We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yep, has it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yep, has it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My second time here and absolutely nothing to complain about. This is luxury standard, but exceptional value at the same time. The rooms are well-appointed and spacious. For drivers, the valet parking system works well even if you don't get a smile with the service. Wi-fi is free and works throughout the hotel (I'm not sure how secure it is though, because passwords are not required). Locationally, I'm not sure you would want much better - not directly part of all the action, but close enough to it. The special touch for me was Reception - the friendliness level when checking in and out was superb. You expect courtesy, but this appeared to me to be genuine friendliness. Overall, great stuff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,774
    491
    97
    34
    13
See reviews for
365
990
113
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

An amazing hotel in a fascinating city! Central location with a wonderful opulent and decadent air - well worth staying in this lovely hotel. Easy to access some great restaurants and excellent nightlife including good bars and dance clubs.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiechck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great hotel in a great location! The hotel is walking distance to everything in the city (although the city is not very big).
Rooms are huge compared to other 'standard' hotel rooms around Europe and not expensive. Dinner in the hotel was fantastic, although we opted not to have breakfast in the hotel because it was very expensive and there is a supermarket in the shopping centre just outside (underground) the hotel. We had kept some of our own breakfast foods in our mini bar.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for four nights at this beautiful hotel. The location is walking distance from the main Zagreb rail station and to the main city square. The classic art decor of the reception, hallways, rooms, bars are truly spectacular. The hotel seems to be a magnet for glamourous europeans, one of the few places that we felt a tad bit underdressed but then again we are Aussie tourists so we do stand out a mile away! Back to the room - spacious and high pressure shower is nice. Hotel staff are polite and professional. Had dinner one night at the cafe (bit pricey compared to other restaurants in Zagreb) but the meal was delicious. Enjoy a coffee one morning in the bar, well worth it. Finally, as it was Christmas time the entire hotel had a distinct apple/cinnamon aroma which was quite homely and pleasant. Will definitely stay again at this grand old hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is an exceptional hotel - and worthy of being a stop-off point for travellers on the Orient Express, as was historically the case. It's a great time for UK travellers to take advantage of the very good exchange rate for the pound sterling, which makes a most impressive hotel affordable. We paid for a suite, which was stunning, overlooking the gardens outside, and just around the corner from the tram stop. The shops are a few minutes walk away, but it's clean, it's very safe, and it's cheerful around the streets of Zagreb.

The hotel itself is pure opulence and the staff are extremely well trained and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble, and the standard of spoken English were some of the best in any European hotel we've stayed at.

One minor drawback is that the breakfast service finishes at 10am, which seems quite early for such a splendid hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 339334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,528 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel was located near the main staion in Zagreb, approx three-minute walk. The reception is large and there were always a lot of people such as business persons or those who related to the wedding ceremony. The room was spacious and comfortable. The price were relatively lower cost, approx 100 EUR per night because of the advance payment. Worth of staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
309 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed three nights at this lovely hotel - was able to walk here with my luggage the evening I arrived at the train station. It's close (you can see the hotel to the left when you're standing outside the station, looking toward the town). Loved the décor - nice, pleasant staff (low-key). My room was large, lovely, and so comfortable. There's a fancy high-end restaurant (ate here one night), and also a more casual, less expensive café (where I ate two nights). Friendly staff at the café made me feel very welcome and at home (thanks Monica!). Breakfast was very nice - good selection and well presented. (It was included with my room package.) While I was there some sort of dignitary arrived which meant a few secret-service type men were then loitering around in the lobby and hallway (a few doors down from my room). Kind of interesting, but if this person hadn't made such a big show of announcing his arrival (flashing lights, police escort, motorcade, etc.), no one would have known he was there and he wouldn't have needed all the staff for "protection"... This hotel is also close enough to walk into the historic part of the town. I would certainly stay here again. Just lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing