We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot for reasonable money”
Review of Hotel Croatia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Croatia
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lot for reasonable money”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had a two day stopover in Zagreb on our trip to the sea in August '12 and found Hotel Croatia to be very well suited for accommodating a family with kids which wants comfortable and clean rooms for a reasonable price. Although the hotel is not located in the very city center it is easy to get to the center by using the tramway (3 stops and five minutes only) or walking (15 minutes). There's a little park close by for keeping kids happy, a pizzeria offering good quality for little money opposite the street and plenty of coffee bars and little grocers open till evening in the neighborhood. Nothing fancy though, but all proper and friendly. The latter especially applies to the hotel staff: Everybody in charge during our stay was very very friendly, helpful and nice. Parking is available in the back of the hotel. One hint for making your breakfast better: Ask for your coffee to be prepared in the hotel's own coffee bar instead of drinking the dreadful liquid provided by the self service coffee machine in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Front side top level (301 if I am right) offers a nice balcony which is even safe for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoodiMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    46
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
47
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I was very impressed by the cleanliness and nice interior of the rooms and bathroom (which was very spacious + with a window). Very nice room interior. I stayed for 2 nights. The staff was very helpful - even ironed a shirt for me. The breakfast was not that great, but I would definately stay here again. Great value for money and the location was also perfect. The tram stop for trams going downtown is only a few meters away. It is also possible to walk to the centre, this takes about 15-20 minutes. Plus the hotel offers parking in the back, which is very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Hotel Croatia was spotless and very new. We travelled on leisure and liked the proximity to the city centre and the good connection on the tram. The staff were very friendly and gave us good advice on things to do.
The parking is very handy as well.

We had a room to the front and found the road outside noisy at times but we like to leave the window open, so it is normally ok.

Would definitely return when going to Zagreb!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BBMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I really likes this hotel very modern, clean and comfortable. The bed was divine. It was reasonably priced in a fairly convenient location. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel doesn't exceed the expectations, but it meets them in every single point. And when we talk about hotels the worst you can have is a place that breaks the promises. So this one definitely deserves a praise.
Location - small and calm street means perfect quality of sleep. In the same time the centre is at not more than 20 minutes walk. For those lazy tourists there is a station of the tram and the tram network is a great way to explore Zagreb. There is also a nice park nearby and everything else you can possibly need - store, restaurants, bars...
Cleanliness - the hotel is new, so highest marks here. Even critical place like the bathroom is spotless.
Amenities - deposit box in the room, good TV, free Wi-Fi with a nice speed... It's not a SPA luxury, so that's enough. Well, worth mentioning the bed - I slept great.
Food - breakfast is tasty. The room where they place it is pretty small though, so better avoid the rush morning hour. Haven't tried to get a dinner there, but must be good - there's almost no bad place to eat in Zagreb...
Staff - friendly people, ready to help and the girl at the reception is touching with her broken English and the obsession to say sorry about every little problem :)
Few Zagreb tips:
1. Don't miss Slasticarnica Vincek - the combination of 1 scoop of hazelnut ice cream and 1 scoop 'Vincek' (well, make them 2 of each if you don't worry about getting weight) is something to kill for
2. Get to Strossmartre - starting point at the Funicular. The view, the beer, the calm feeling of every bench...
3. Visit the Museum of broken relationships - and that's from not the biggest museums' fan... Small exhibition, ordinary stuff, but some great stories hidden behind.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BGLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

It was my first trip to Croatia, and the reservation was made by a friend from Zagreb, so I was confident it would fall within my budget and be a nice place. It was: spotlessly clean and soberly functional. Wi-fi (important to me) and a typical European breakfast were included. The staff doesn't speak much English, but between my sign language and their limited English we got on just fine. The hotel is close enough to a line of the very efficient trolley system that getting around that way was better than hauling out the car I had rented--parking in the city is a challenge.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmoncure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Among a lot of different hotels in Zagreb,this is a Hotel which deserves more than three stars.The comfort is very good ,expecially of the bathrooms.The beds are high quality and the hotel is situated in a quiet street , not very far from the center of the town- Ban Jelacic square..By feet 20 minutes,by tram less then 10 minutes,depending on the traffic light colour.The Hotel is completelly new,so you can't make a mistake if you choose it.

Room Tip: Forgett about the noise,even if you have the room on the street side.The windows are very good isola...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ado677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
2.0 mi away
Hotel Jarun
Hotel Jarun
#16 of 58 in Zagreb
189 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#26 of 58 in Zagreb
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Loop Hotel
The Loop Hotel
#14 of 58 in Zagreb
79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#20 of 58 in Zagreb
300 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Stella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia

Property: Hotel Croatia
Address: Vinogradska Cesta 20, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croatia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of historical town Zagreb, three tram stations far away from main Ban Jelacic′s square, brand new hotel Croatia opened its doors. Close to many cultural and historical attractions, business centers, places for shopping and entertainment, Hotel Croatia is perfect choice for take a break during your trip. The hotel has 18 spacious, comfortable and modern rooms (with two beds). Room facilities: non-smoking rooms, bathroom: shower/tub, hairdryer, desk and chairs, LCD TV, direct phone line, free wireless internet, minibar, safe, air conditioning, smoke detector, SOS alarm, wake up service, room service. TRAFFIC: tram station: 100 m, bus station: 3.5 km, railway station: 2.5 km, airport: 18 km, exit from the city-motorway: 8 km. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Croatia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing