We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing history”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Zagreb, a nice city where I like to stay on my travels.

What a nice place to discover in Zagreb,,,

The Hotel has an amazing history... and You can see it almost anywhere You look.

This was my first visit, but it will not be the last.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,833
    511
    101
    35
    13
See reviews for
374
1,033
117
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was a beautiful hotel, and we were lucky enough to have 5* accommodation at 3* prices! We were off season and it started snowing while we were there, which just made everything look incredible. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, and we were very pleasantly surprised indeed by the restaurant, which served fabulous food (the best tuna tartare I've ever tasted, anywhere in the world), and some wonderful local wines. Add to that the spa in the bottom, and this is the perfect place to go!

We stayed only one night, but would certainly have stayed more if we could because this is a delightful hotel in a City that was great fun. And only 2 hours from London!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here for one night and wished I could have stayed longer! The hotel is a beautiful art deco building with acres of marble situated close to the train station and about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Zagreb. The room I had was wonderful - a good size with a separate but open bathroom complete with L'Occitane toiletries. My only gripe was the TV: c'mon, it's 2013, a hotel of this standard needs flat screens and not the enormous old relic in the room. I spent time at the bar where the staff were friendly and took pride in creating a selection of cocktails. Breakfast was superb, but yes I was told €24 unless pre-booked. Added to the room rate it was an extra €5. Well worth it, there were bottles of fizz next to the fruit juice and full waiter service with orders from menu. Taxis arranged by hotel reasonably priced and immaculate. Again, was very sad to checkout and to move to a business hotel on the outskirts of Zagreb. The spa and gym both looked amazing but I didn't get a chance to try them. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here for couple of days for our honeymoon. The bathroom was amazing, amenities, hotel employees and service were wonderful. The bed was very Ikea-type firm mattress, was very uncomfortable. Otherwise, it was one of the best hotels in Croatia.

Also, the location was convenient and central to everything you need within walking distance to city, museums, railway system to get to other cities and restaurants. There is a beautiful park nearby, it was nice walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milka t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Excellent hotel in a great part of the city with all the amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
Our room was great with the nicest bathroom ever.
We didn't have the breakfast as we thought it was overly expensive at 24 Euros per person.
We had a fabulous dinner in the hotel restaurant.
And drinks in the bar each night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
390 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a couple of times and it has always been an enjoyable experience. The rooms are large and well appointed. The service is attentive and friendly. The breakfast buffet is packed with great quality fresh food plus ala card omelettes & pancakes. Good central location. Our choice of hotel when staying in Zagreb.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful art deco building with a great terrace outside for fine dining. Very varied breakfast buffet with good coffee. Not your typical watery cup of filter.Friendly staff. Good room service, too. Location ok - short walk into town, next to the train station but I couldn't hear any noise from it.
Downside - big old telly with bad reception. No pool

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 58 in Zagreb
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing