We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a couple of times and it has always been an enjoyable experience. The rooms are large and well appointed. The service is attentive and friendly. The breakfast buffet is packed with great quality fresh food plus ala card omelettes & pancakes. Good central location. Our choice of hotel when staying in Zagreb.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,771
    491
    96
    34
    13
See reviews for
365
988
113
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful art deco building with a great terrace outside for fine dining. Very varied breakfast buffet with good coffee. Not your typical watery cup of filter.Friendly staff. Good room service, too. Location ok - short walk into town, next to the train station but I couldn't hear any noise from it.
Downside - big old telly with bad reception. No pool

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel very much. Great service, atmosphere and price. Highly recommend for travelers to Zagreb.

Good location to downtown shops and restaurants. Also in good location to go site seeing in Zagreb.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

On my trip to Zagreb I was treated to a truly great dinner in this fabulous restaurant. Seeing the Esplanade across the square in its full glory raises expectations, but the chef and staff performed very well. The selection of local wines was a find!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Flogard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a grand hotel with interesting history. The restaurants were very good. But the hotel looks tired. It's in need of modernization while maintaining its charm. Some of the (older) concierge staff are among the worst I've experienced. Their standard response is "no", but when pushed a solution is begrudgingly found. Go out if your way to find the younger staff. The check in service was excellent.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the Esplanade Zagreb at the beginning and end of our Croatian driving holiday. We had chosen it because the rental car we had arranged (Oryx) had an office there. The hotel was excellent! The check-in process was efficient and friendly and our room was spacious and comfortable. That first afternoon my mobile phone was stolen at the Stone Gate and the hotel were very helpful in directing us to the Police Station to make our report and were generally very supportive. Breakfast was good and we ate in both the restaurants - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I wish there was a 4.5 rating. But since there are things to better, it can wait for the 5th star on a future visit.

Good:
Location: near the train station and within walking distance of the sights & museums
At less than $200 a night, it is a good value for this kind of hotel in Central Europe.
Wifi - automatic
Toiletries from l'Occitane
Double vasque, shower and bath + robe & slippers
Excellent bed - good windows, I didn't hear the trains despite being on that side
Good service at the reception

Could be better:
Super old TV
Carpet looks pretty tired and shabby, under curtains had remnants of plaster on them and were not really white/clean
Our eggs were forgotten - we waited for 20 mn and had to re-order.

Notes:
Breakfast is delicious but overpriced if you are not super hungry. If you take the salmon egg Benedict, a lot of fruits, champagne, etc and make it a brunch, it can be worth it but for a regular breakfast 24 euros or so is just too much.
Some rooms have a view on the courtyard instead of the street. Be sure to ask for what you prefer. The double windows work fine for a street view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard, especially in lower floors can be dark. Ask for 5th floor or higher, on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing