We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at The Esplande”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
161 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at The Esplande”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Esplanade is a grand old hotel, impressive lobby and large rooms. We had a room on the first floor which faced the main street but as the trams run 24 hours it was very noisy during the night. We were moved to an "inward" room which despite having no view of the city was twice the size with a huge bathroom and was very quiet. We did not try the breakfast 24 Euros p.p, but did have some food and drinks in the bar which were very nice. Staff were friendly and professional. Rated as the "best" hotel in Croatia, its not like a 5* you would find in cities like New York or London so do not expect all mod cons. The price in the summer is very reasonable due to many people heading to the coast.

To reach from the airport, take the airport bus (30 kuna) to main station. From there a tram (no. 2 or 6) for 4 stops (10 kuna) will leave you almost at the door of the hotel. The location is about 10-15 mins walk to Lower Town and 20 mins walk to Upper Town. Zagreb is a great city to visit and you should allow 2-3 days to check it out. Take CASH, most places do not accept credit cards.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEDBUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,792
    501
    100
    34
    13
See reviews for
366
1,006
113
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for one night as a stop-off on the long drive back from Dubrovnik to the UK. On arrival we were met by the doorman who took care of our car and parked it in the hotel garage. The hotel is traditional, possibly showing its age in areas, but comfortable and the service is top class. The restaurant is also very good and the service again was very good. Its location close to the heart of the city means its a good base to see the sights. Overall we thought the Esplanade was the perfect place to stay and offered very good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Esplanade Zagreb for two nights and it really has been lovely. The hotel has obviously been upgraded, but has been done sensitively, in that they have retained all the historical architectural features. Our room was spacious and beautifully finished. Our pillows were goose down. Breakfast is served in the very elegant dining area which in turn leads onto an exquisite patio.

What makes this place is without a doubt the staff, all of whom are friendly, helpful and unpretentious, and seem to delight in having you stay with them.

Thank you

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheSmithTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel has the charm of history
its architecture will win
spacious rooms and bathrooms
excellent breakfast
unforgettable terrace Olender
Small and efficient reception
professional staff
great food and drinks
good point to start discovering Zagreb

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divitias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uberaba, MG
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Esplanade is a landmark in the capital of Croatia and lives up to its reputation. The historical building is well maintained, walking distance from the railway station and just a few blocks away from the city centre. Service was efficient and discreet, rooms were very large and well appointed. And yes, they still have old fashioned tube TVs in the rooms. I wonder why they haven't renovated those yet! I didn't have breakfast in the hotel, as I found there are plenty of better value options in Zagreb. Despite highly recommending this hotel, I do not recommend the bristrot, as it is overrated and food isn't anything special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodrigoHueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the Moment you arrive and the Porter comes out you can see this is an Impressive Hotel.
Check in was seamless and Polite. We were given Recommendations for Restaurants as well as a map and idea of places to see. The Room was stunning with great views and beautifully kept.
Housekeeping is outstanding.
I suppose the only Negative I would find is 24 Euros PP for Breakfast is a bit over the top.
Would stay here any time I am in Zagreb.

Room Tip: Ask for an Outward facing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterKem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Fantastic Hotel, for its beautiful Art Deco setting, the location, the staff. We had to travel by car to Sarajevo after some floods and the concierge called to find out the best itinerary for us. The rooms are large, luxurious. Fantastic bathrooms. I do not see how this could be better, and the price is just a bargain.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing