We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hostel”
Review of Hostel Mali Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Mali Mrak
Ranked #9 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really nice hostel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff were friendly and the hostel, although its not in the city centre is not far from it and is serviced by frequent trams all day and a night service at night (the tram stop is about a 5min walk away). It felt very safe, the lockers were big (large enough to fit our carry-on sized suitcase, a duffel bag and a backpack) and the room was air conditioned. There was a kitchen, free wifi and two computers, and a piano. The hostel also organizes trips to Plitvice, where you can be picked up and dropped back off right at the hostel and pay the same price as people who organize their Plitvice trip through other means. The only complaint we had was that we often had to wait to use the bathroom, because there was one bathroom per floor and on our floor there were at least 12 beds.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Glad you liked it :) As for the bathrooms - there is 4 in the house, you are not confined to the one on your floor, you just have to walk some stairs up or down. I know, it's a herculean effort :D Thank you, best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
21
33
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Mali Mrak on August 2013 for my honeymoon.
I couldn't expect that we had tons of unforgettable experience there in our presious stay.

You can reach the hostel by 10-15 mins by trum from the train station without changes and 5-10 mins walk to get there. It's located in quiet and safe place. They have clean rooms and lovely garden for all. Guests from all over the world and their staffs enjoy communication and exchange travel info or reviews each other there at the garden. When someone offers foods or wines, we shared everything and talk drink joke, losing track of time...

If you are lucky, you probably have special moment with Igor, a hostel owner. In my last stay, he offered some guests to go to picnik to the river that is in suburb of Zagreb. A young couple from Netherlands, I and my wife joined to the day trip to Karlovac. We were happy to touch local Croatian life and wounderful nature!! (It's just a private, not a regular service by hostel. But you can see some pictures that I took during the excursion if you ask staffs.)


Sometimes It's difficutl for tourists from other country to see a local life, especially at the luxury hotel or at the gorgeous restrant. And then, tourist lost their name and always called "Sir" or "Ma'am". But in this remarkable hostel, guests enter as strangers ... leave as friends. Guests become friend each other with other guests or staffs, and friendship will last forever.
I believe that Mali Mrak provides not only safe accomodation but also precious memory. And that is supported by friendly and helpful staffs and understanding of policy by the polite guests.

I wish you to enjoy a pleasent stay there at Mali Mrak and someday hopefully see you there!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY10583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Fumi, what else can i say? It has been a true pleasure to host you and your wife on your honeymoon. Many good memories. Thank you for the friendship, i hope we meet soon enough :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Thats pretty much sums up everything there!! The atmosphere is inexplicable but super magical. I saw people coming there and they all felt as if they were home. Its super cozy with the coolest garden and the terrace where u can sleep on starry nights.

So pretty much every day we would sit around with the other guests and chat and cook together, have laughs and share thoughts and do crazy things, sing and dance. :D You will never get bored there or if u will, then u can stare the awesome paintings on the walls (or make them).

The staff is really cool,helpful, FUN :Thank you Nika, Ivana, Philip, Fenris and Igor, coz u all are the greatest people(dog) on Earth! <3 And the volunteerslaves there are super amazing also, Boris is tubular!

<3
Janne & Kertu

Room Tip: You will be happy in every room defenetly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
It was quite an unforgettable summer :) Thank you dear!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Best place to stay in Zagreb! Love this hostel!

The staff are incredibly friendly, and the hostel is filled to the brim with interesting people from all over the world. They've really figured out the secret recipe for a great hostel experience by putting their focus on the travelers staying in the hostel. A great, comfortable, affordable place run by wonderful and attentive people. I couldn't recommend it higher.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks Josh, appreciate the recommendation and glad you liked it here with us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I initially chose this place based on other reviews and it just looked cool.
Well my friends and I were not disappointed at all, in fact we found so much more.

I've been to plenty of Hostels that felt like hostels.
This place was like home.
With their incredibly warm and friendly staff, I was truly impressed with how helpful and professional they were as they offered great tips of the city sites and plenty of excellent rec's of restaurants to try.

My first visit of 4 days didn't give it justice, so later in my trip I decided to come back and stay another week and I had an amazing time.

The Mali Mrak isn't just a hostel, it's a beautiful community of fun spirited people.

I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Private room is nice with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
El Capitano, what a pleasure to have you aboard :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

While the facilities at Mali Mrak are quite adequate, they are really not special at all – which makes the unique magic of this hostel all the more special. Mali Mrak has become accepted and loved by alternative travelers by being...well, very accepting and loving of alternative travelers. A very social place, in a quite relaxing and safe-feeling way. My 8 year old daughter absolutely loved getting to a little bit know so many lively and brilliant travelers. And the whole staff is very much identified with the backpacker spirit. Unless you are moving (too) fast, the distance to the center is not a real problem, as trams run quite often. Trust this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
hey, you're welcome! You're daughter's way cooler than you though :D :D Thanks M., see you around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great place to stay and know people form around the world. The hostel was nice and I really enjoyed the atmosphere. The rooms were big and confortable. The bathrooms were clean and everything worked very well. The staff were friendly and they help you for all your needs.
The hostel had an amazing vibes and Igor (the Owner) is simply the best.
I'm pretty sure that i will come back as soon as possible in this wonderful place!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierluigiDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Pierro!! good to read you here, thank you as well :)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.9 mi away
Swanky Mint Hostel
Swanky Mint Hostel
#1 of 153 in Zagreb
342 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
#2 of 153 in Zagreb
469 reviews
3.7 mi away
Funk Lounge Hostel
Funk Lounge Hostel
#6 of 153 in Zagreb
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Taban Bar & Hostel
Taban Bar & Hostel
#5 of 153 in Zagreb
201 reviews
2.7 mi away
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
#14 of 153 in Zagreb
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostel Shappy
Hostel Shappy
#3 of 153 in Zagreb
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mali Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mali Mrak

Property: Hostel Mali Mrak
Address: Dubichka Ulica 8, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi there! If you need a warm, cozy place to stay at, you're welcome here, but please, indulge me and read on first, see what's up here, then make up your mind,ok? Thank you :) Take your time, read some the reviews (there's 1000+), that's what choosing the right hostel for you is about - ESPECIALLY those of unhappy guests because they tell a good story - if you recognize yourself in them, please skip the booking and save us all the trouble, there are things more important than money -spoiled and complicated people are not a thing here :) Also, Mali Mrak is *NOT* a party hostel, we don't do pub crawls, drinking games or similar routines. The house is a simple, clean, warm and cozy place, run by friends, as well as an ongoing ambience & art project, with many contributions and handmade items from different places. While it has all the amenities of a hostel, we and a huge proportion of our guests think of it as home and way point for travelers. We prefer simplicity, honesty, spontaneity, sharing, community, common sense, talks, exchange of ideas, to see who you are and what you do - you have all our knowledge and resources at your disposal, as long as you respect the house and the people inside. The house is also ideal if you just want to have a quiet time on your own, bothered by no one, to do your own thing. Stuff that often happens, no schedule or plan though: Hiking trips, cooking, bike & other spontaneous tours around Zagreb. There's always good, local wine to be had here, at this time of the year that will often be mulled or spiced wine. We don't charge for *anything* except your bed, and that's it. LOCATION: We're located 15-20 min. by tram from the center, in a peaceful neighborhood, as well as 15 minutes walking from the nature park 'Grmoscica', located on the foothills of Medvednica, the local mountain. Ideal if you love hiking & nature. Also, for those who are traveling on a budget and have certain skills- if you can and feel like it, you can contribute /upgrade the house in a specific way - we love that (especially the art section has grown in the meantime). You certainly wouldn't be the first. ***PLEASE NOTE:**** The City Tax (7kn per person per night or cca. 1€) is not included in the room price you book . That's all, folks! igor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Mali Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing