We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and personalized service, beautiful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel President Pantovcak
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent and personalized service, beautiful boutique hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Apart from being an beautiful and modern boutique hotel, the staff could provide excellent service and made me feel home.
10-15 minutes walking distance from the main touristic attractions in the center, this hotel has the advantage of not being situated right in the center which allows you to avoid some of the morning traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerome0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    42
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
87
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed at Hotel President on July for several nights and LOVED it! I have worked in Hotels for the past ten years and this is the perfect example of excellent service and warm hospitality. We arrived very late after being on a train for hour and was so warmly greeted with a glass of wine waiting for us. Additionally, we were surprised with a complimentary bottle of champagne on the second evening. The rooms were spacious, the outdoor patio area was a great surprise and in the summer a wonderful spot to relax between exploring the city mid-day and dining at night. The staff was warm and accommodating to all our needs. We stayed in a 5-star luxury hotel in Dubrovnik which didn't even come close to matching the superb experience of staying at Hotel President. I would LOVE to come back..

Location was perfect. A quick walk and your right in the center of town. Close enough to everything but far enough removed that you feel like your living where the locals live. We walked into town each day to explore the city and it was perfect. (10mins to the square)

Zagreb is a great city. A real 'people' city. it isn't as touristy as Split and Dubrovnik and everyone is down to earth. Its a city I could move to if ever given the chance! If I ever have the opportunity to visit the beautiful city of Zagreb again, I would be delighted to stay with Hotel President!

Room Tip: Definitely book a room with a garden or patio! It was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris V, General Manager at Hotel President Pantovcak, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Erin,

Thank you for this heart-warming review! We are all thrilled you loved absolutely everything, and with you having worked in Hotels for past ten years this means so much more to us.
We will be equally delighted to have you as our guest again and again.

Warm regards,

Boris Vizintin, Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel evokes mixed emotions. It describes itself as a luxury design hotel, and first impression (esp. on photos) is exactly like this: the hotel is modern, rooms are spacious with wide and comfy beds. Our room (#32) also featured a nice terrace. In the room there's a flat screen TV with lots of cable channels. Staff is quite friendly. This is a truly "boutique" hotel:only 7 guest rooms in it, and it seems a family business.
However, some time after you see some inconsistencies (minor issue as it just contradicts the statement re design & luxury) and experience some discomfort (bigger issue as design / idea sometimes prevails over comfort needed when you stay at a hotel). For example (contradictions with design / luxury): really old & cheap looking hair dryer and safe box in a very modern hotel, key vs plastic card to open a door, etc. But this is minor thing. More important: there is no lift in the hotel, so we had to carry heavy suitcases 2 floors up / down spiral stairs - no help from staff as there we saw only ladies working, no bell boys; very often no one at the reception (since typically only 1 person working in hotel); unusual breakfast set up: you have to sit & wait till being served by 1 person (receptionist!), serving all 6 tables, and she has to do 5-6 'visits' to your table (and the same to others!) to bring the breakfast, which is the same every day and you have no choice of dishes; it would be more convenient for everyone including staff to have either a buffet breakfast, or if they want to be 'luxury' and offer a-la carte, offer a menu to choose from. The hotel is on the hill, so be prepared to walk 5-10 min uphill / downhill, cafes and shops are at the bottom of the hill, nothing of this kind near the hotel. There are other disappointing things at the hotel, so if comfort / freedom of choice, etc means to you more than perception of a designer hotel, I wouldn't recommend to stay at President hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irina_Moscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris V, General Manager at Hotel President Pantovcak, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Irina,

thank you for your review. I'm very glad you liked the design, spacious rooms and comfort we offer.
Still, I must admit no one ever disliked hair dryers and safe deposit boxes before. They are as new as the whole hotel (3 years), and these products are always of the same design, not to mention that safe boxes are hidden in the closets and you don't ever have to look at them.
Regular keys were specifically chosen instead of key cards because they are simpler for guests to handle and we don't want power to go out automatically when you leave your room. This way even if you choose to have it air-conditioned while you're gone, you are free to do so.
Indeed we were not able to install lift because the hotel building cascades down, but for that reason someone will always be there to help you when you're arriving or departing with suitcases. Always fell free to ask help from the staff, they are happy to oblige.
We keep our breakfast personal and individual, that is what sets us apart form other hotels. If you read other comments you can see breakfasts are exactly what all our visitors enjoy the most! I'm sorry if it surprised you or you expected something more regular. If you prefer of course we do have rich A la Carte breakfast, just ask for the Menu.
Kind regards,

Boris Vizintin,
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We selected President Pantovcak largely on the strength of its TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed: this tiny (six rooms!) boutique hotel on the Pantovcak Ulica is indeed a jewel. Not perfect, but close enough for a 5/5 rating.

The entrance is easily found by navigation software, and there is enough room on the street -- by utilizing the sidewalk for parking, Zagreb-style -- to unload the luggage next to the hotel entrance. (You can find free parking on the small side street about 100m away from the hotel entrance.) From here, you can walk to Ban Jelačić Trg (square) in the centre of the city in 15-20 minutes.

Entering the hotel, the reception is furnished in leather and glass, and the staff are both friendly and very helpful. We ended up in a standard room as the deluxe rooms (which are larger and have a balcony) were not available for our stay. The staff were superb, very helpful in getting us settled in our room, pointing out the free parking location, suggesting restaurants and providing tips for sightseeing. Not to mention that 6 AM cappuccino for our early-morning departure!

The rooms, as noted, are not big, but there is a large, comfortable lounge area in the hotel, overlooking the woods below, so this should not be an issue for most people. The furnishings are modern and clean, and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was very good, and the deluxe rooms are better yet in that area (the attached photos are of the standard room and bedroom). The view from the windows or balcony is pleasant, as the hotel backs onto a wooded area, if not particularly scenic. There is no alarm clock as such, but if you don't have your mobile phone with you, you can program the TV to come on at a set time in the morning.

The included continental breakfast, at the gorgeous downstairs breakfast area, was very good: all items were delivered to our table, and we had the choice of eggs cooked in various ways. The coffee (including cappuccino) was very good, and there was a good selection of tea available.

I did say not perfect, though. The pillows, as at so many hotels in Croatia, could use improvement. At a nice boutique hotel such as this one, the choice of foam (which is what is usually included) or feather pillows would be a very nice touch. The second issue is that the nicely designed room doors are unfortunately hollow, and don't block a lot of sound. To resolve this, I recommend selecting a room on the upper floor. And the hotel does have an 11 PM quiet time policy in any case.

We had some extra noise, but had we known about the room selection, it would have been great -- so in the end I decided that President Pantovcak deserves the full 5/5 rating, especially given that the room prices start at just 99 euros.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper or lower floors, not on the main floor, to minimize the noise from the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris V, General Manager at Hotel President Pantovcak, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your excellent review! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel so much and that you found it outstanding. Customer reviews were the right way to make your choice.
I'm sorry you didn't have the opportunity to see other rooms, they are all quite larger and have terraces. We'll have to change that next time you visit us.
Instead of the alarm clock our staff will be happy to provide you with a wake-up call, just remember to ask them.
Good point about the pillows. We do have foam pillows and provide them to guests who tell us they are allergic to feathers. It never occurred to us to offer them as a choice to everybody, we just might start doing that.

Thank you once again and warm regards,

Boris Vizintin,
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This hotel exceeded all my expectations. A beautiful building,comforable rooms, excellent staff, and amazing breakfast make for an unforgetable stay.
Not too far from the city centre using trams but far enough to be both a peaceful retreat and a place to unwind.
All staff exceptionally helful in all respects, especially Andrea who was absolutely outstanding in terms of her professionalism and friendliness.
Would stay here again with out hesitation!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet , but be aware there are a few stairs which should not be a problems considerin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights when we visited in May 2012. The rooms were beautiful, and the service was excellent. Our room had a pretty patio overlooking the woods. Breakfast was amazing. The staff was so very helpful in making recommendations about sights to see in and around Zagreb. I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my mother. The hotel is hidden in what appears to be a bit of a grotty road but which is actually the road where the president lives. One down side is taht it is up a steep hill - but if you dont want to walk up it at the end of a busy day just jump on the bus which waits at the bottom and go up for 2 stops. The hotel is really a hidden gem. Its a beautiful boutique hotel which is really nicely furnished. Our room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious. We had a huge deck which is covered by a sail canopy. The breakfasts are superb - fresh fruit, meats and cheese and lovely fresh bread. We ate in twice and although the menu is simple it is well cooked. Andrea makes wonderful fresh soups and Kristina makes pastry to die for - try the apple pie. The staff are really lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them. We have friends who live just outside Zagreb and I will definately be going back to this hotel with my husband next year. One request - you need a small pool to make great into perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therizbo, General Manager at Hotel President Pantovcak, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Karin,

thank you so much for taking time to write this wonderful review, your satisfaction makes all of us on Hotel President staff sincerely happy!
I just have one remark considering the bus ride: if you want to skip 5 minute walk uphill, on Britanski Trg buses depart every 15 minutes (lines 101 and 138) and stop right in front of the hotel. Hotel is the first bus stop from Britanski Trg (not second). It is indeed very convenient!
I couldn't agree more about the pool! There is already a designed space in the garden for an outdoor jacuzzi and we hope to have it in near future.
I dare to say you have friends in our hotel also :). Andrea and Kristina are thanking you for your compliments, and we are all looking forward to seeing you again as our guest.

Kind regards,

Boris Vizintin, Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.1 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
1.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President Pantovcak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Pantovcak

Property: Hotel President Pantovcak
Address: Pantovchak 52, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President Pantovcak 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President Pantovcak is an exclusive boutique hotel in the very heart of Zagreb. Located 200 m from British Square, the most picturesque square in Zagreb. This understated and original design-hotel masters the art of stripped back luxury, and offers a stylish urban retreat. This four-star hotel was ranked in top 10 small hotels in Croatia and top 25 Croatian hotels with exceptional service on Tripadvisor® and has won numerous awards, such as “Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016”, “Tripadvisor Travellers’ Choice Award” and “Best Service of Croatian Business Tourism”. WHY TO STAY WITH US: - The first Design Boutique Hotel in Zagreb – we set the standards of luxury and design, which is proved year after year by TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. - Discover the world inside our rooms. Smart LED TVs, artistic installations, paintings from renowned Croatian artists and two-person bath tubs. - Free Airport VIP Shuttle – Arrive with style: To make you arrival even more faster and satisfying, we provide complimentary transfer from Zagreb Airport for all President and Royal Suite reservations. - Indulge in our Champagne Breakfast: in a stunning panoramic treetop restaurant we feature an extravagant buffet with delicacies such as a selection of blue cheese, caviar, smoked salmon, fresh omelets, and a decadent dessert station. - Why not take a peek at the rest of Croatia? With our VIP Shuttle you can now venture out to the best of what this Mediterranean pearl has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President Pantovcak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing