We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would give it a 6-star rating if I could”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would give it a 6-star rating if I could”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have stayed several times at the Regent Esplanade and I can truly say that this is a real 5-star hotel and experience. Everything is spotless, old-world glamour, decadent. The rooms are huge, the bed is huge and comfortable with soft sheets. The bathrooms are gleaming, all marble with a bathtub and rainshower and proper turn-down service. Breakfast is truly spectacular (and probably the reason I keep coming back!). Home-made cakes, a selection of local hams, cheese, smoked salmon, cereal, warm dishes made to order (try the "shtrukle" , they're famous for them!). You name it they have it! Service is attentive and discreet and no problems at check-in or check-out. Last time I had a room facing a large square and fountain and it was just beautiful. During all my travels, I have never stayed at a better hotel and doubt I ever will. What makes a difference at The Esplanade is the attention to detail. Truly worth every penny!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, however there was one that had an open style shower/bathroom set-up that I wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDStravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,835
    512
    101
    35
    13
See reviews for
375
1,034
117
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

We arrived quite late and missed the normal dining hours but the hotel put up a nice dinner for our group in no time. The decor of the rooms are excellent apart from the pre-LCD TV. It's within walking distance to the Heart of the city. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Homantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hotel is quite decadent and very striking.everything was spotlessly clean.The bed was very comfortable and we liked the little touch of the biscuits every night and turning the coversdown for us.Although the hotel is close to the railway station it couldn't be heard from the room.No tea or coffee making facilities in the room so we brought our own.
The trams run 24 hours close by, are very reasonable and make getting around the city very easy

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pensioner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Loved everything about this hotel. From the reception to the concierge to room service everything was exemplary - can't recommend this hotel highly enough! Zagreb is a beautiful and friendly city and the Esplanade encapsulates this perfectly - will return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I'm a recurring business traveller staying at the Esplanade. It is probably the best hotel in Zagreb: an old but well renovated ArtDeco hotel, and in an excellent location. It's very pleasant and relaxing just to be there; and enjoy breakfast in its sunny restaurant if you have the time or have a coffee at the bar.

It has a nice fitness centre open 24 hours (very handy) and they offer a great selection of massage treatment (sorry I never had the time to try it but they way it’s presented I’m convinced it must be great).

The staff is very welcoming and they try to do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Most rooms are excellent but they are not the same quality: if you like to open the windows and have natural lights, there are some roomes to be avoided (see my comments), also not all rooms have been upgraded yet.

Overall, excellent business hotel and I'm sure it's just as good for pleasure as well.

Room Tip: - avoid rooms with a view to the courtyard they are generally darker and also have strong A/C unit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank new_horizons_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed a night at superior king room. At first, I felt the room was a bit small because of pendent walls. However eventually I felt really comfortable because they became like blindfold board not to be visible externally. I also liked wide closet, which looked enough room for a suit case! I checked in around 21:30 and it was a bit too late to dine out so that I ordered room service, soup and schnitzel. They were served in about 15 minutes and amazingly delicious!! Also single-flower vase, cloth-covered table.. Everything was fine. Of course the staff, reception, furniture, amenity goods and environment were the best without any question:-)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

One of the best hotel experiences I have.

There was a huge bed and huge (literally) bathroom areas at the room I stayed. Everything was fantastic and I have no any bad memory about the hotel and service.

Hotel staffs were fantastic; they were always kind and helped as appropriately.

I will absolutely pick Regent again if I go Zagreb in future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ino-1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 58 in Zagreb
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing