We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated hotel, subpar service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overrated hotel, subpar service”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This is one of the very few times I strongly disagree with the majority of tripadvisor reviews. This gorgeous hotel is in a wonderful location, and the rooms are beautiful, but my praise ends there. This hotel has a long history and a litany of famous guests- I assume that is why the service is so poor and the staff so indifferent to guests needs. From the moment my husband and I checked in, the staff was unpleasant and unhelpful. At one point, we asked the concierge to call a tour we were planning on attending. The concierge did so, and found that the number was disconnected. And that was that. There was no offer to help us find an alternate tour, no recommendations, no help of any kind. Also, unlike any other hotel I have encountered in Europe, Regent Esplande did not include breakfast in the price of the room. It was 20 euros per person, which is obscene even for a 5 star hotel. Perhaps I am not the right guest for this hotel- one of the famous amenities is the heated marble floors in the bathroom. While the bathroom was certainly beautiful, I think a heated floor is completely superflous, and adds nothing to the quality of my stay. I'll take friendly service and a warm atmosphere any day over such perks. To be fair- the price is very good for a 5 star hotel. (though parking was very expensive)

Room Tip: A basic room was very large. I don't see any reason to spring for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagogirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Regent-Esplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Golly, we sure rattled your cage but I really am so sorry we clearly let ourselves down here. As you can see fom other reviews, our service levels have a pretty good reputation but we don't profess to be perfect and I do encourage anyone to get in touch with me - stand in the middle of the lobby and shout if necessary - if things aren't going your way. We're in the hospitality business and we just want you to be happy, it's that simple. But no excuses, if we didn't deliver, it's just not good enough.

A word about the breakfast - we do have breakfast-included rates available, all the time. But we respect that some guests don't want these so we have room only rates available too. There's no small print, no deceit, we just want you to have the choice. A less expensive breakfast option is also available in the Bistro and we do advertise that fairly visibly in the lobby.

I agree with you, friendliness beats everything hands down and it's what we try to do and, again, I'm sorry we appeared to so grumpy when you were here.

Do feel free to shout at me retrospectively.
Regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,900
    535
    108
    39
    15
See reviews for
395
1,087
121
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I have kept returing to the RE and I'm happy to report that they have still not managed to disappoint me. It's still one of my favorite hotels.
The only thing I would comment on is that they really need to invest in new TV sets, as it kind of ruins the otherwise premium quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moncic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Regent-Esplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thanks for the review and it's fantastic to hear we still manage to get it right for you, that's always much more difficult! The TVs - I know, I know - our owners have promised me they'll be changed very soon and we are just waiting on sign-off on the new ones.
Regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I was amazed by this hotel. I've tried few hotels in Zagreb before, but I have been surprised that for a similar price I can also get the splendid opulence of the Regent Esplanade. The hotel is very nice historical building located in the city center next to the main railway station. The rooms are very nice with hard wood furniture, comfortable beds, silent air conditioning and all marble bathroom.The breakfast selection is good with the key highlight being special items, which you can order for free - various types of omelets or pancakes. It should be noted that the hotel restaurant is one of the best restaurants in town, in not the best out of best. Still can't believe that I have paid less than 100 EUR per night with breakfast in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Regent-Esplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thanks for the review. Good to hear that all was well and I hope we've converted you for future visits to Zagreb now. Regarding your note about breakfast, we serve all hot dishes from the kitchen rather than from a buffet because we think the quality is better this way. We have a menu to act as a guide but we're always willing to go off-piste for those who like something different. I'm biased of course, but I've yet to have a meal in Zagreb as good as the ones I've had in our restaurant and our aim is not to be 'just a hotel dining room' but have the best restaurant in the city in its own right.
Hope to see you again.
Regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This hotel was special from the moment we first walked in. Each and every staff member made us feel welcome. Our room was spacious; the bed, with it's fluffy pillows, was one of the most comfortable ever; and the marble bathroom was large enough for two. The breakfast buffet was delicious....and eating it on the terrace was sublime. This hotel definitely deserves it's 5-star rating (and, by prepaying with an on-line booking company, we were able to stay here at 3-star prices).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temuskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Regent-Esplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thanks for the wonderful review. It's so good to hear you were made to feel special, it's what we try to do. It's worth noting that there are great rates available on our web-site too!
Regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

A very good hotel with a lot of style. Friendly reception. Nice room at the last floor, a bit small maybe. Spotless everywhere. Nice bathroom, but the shower, with a sloping low roof, isn't enough high (and I'm not tall). Internet for free.

The hotel is located just near the train station. You can go to the old city by foot (10 minutes).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citrouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Regent-Esplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thanks for the review and I'm glad you liked it. Sorry about the bathroom, I'm only too aware of the bathroom in question and, as I've said on many occasions on this site, there are one or two nooks and crannies in this building, so, if you're not completely satisfied, please do tell us and we'll try to put it right.
Regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wollongong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I along with our 2 adult children stayed here for 2 nights when we landed in Zagreb. We booked in advance based on the tripadvisor recommendations. We are so pleased we did. The hotel is quite luxurious with classical and stylish fittings. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. We had a great stay and found the staff very helpful and English was no problem. The girl that works in the health spa is brilliant. We highly recommend the deep tissue massage- the best ever. Hurts for a day but so worth it. We ate at their restaurant on the last night and it was one of our most enjoyable experiences in Croatia. We want to return to Croatia just to stay at Regent in Zagreb. Zagreb is a great city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starbord_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Regent-Esplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you so much for this and it's lovely to hear it was so good. We always get really good comments about the team in the Health Club, so this is great and they're very pleased with this. Other readers should note that there are more gentle treatments available!
Regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I booked the Regent Esplanade for the last night of our vacation in Croatia and Slovenia. It was a fitting end to a fabulous 2 1/2 weeks. I had hoped the hotel would live up to the great reviews on Trip Advisor, and it surely did. We arrived in Zagreb early, in order to drop off our rental car at the agency which closed at noon. We arrived at the hotel nearly 4 hours before check-in time, but of course our room was available ... not only that but as it was my birthday we were upgraded to a Deluxe Room. The hotel is gorgeous and has a sense of history which makes it all the more special. We went sightseeing, and upon our return a waiter appeared at our room with a lovely dessert on a silver tray, complete with Happy Birthday written in chocolate! This is a hotel that goes all out to make their guests feel special. As we had a very early start the next morning we enjoyed dinner in the Bistro, rather than Zinfandel's, but the service was friendly and professional, and dinner was great. Our stay went much too quickly, but will be remembered fondly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank echoisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Regent-Esplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Many thanks for posting this. The pressure's always on when expectations are high so it's great to hear we surpassed them.
Regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing