We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough, but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks for business and got upgraded to a 'classic suite', which was nice, although primarily meant there was a lounge in addition to the bedroom.

I must say, however, that the bed was among the comfiest I've ever had (and I have an extremely nice bed at home) and the proper blackout curtains helped with a good night's sleep.

Breakfast was a good selection of the usual bacon, eggs, sausages, pastries, breads and delicatessen. I mostly had fruit for breakfast, which wasn't really the best (watermelons loads of seeds, citrus fruits chewy as not well prepared) but acceptable. Didn't eat other meals at the hotel as there are sooo many good (and affordable) places all around town which are undoubtedly a better way to spend your kunas.

There is a nicely equipped gym with a small selection of free weights (barbells and dumbells) and machines - pretty decent for a hotel gym and I could just about keep up with my regular workout. Pool was fairly standard, not particularly inspiring either way. Nice steam room and sauna as well but the outdoor hot tub was out of action and full of mould (if it's not going to be used, at least cover it).

Staff were generally friendly and helpful, but then again, that is a basic expectation and they didn't go out of their way.

Location wise, it's about 15-20 minutes walk into the centre of town and a nice walk. Also close to the bus station if you need to go on daytrips.

In general, the hotel seems a 'average-good' standard that you'd expect from a Big Chain, but as with increasingly many large hotels, it feels dated to the early 90s, even if fairly clean.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the street and others a courtyard of sorts. No discernible difference in noise level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hi Matt,

Thanks for caring and taking the time to post your impressions. I appreciate your being so candid. Your descriptive leaves me with the impression that your experience was better than the system generated score would lead one to believe. In any case, I have taken note of all your observations; they are very helpful. On a positive note, I can tell you that we will be rolling out a major refurb of guest-rooms, public areas, cafe, bar and restaurants as of mid Q4 this year. If the impression you left us with this time is that our property is tired, I can assure you that this will not be your take away in the future. Hope to see you back soon.

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Nice lobby, decent sized rooms. No views, and it is in the lower town, about .6 miles/1km walk to the upper town, where it is much more pleasant, historical and active (restaurants/shopping/historical attractions). The rooms and hallways are worn. Comfortable, but shabby. Decent water pressure, quiet place to sleep. Up and out to enjoy our vacation. Breakfast was a decent buffet, but also a little shabby. Don't go to the restaurant for a quick bite--there is a modern cafe to the right of reception. The #13 tram will get you to town square, in upper town, and if you can get past the graffiti and crumbling building facades, the walk is cool in a gritty urban kind of way. God bless a country that has been through what it has been through for the last century. Hopefully they are turning the corner. We thought upper town and the parks were great. Also, a very safe city.

Room Tip: It's only a few stories high, and there is nothing scenic around the hotel. We faced the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnS887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Johh,

I appreciate your effort in sharing your experience. I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back because we have turned the corned and we can do better in terms of delivering on your expectations. In the event you do revisit, I am certain we will impress. Mid Q4 we are launching a extensive refurb of guest-rooms, public areas and F&B outlets.

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is rather old fashioned, very tired, and in need of renovation which I've been advised will commence towards the end of the year. Once renovated, I will try it again. On the plus side, the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful if they tried.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear LAScotty,

I appreciate the time and effot you have taken in posting this review. It is reassuring to hear your were satisfied with the service end of the stay experience. You are well informed indeed about the refurb cycle. Do come back.

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. However, they were slightly let down by little details. There was only 1 bathrobe in the room for 2 people and no slippers.
The spa facility on the whole was good. However the outdoor jacuzzi seems to be out of action, and no one refilled the drinking water.
The lounge area was nice and relaxing, with a good pianist. The coffees served were a bit disappointing, tasting quite watered down. Perhaps they should have offered 2 shots of coffee.
Location wise, it was good for the bus & train station. A comfortable walk into the main tourist area, though for more elderly tourist, it might be a bit far.
Overall, I did enjoy my stay, but it was a case of missed opportunities, as a few tweaks could have made it great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Ghenix,

I appreciate the time you took to post your impressions. It's reassuring that you were pleased with your stay, but I am a little disappointed we did not manage to WoW you. I have carefully noted all your comments and I can assure you I will have all issues addressed. Thank you for being so detailed with your input. Feedback like this really does help us improve. When you come back, you will see for yourself.

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We arrived to Zagreb by train and hotel was near train station. Service in reception was friendly. Hotel room weren't as good as I have used to see in 5 star hotels (for example bathroom looked old). Hotelroom was clean. In Spa Area there was nice outside jacuzzi but there was no water at the moment. Service in Spa area was friendly. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JyrkiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Jyrki,

I appreciate the time and effort you've expended in publishing your impressions. It's always good to hear that we were on top of the game at the service end - guest experience is what inspires us to give that little extra. Cleanliness is certainly an area we excel in, and it's great that you took notice. I've made a note of your comments in respect to room decor and bath. FYI - we're doing a major refurb of guest-rooms, public areas and F&B outlets as of mid Q4 this year. I hope you'll be revisiting us soon.

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Nice hotel, rooms ok, very good breakfast, nice service, but too small for 3 beds - fine for twin or double room but never for triple - my tour operator was very inexperienced in this matter. Restaurant for dinner good food. Although the hotel is supposed to be downtown it is a 15-20 minute walk to the real center and when you have elderly people in your group it makes it a little difficult especially if temperature is in high 80s

Room Tip: As long as rooms are for 2 persons fine, never book it for 3 adults with 3 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Bonita,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. It pleases me to hear that your stay was pleasant and that you were satisfied with our product and services. Our standard room concept is a perfect fit for double occupancy, be it a King, Queen or Twin configuration. Exceptionally, and only on request, we do provide our guests with roll-away beds to enable triple occupancy. The standard rooms are designed for double occupancy, and as such are spacious and functional. We do have a great assortment of 27 classic and executive suites, as well as a fabulous presidential suite, that are perfectly designed to accommodate 3 + persons. In the event you revisit Zagreb, do come back - we would love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four nights as my tour went through Zagreb. While the hotel is in downtown Zagreb, it is about a ten-twenty minute walk (deepening on your speed) to where the town square, and many of the restaurants are. There is also great public transportation in the form of trolleys to get you to/from anywhere in the city and they stop right in front of the hotel. Anyhow, I felt very safe walking around this area, day and night.

The hotel itself was really nice, though you could tell it wasn't brand new. It certainly felt the most 'American' out of all the hotels I stayed at within Croatia. My tour group ate a lot of meals (breakfasts and dinners) at the hotel and found them average at best. (I would recommend heading to the old city for a great collection of restaurants and/or bars) However their cafe had one of the best Club sandwiches I've ever had!

Everything was clean, the staff very helpful and friendly, and I thoroughly enjoyed my view of downtown Zagreb from my window.

Room Tip: The hotel is essentially a big square. The rooms on the outside have views of downtown while the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jtrek72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Jtrek72,

I fully appreciate the time and effort you have taken in sharing your stay experience with us. It is reassuring to know that we truly delivered at our end. That is precisely what we strive for with each and every guest, each and every time. You are very kind, and I hope we will have the honor of welcoming you back soon - looking forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.9 mi away
The Westin Zagreb
The Westin Zagreb
#13 of 59 in Zagreb
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Zagreb Hotel

Address: 2 Kneza Borne, Donji Grad, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#11 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: £81 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre, Sheraton Zagreb Hotel is just a stroll away from the main attractions where Zagreb's history and tradition can be witnessed in museums and galleries, architecture, numerous theaters, lively cafés, and bars. Offering easy access to the city's main points of interest and close to public transport, we are the hotel of choice for business and leisure travellers. Bright and spacious, our 306 guest rooms and suites feature a personal and inviting atmosphere and modern conveniences. Make time for yourself at our heated indoor pool, Wellness & Spa centre and fitness facility. Plan a successful business event in our halls and rooms. Our modern and multi functional halls are ideal for your conferences, meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Zagreb
Zagreb Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing