We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs Some Upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Needs Some Upgrading”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a grand hotel with interesting history. The restaurants were very good. But the hotel looks tired. It's in need of modernization while maintaining its charm. Some of the (older) concierge staff are among the worst I've experienced. Their standard response is "no", but when pushed a solution is begrudgingly found. Go out if your way to find the younger staff. The check in service was excellent.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    503
    100
    34
    13
See reviews for
366
1,009
113
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the Esplanade Zagreb at the beginning and end of our Croatian driving holiday. We had chosen it because the rental car we had arranged (Oryx) had an office there. The hotel was excellent! The check-in process was efficient and friendly and our room was spacious and comfortable. That first afternoon my mobile phone was stolen at the Stone Gate and the hotel were very helpful in directing us to the Police Station to make our report and were generally very supportive. Breakfast was good and we ate in both the restaurants - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,033 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 694 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I wish there was a 4.5 rating. But since there are things to better, it can wait for the 5th star on a future visit.

Good:
Location: near the train station and within walking distance of the sights & museums
At less than $200 a night, it is a good value for this kind of hotel in Central Europe.
Wifi - automatic
Toiletries from l'Occitane
Double vasque, shower and bath + robe & slippers
Excellent bed - good windows, I didn't hear the trains despite being on that side
Good service at the reception

Could be better:
Super old TV
Carpet looks pretty tired and shabby, under curtains had remnants of plaster on them and were not really white/clean
Our eggs were forgotten - we waited for 20 mn and had to re-order.

Notes:
Breakfast is delicious but overpriced if you are not super hungry. If you take the salmon egg Benedict, a lot of fruits, champagne, etc and make it a brunch, it can be worth it but for a regular breakfast 24 euros or so is just too much.
Some rooms have a view on the courtyard instead of the street. Be sure to ask for what you prefer. The double windows work fine for a street view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard, especially in lower floors can be dark. Ask for 5th floor or higher, on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Esplenade Hotel Zagreb after reading about it's history and refurb in a travel magazine. I like old style Grand hotels and this proved to be no exception.
From the moment I arrived the staff were helpful and courteous and made me feel very welcome. They had kindly upgraded my room so I benefitted from one at the front with the best views eastwards out over the square and with the morning sun. As it was my first time in Zagreb Tom the concierge became my 'personal' advisor and helped point me in the right direction for whatever I was looking for.
I drank in the bar and had tea on the terrace but I didn't take breakfast or dinner at the hotel as I was out exploring.
I would readily go back to the Esplenade and Zagreb - both were highly enjoyable experiences and ones I'd be very glad to repeat. I felt I received excellent value for money and Zagreb as a city has lots to offer a visitor for a short break. The weather was so perfect that it kept me outside and therefore from visiting the wide choice of museums and galleries which just gives me an excuse to go back again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this classic, exquisite hotel. We had a spacious room complete with a refrigerator mini-bar, free wifi, robes, slippers, and even a complementary shoe shine service. The large bathroom had a huge bathtub, a separate stall shower, double sinks, an array of soaps and shampoos, and large, sumptuous towels. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. The location by the train station is convenient if you are using the train, and it is only a ten minute walk to the main square. The only downside to our entire stay was the overpriced breakfast we had--it was approximately $35 per person extra. Our advice is to stay at this hotel if you go to Zagreb, but eat breakfast elsewhere as we did our second morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 298DickZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

There is nothing quite like being awoken at 4am to the shrill sound of a heart attack inducingly loud alarm advising you there is an emergency and to evacuate the room. When I and other guests straggled down to the lobby we were told it was a 'technical problem ... this happens' and we could return back. Trying to get back to sleep after that - pretty much impossible. This event colors my entire experience of the hotel. It is gorgeous and the rooms are nicely appointed with the odd exception of the TV sets as others have pointed out. It also is a bit of a walk to the city center which is really worth seeing. Breakfast buffet was rather limited in terms of the hot item selection although you could order a few things they would bring to your table.

So, because of an absolutely horrible night I will not return to this hotel again and would reccomend finding an alternate location closer to the city center where you can get a good night of sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I arrived by train and so the Esplanade was in a perfect location: a short walk from the station without getting rail noise. It is also very walkable from the Esplanade to the main sights and restaurants and parks of Zagreb. A beautiful classic hotel. Well worth the indulgence

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Abrdngy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing