We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, service acceptable, negative: denied external food after restaurant hours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel President Pantovcak
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

+ : Perfect and quiet Location, rooms with ceiling to floor glas window-doors, partly with private terrace, cosy couple Bath tub, helpful staff, beautiful square with outdoor breakfast & coffee place 5min walk (plus Metro Station), Bus stop 101 right outside

- : noisy inside ("hellhörig"), 15,- €/Person for breakfast - decide yourself..., Hotel policy (as we were told) forbid late nite Pizza delivery / bring in after restaurant hours - not understandable

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hightower875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therizbo, General Manager at Hotel President Pantovcak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Thank you for your positive and helpful review. I'm happy that you were pleased with location, rooms and service.
I apologize if something was not as you expected. I am aware of the noisiness problem. Fortunately, it happens only in one of our Classic Rooms, and you might be pleased to know that there are plans for its better soundproofing in near future.
From November till beginning of April we plan to include breakfasts in the room prices for no extra cost.
And yes, it is the hotel policy not to allow external food delivery after restaurant hours because we have excellent 24-hours room service. I believe this is the policy in most four and five star hotels in Europe.
Thank you once again for your positive review.
Sincerely,

Boris Vizintin, Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

If we only stayed one night, my review would have been either “Gee-whizz!” (for fabulous days 1 and 2) or “Disappointing” (for day 3). Yet, despite somewhat mixed experience, we have enjoyed this small stylish boutique hotel.

BOOKING

Made through the hotel’s web-site. They blocked one night rate on my credit card and didn’t release it, even after I paid the bill (in cash). My bank unblocked it automatically in due course.

LOCATION

Normally I would prefer to stay closer to the city centre, but we had a car. Being from a hilly city, we felt it ok to walk all the way up the very steep Pantovcak back to the hotel, but it was no way a short walk from the main Zagreb sights.

PARKING

With rented car, we saw little need in paying for the hotel’s garage, so went for the street parking. This can be a problem in the area. On the day of arrival we were lucky to find a spot on the small parking lot opposite the hotel. But when we were leaving next morning, two drivers rushed to occupy it; so upon return we could only
park on the narrow side lane not far from the hotel. It turned out safe.

HOTEL AND ROOMS

The hotel, situated on the narrow two-lane street, has no pocket for the arriving cars. This is very inconvenient if you need to stop (say, to take out luggage). Also, it’s not quite obvious from the façade that this is it. We missed it upon arrival and had to make a U-turn; the taxi driver we used the other day had to back up. The hotel’s building, modest from the outside, is squeezed between the similar simple houses.

Our pre-impressions improved as soon as we entered. The hotel’s design was lovely. It had an artistic touch in many details, but at the same was relaxing. Public areas, including the bar, were quiet and deserted; we felt like being the only guests (great advantage, in my eyes).

The nicest lady from the front desk was fast to check us in and show to the room. Quiet classic music (from CD player) pleased the ear as we passed by the empty restaurant and descended to our room by winding stairs (there is no elevator).

A complimentary drink was on special offer from the hotel, and we had two full glasses of white wine served in the open air backyard.

Nothing to complain about the room; I liked it a lot. Room design was calm, on a simplistic side, but with very interesting pieces of furniture and elements of decor that caught the eye. Reasonably spacious and clean, with a large comfy bed.

I appreciated ample space around the sink in the bathroom. But the shower was only partially covered by a glass door, so the floor was sometimes wet by the end of bathing. And there was nothing to grab getting out of the wide slippery bath. Toiletries were wonderful. Towels were abundant. Everything was clean.

Back to the room, its glass wall opened to the backyard (not trimmed, so I’m hesitant to call it a garden), which created fantastic rural atmosphere in the middle of the capital city. Although two rooms had access to this garden, separated only by some planters, the one next to ours only got occupied on the eve of our departure, so we enjoyed fabulous evenings in privacy.

This was one of the only 2 hotels out of 6 we stayed in Croatia that offered WiFi in the room; and it was free.

SERVICE

Catastrophic lack of staff is obviously the main problem of this hotel. Few girls seem to be doing the entire job throughout the place – from running the front desk and helping with the luggage to cooking and even plumbing!

As a result, on days 1-2 everything was impeccable; fast and attentive, friendly and nice. And day 3 was a disappointment. Some other guests had problems in their bathroom that the entire staff tried to solve. That was why we weren’t served our breakfast properly, and had to wait for too long to check out.

BREAKFAST

Not included into the room rate. There’s no buffet; you can choose between few sets listed. We took Royal and Continental, surprisingly costing equal EUR15 in the menu, but eventually priced caEUR9 and caEUR15 in the bill.

Though we ordered the same two sets, breakfast quality and quantity in two mornings differed dramatically! The first day it was extremely generous, with good selection of fruits, cheese, meat, jams and bread, plus a huge serving of hot meals. It was cooked by a lady with a brilliant sense of humour who made our day.

The next day we were the second to arrive to the breakfast; and were only served half of the previous day portion (just a few pieces of bread, limited selection of fruits etc). The lady «on duty» that day soon left to settle the bath problems, before we got any hot meals. Having waited for quite a while, we realised it’s best to leave without finishing our breakfast, or we waste half a day.

On day one, CD with quiet classic music was turned on during the breakfast, making the atmosphere in the room intimate and exquisite.

Recommended

Despite polar experience that we had, the overall impression from our relaxing stay was very positive, and I can recommend this hotel in hope that you will be lucky to get the best service it can offer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cora_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therizbo, General Manager at Hotel President Pantovcak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Cora_v,

thank you for your positive and constructive review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
I am very sorry that you had different experience for the last day of your stay. I'm aware of the "bathroom accident" in the other room and our staff was the first aid until the plumber arrived later that morning. I apologize and I agree it should have not interfered with your breakfast. The CD was also supposed to be playing and the portion was supposed to be equally generous as before. We had two new staff members at that time, and I will personally go through their training with them once again, to make sure this doesn't happen again.
From November till April breakfast will be included in prices, and when it comes to 5 minute walk uphill to our hotel, you can take a taxi or a bus which departs every 15 minutes from the British Square (and you exit on the first bus stop). Also, all the cars are allowed to stop on the street directly in front of the hotel to unload the luggage.
When it comes to booking, hotels are obliged to authorize the credit card by reserving the money for the first night of stay. If you have had paid by the same credit card, the money would have been unblocked. Since you paid in cash, we don't have any way of unblocking it. It is made automatically by your bank after 14 days.
Thank you once again for your lovely review,
Sincerely,

Boris Vizintin, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We were very happy with our stay here. Friendly, helpful staff, very comfortable room with a lovely view over the garden and trees and a great atmosphere created by the collection of original artworks and pieces of sculpture and furniture throughout the hotel. Breakfast was very well done with a three course breakfast served to you individually rather than buffet style and a great espresso coffee to go with it. We also had dinner in the hotel's private guest only dining room and this was very well cooked and absolutely delicious. Location wise the hotel is less than a 5 min walk to the nearest square where there are a few cafes and about a 10 to 15 min walk to the main square and major sights in the historic upper town. While it's downhill on the way to the sights, it is a short, moderately steep walk back up the hill on the way back. That said, we noticed where some of the big name hotels were located over in the lower town and they wouldn't have been any less of a walk to the main tourist sights in the upper town anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This small hotel (4 or 5 rooms) is situated on a hill just outside the center of Zagreb. Rooms are different each hotel and very accuraltely decorated. I had one with a small terrace open on a garden with a magnificent view. Breakfast is served at table on a very exclusive room. We felt treated as kings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed at the President hotel for 2 separate nights during our trip to Croatia. The family room was excellent with view over the trees and bushes in the creek which ran between the hotel and the old town. Bathroom was particulrly well appointed. The breakfast was to die for with the same view from the dining room of the trees and all food served to you and prepared specially. Zagreb is just a walk to reach all the sites.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Great small hotel in a modern, well designed split level building. We stayed in room 31 which was on the ground floor and which was large and bright with full length windows opening on to the small garden area. Staff were all hospitality students and were very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast is served at your table in the dining room which overlooks the garden. Hotel is not in the centre of the city but it only takes 10 minute to walk to the main square. Parking is available in a small garage next to the hotel but you need to book in advance. It costs 180kn a day but free parking is available a short distance away.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psandps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

What a wonderful hotel! The hotel is only about a 5+ minute walk to the center of Zagreb and comprises less than 10 rooms I think, and worth every penny. Stay here if you come to Zagreb!
The rooms are beautiful and each looks out to a park-like, wooded area, and it is simply divine and calming. At breakfast each morning, I've been made to feel like their only guest and my every want has been provided.
Although only given 4 stars - I think too many hotels are given 5 stars when they don't deserve it (like the Excelsior Hotel in Dubrovnik) - but this hotel definitely deserves a 4+ star. Absolutely brilliant!

Room Tip: ask for specifics about the room that you will be given; don't make assumptions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.1 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,366 reviews
1.0 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
1.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
939 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President Pantovcak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Pantovcak

Address: Pantovchak 52, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range: £79 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President Pantovcak 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President Pantovcak is an exclusive boutique hotel in the very heart of Zagreb. Located 200 m from British Square, the most picturesque square in Zagreb. This understated and original design-hotel masters the art of stripped back luxury, and offers a stylish urban retreat. This four-star hotel was ranked in top 10 small hotels in Croatia and top 25 Croatian hotels with exceptional service on Tripadvisor® and has won numerous awards, such as “Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016”, “Tripadvisor Travellers’ Choice Award” and “Best Service of Croatian Business Tourism”. WHY TO STAY WITH US: - The first Design Boutique Hotel in Zagreb – we set the standards of luxury and design, which is proved year after year by TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. - Discover the world inside our rooms. Smart LED TVs, artistic installations, paintings from renowned Croatian artists and two-person bath tubs. - Free Airport VIP Shuttle – Arrive with style: To make you arrival even more faster and satisfying, we provide complimentary transfer from Zagreb Airport for all President and Royal Suite reservations. - Indulge in our Champagne Breakfast: in a stunning panoramic treetop restaurant we feature an extravagant buffet with delicacies such as a selection of blue cheese, caviar, smoked salmon, fresh omelets, and a decadent dessert station. - Why not take a peek at the rest of Croatia? With our VIP Shuttle you can now venture out to the best of what this Mediterranean pearl has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel President Pantovcak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing