We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regent Esplanade - truly fit for Regents!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Regent Esplanade - truly fit for Regents!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I had occasion to stay in the regent Esplanade Hotel in Zagreb in late April for 2 nights while on a business trip. Whata wonderful experience! Superlatives fail me in describing just how good this hotel is. Excellence prevails on all fronts - friendliness of Staff, quality of accommodation, range and quality of food, and all round excellence in the facilities of the hotel. This hotel oozes the highest standards in Hotel services. It is a shining example of what a 5 star hotel should be, and is a credit to the owners, management and staff. If you're heading to Zagreb, and want to be treated like a Regent, than the Regent Esplanade is the only place to go. I can't wait to get back again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatMMornington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    503
    100
    34
    13
See reviews for
366
1,009
113
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Amazing! Everyone is so friendly there. Especially the guy who managed the restaurant. He suggested dishes for us to try and talked to us about the city and gave us a lot of brochures about the city. The room is great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is undoubtedly the best hotel in Zagreb, and we paid $126 AUD a night (stayed 2 nights) for 5 star luxury. We wished we could have stayed longer. The room was a generous size, the bathroom stunning - art deco fittings with a modern shower and a good size. We didn't have much interaction with the staff due to our brief stay, but the check-in guy was friendly and answered our questions about the hotel which he has probably had to answer hundreds of times (originally built for the Orient Express passengers and the first hotel in Zagreb). Right next to the train station so not far to drag suitcases, and a 15 minute walk or 5 minute tram ride to the main part of town.
If you stay in Zagreb there is really no reason to go to a different hotel unless you are on a serious budget, but I don't think there is another hotel anywhere that offers this amount of luxury for the cost.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Located just 5 minutes walk from the center of Zagreb, this luxury hotel provides everything you need. The service is amazing, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the entire hotel looks very old school classic.
I really can't say anything bad about it. Maybe just the fact that the gym could use some upgrading.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonatanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at Regent 4/10-13 with wife and college age daughter. Could not have been more impressed with personnel, service and amenities. Our triple on the second floor was more than adequate. Hotel concierges ( "Tom" and "Barry") were true professionals, gave us great advice on day trip to Opajia, organized our city tours (by Segway!!) -- provided street maps and direcections by foot and car as needed - but most impressed in that they greeted us by name every time we came in the door. Although the hotel is aging, it is well cared for and the employees seem to recognize that they are "stewards" of a very special facility. If you like historic buildings (built to accomodate Orient Express passengers) with a lot of class - this one is for you. I am a big fan of the Regent brand and have stayed in their newer properties in Kowloon and Shanghai - this hotel is every bit their equal. Highly recommend it to travelers who have the budget and desire for five star grand accomodations - given the level of service - it is actually a reasonable value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank defman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murska Sobota, Slovenia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

There isnt much to say about this one. Good location, nice interior etc. the breakfast buffet isnt bad but its not worth 24 eur per head.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iztok P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

During the Easter break I spent a night at the Regent with my family as we took a short break in beautiful Zagreb. The property's exterior and public areas are art-deco-delightful, the rooms are spacious though less attractive than the public areas. The Le Bistro restaurant is definitely one of the better restaurant I have tried in Croatia (and my father is from there...) and the service at the restaurant was world class. The continental breakfast included in the room rate was definitely at par with other grand hotels in Europe...a negative comment? When we asked for a restaurant recommendation we were sent to an Italian restaurant...when in Rome...but when in Zagreb, do as the Croats do!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing