We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”
Review of Hostel Mali Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Mali Mrak
Ranked #8 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Best place to stay in Zagreb! Love this hostel!

The staff are incredibly friendly, and the hostel is filled to the brim with interesting people from all over the world. They've really figured out the secret recipe for a great hostel experience by putting their focus on the travelers staying in the hostel. A great, comfortable, affordable place run by wonderful and attentive people. I couldn't recommend it higher.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thanks Josh, appreciate the recommendation and glad you liked it here with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I initially chose this place based on other reviews and it just looked cool.
Well my friends and I were not disappointed at all, in fact we found so much more.

I've been to plenty of Hostels that felt like hostels.
This place was like home.
With their incredibly warm and friendly staff, I was truly impressed with how helpful and professional they were as they offered great tips of the city sites and plenty of excellent rec's of restaurants to try.

My first visit of 4 days didn't give it justice, so later in my trip I decided to come back and stay another week and I had an amazing time.

The Mali Mrak isn't just a hostel, it's a beautiful community of fun spirited people.

I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Private room is nice with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

El Capitano, what a pleasure to have you aboard :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

While the facilities at Mali Mrak are quite adequate, they are really not special at all – which makes the unique magic of this hostel all the more special. Mali Mrak has become accepted and loved by alternative travelers by being...well, very accepting and loving of alternative travelers. A very social place, in a quite relaxing and safe-feeling way. My 8 year old daughter absolutely loved getting to a little bit know so many lively and brilliant travelers. And the whole staff is very much identified with the backpacker spirit. Unless you are moving (too) fast, the distance to the center is not a real problem, as trams run quite often. Trust this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

hey, you're welcome! You're daughter's way cooler than you though :D :D Thanks M., see you around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great place to stay and know people form around the world. The hostel was nice and I really enjoyed the atmosphere. The rooms were big and confortable. The bathrooms were clean and everything worked very well. The staff were friendly and they help you for all your needs.
The hostel had an amazing vibes and Igor (the Owner) is simply the best.
I'm pretty sure that i will come back as soon as possible in this wonderful place!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pierluigiDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Pierro!! good to read you here, thank you as well :)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

For a lot of reasons this place is amazing!! A LOT! But you can just talk about the people who works in the hostel. They are great! Nice people, very friendly and helpful! You just have a good sensation of being at home, in a nice and cozy place. I went to croatia for just a few days and at the end i spend a whole week at the hostel! Great place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Farace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

And that brazilian style lunch you made is still remembered, as the picture shows, lol :D
Thank you B., !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great staff, location and facilities. The guys'll help you with whatever you need, and make you feel at home at the same time.

The rooms are worm and the kitchen is ok to cook, wich is good if you are travelling on a low budget, also the room price is not expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks! Update: there's an additional, outside summer kitchen now :=)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

As a big group, we all enjoyed our stay here. It wasn't in the city, but it was only a short tram away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a very quiet neighbourhood and the staff really respect this- We were asked to be quiet at around 9pm for talking slightly loud in the garden. So it is definitely a place to go and chill and not a party hostel. Perfect place for lone travellers or small groups to meet other people from all over the world. The rooms themselves were decent and the hostel felt more like a massive house than seperate dorms which was different from any others we stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccoop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Yes sir, exactly :D! Quiet place, not a party hostel, that's us :) I like your review, but i do have to make a correction: Quiet time is after 22:00, not 21:00, and if you were asked to be quiet, it's because people from England are usually really loud (sorry, but that's a fact :D), so your perception of " talking slightly loud" would be "quite loud" in ours. We have no other choice, even if we wanted, because the police regulates these issues very precisely!

Thanks for staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Fala
Hotel Fala
#24 of 59 in Zagreb
98 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,362 reviews
2.3 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
2.1 mi away
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
#2 of 167 in Zagreb
552 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swanky Mint Hostel
Swanky Mint Hostel
#1 of 167 in Zagreb
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mali Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mali Mrak

Address: Dubichka Ulica 8, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range: £13 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi there! If you need a warm, cozy place to stay at, you're welcome here, but please, indulge me and read on first, see what's up here, then make up your mind,ok? Thank you :) Take your time, read some the reviews (there's 1000+), that's what choosing the right hostel for you is about - ESPECIALLY those of unhappy guests because they tell a good story - if you recognize yourself in them, please skip the booking and save us all the trouble, there are things more important than money -spoiled and complicated people are not a thing here :) Also, Mali Mrak is *NOT* a party hostel, we don't do pub crawls, drinking games or similar routines. The house is a simple, clean, warm and cozy place, run by friends, as well as an ongoing ambience & art project, with many contributions and handmade items from different places. While it has all the amenities of a hostel, we and a huge proportion of our guests think of it as home and way point for travelers. We prefer simplicity, honesty, spontaneity, sharing, community, common sense, talks, exchange of ideas, to see who you are and what you do - you have all our knowledge and resources at your disposal, as long as you respect the house and the people inside. The house is also ideal if you just want to have a quiet time on your own, bothered by no one, to do your own thing. Stuff that often happens, no schedule or plan though: Hiking trips, cooking, bike & other spontaneous tours around Zagreb. There's always good, local wine to be had here, at this time of the year that will often be mulled or spiced wine. We don't charge for *anything* except your bed, and that's it. LOCATION: We're located 15-20 min. by tram from the center, in a peaceful neighborhood, as well as 15 minutes walking from the nature park 'Grmoscica', located on the foothills of Medvednica, the local mountain. Ideal if you love hiking & nature. Also, for those who are traveling on a budget and have certain skills- if you can and feel like it, you can contribute /upgrade the house in a specific way - we love that (especially the art section has grown in the meantime). You certainly wouldn't be the first. ***PLEASE NOTE:**** The City Tax (7kn per person per night or cca. 1€) is not included in the room price you book . That's all, folks! igor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Mali Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing