the staff extremely helpful. Actually, I wouldn't call them staff. I'd call them a group of friends working together for the benefit of the hostel. Igor, who's the head of the hostel is probably one of the most interesting people I have ever met, Such a cool and laid back guy! Overall I had a fantastic time here and I would recommend this to anyone visiting Zagreb!

Room Tip: The hostel itself it based outside of the city centre and not situated on a main road so any room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
What a pleasure to meet you, B. ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hostel was great! Igor was a wonderful host the hostel is beautiful and everything was clean and comfortable. If you go to Zagreb on a budget (or not, if you like hostels) there's no reason to look further than Mali Mrak!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank zarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
:D why, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

First, I should start by apologizing that this review is very long overdue. I stayed at Mali Mrak a few months ago while backpacking. I think that Mali Mrak is an exceptionally special place. What makes it so special is the people and the conversations you have, for sure. Igor, the owner, is a remarkable person who genuinely wants to create a welcoming space. When you come to Mali Mrak, it quickly begins to feel like a kind of home. The rooms are clean, spacious, there is a beautiful garden outside. But the people make the experience one that is not easy to forget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schaefcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you ;) !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
2.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
2.3 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jarun
Hotel Jarun
#16 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swanky Mint Hostel
Swanky Mint Hostel
#1 of 150 in Zagreb
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
#2 of 150 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
3.7 mi away
Funk Lounge Hostel
Funk Lounge Hostel
#3 of 150 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mali Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mali Mrak

Property: Hostel Mali Mrak
Address: Dubichka Ulica 8, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi there! If you need a warm, cozy place to stay at, you're welcome here, but please, indulge me and read on first, see what's up here, then make up your mind,ok? Thank you :) Take your time, read some the reviews (there's 1000+), that's what choosing the right hostel for you is about - ESPECIALLY those of unhappy guests because they tell a good story - if you recognize yourself in them, please skip the booking and save us all the trouble, there are things more important than money -spoiled and complicated people are not a thing here :) Also, Mali Mrak is *NOT* a party hostel, we don't do pub crawls, drinking games or similar routines. The house is a simple, clean, warm and cozy place, run by friends, as well as an ongoing ambience & art project, with many contributions and handmade items from different places. While it has all the amenities of a hostel, we and a huge proportion of our guests think of it as home and way point for travelers. We prefer simplicity, honesty, spontaneity, sharing, community, common sense, talks, exchange of ideas, to see who you are and what you do - you have all our knowledge and resources at your disposal, as long as you respect the house and the people inside. The house is also ideal if you just want to have a quiet time on your own, bothered by no one, to do your own thing. Stuff that often happens, no schedule or plan though: Hiking trips, cooking, bike & other spontaneous tours around Zagreb. There's always good, local wine to be had here, at this time of the year that will often be mulled or spiced wine. We don't charge for *anything* except your bed, and that's it. LOCATION: We're located 15-20 min. by tram from the center, in a peaceful neighborhood, as well as 15 minutes walking from the nature park 'Grmoscica', located on the foothills of Medvednica, the local mountain. Ideal if you love hiking & nature. Also, for those who are traveling on a budget and have certain skills- if you can and feel like it, you can contribute /upgrade the house in a specific way - we love that (especially the art section has grown in the meantime). You certainly wouldn't be the first. ***PLEASE NOTE:**** The City Tax (7kn per person per night or cca. 1€) is not included in the room price you book . That's all, folks! igor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Mali Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing