We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What an absolutely lovely hotel. Staff were excellent, rooms amazing, beds huge, food awesome and centrally located that once we parked the car we didn't use it for the next week. Service was fantastic. Definitely recommend to anyone that wants the little bit extra.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Josip,

Thank you for staying with us, as well as for publishing this great review. It is tremendously encouraging to know that we made the connection with you, and there-by justified your choice of stay venue in Zagreb. The entire Sheraton Zagreb TEam eagerly awaits your return!

Cheers,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    372
    178
    49
    22
See reviews for
97
245
65
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I’ve not previously stayed in a Sheraton (or any Starwood property), so I can’t say if this hotel is typical of the chain, but the experience has been enough to make sure I won’t be wasting my money staying at any of their chains again.

I booked the room through a third party website as an overnight stop in Zagreb before my flight back home after a 15 day trip around Croatia, Serbia, Slovenia, Italy and Hungary (which had taken in a number of excellent three and four star hotels, including a very nice four star elsewhere in Zagreb at the start of the trip), and as a treat had gone for a five star hotel and a “Deluxe Room” to end the journey on.

As I’ve not previously stayed in a Sheraton, and because I was booking through a third party website, I wasn’t aware that their “Deluxe Room” is actually their most basic room with nothing actually deluxe about it.

Both the room and the bathroom looked very tired and in need of a serious refurbishment, certainly not what I’d describe as deluxe.

Whilst the bed was very comfortable I didn’t actually get much sleep as the room I had been given looked directly onto the lift lobby area and every few minutes until around 2am there would be a “Bing bong” as the lift stopped and then quite a bit of noise as guests stepped out into the lobby area heading to their rooms talking.

In addition for some reason they had decided to put an internet router in my room (see 1st photo) plugged into the socket underneath the desk. Whilst this meant I had an excellent Wi-Fi connection it meant I had flickering green lights illuminating my room all night – not conducive to sleep.

Because of the way the router was plugged in it meant there wasn’t sufficient space in the socket under the desk to plug a UK adaptor in to plug my laptop into, so to do any work I had to stretch the lead on my computer to its maximum length and plug it in halfway across the room (see 2nd photo)

On a positive side most of the staff I interacted with were all helpful and friendly, though I don’t think the lady who checked me out twigged when I said “not really” to her question about whether I’d had a good stay as she then just went into the usual spiel about city tax and if I wanted a taxi. As I needed to get to the airport and would probably only have been rude as I was grumpy from not having slept properly, I decided not to bother asking for the manager.

All in all a very disappointing stay, but at least I now know to avoid Starwood owned properties in future.

Positives
Comfortable bed (assuming there’s nothing else in the room to prevent you from sleeping)
Mostly friendly staff

Negatives
Tired rooms
Noisy
Flashing internet routers in bedrooms
Room name inflation (it’s not Deluxe it’s Standard)

Room Tip: Avoid room 247 (and I suspect 347, 447 and 547) unless you have the ability to sleep in a noisy disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear TravellingTom78,

Thank you for staying @ the Sheraton Zagreb. I appreciate your taking the time to post your stay impressions on the TripAdvisor platform. It is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations, but I am glad to hear that your interactions with our staff were friendly and helpful. I would like to point out that we are in the midst of a susbtantial refurbishment of public areas, F&B outlets and guestrooms. Issues that you alluded to in respect to scokets and routers will be reconciled during the course of this current refurb. Although we did not make the connection with you this time around, I can assure you we can, and are better than this one-off impression you left us with. It would be great to have you back!

Regards,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great stay. Great location. Friendly staff. Good service. The rooms are wonderful and the food they serve is let`s say plenty. I highly recommend it. Cosy and big rooms, hospitable, near the center and comfortable location when it comes to the airport. Just wonderful. You would feel at home.

Room Tip: Choose the recently renovated wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Lovebleneurotic,

Thank you! Fabulous to hear we managed to justify our loyalty and choice - much appreciate. Let's reconnect soon!

Cheers,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've stay there for more than one month now (counting all stays together) and what can i say? It's really one of the best hotels I know. The staff working there is just great, they really like to help and smile a lot. Makes your day better every time. The breakfast is OK, you have plenty to choose from (but you kind of recognize it after some time so it stays the same) The pool is ok, just enough for 3-4 ppl swimming. Gym is very big. Rooms are spacious and clean, you have the felling of luxury. There are couple of restaurants near by and as well as in the hotel. You have tram lines very near and proximity of main railroad station is also a plus. You can walk to city center as it's nearby. When i will be in Zagreb, i will choose Sheraton again:)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Tomasz,

Thank you so much for your candid review and you kind words. It is tremendously encouraging to hear we managed to develop such a Sheraton connection with you. I really appreciate your loyalty and I look forward to your coming back soon. Your Sheraton Zagreb Hotel awaits you!

Sincerely,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hueneme, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Sheraton in Zagreb was a first class hotel. The staff throughout the building was always a joy to deal with. They were so hospitable and helpful. The Sheraton is within walking distance of Center City and is quite affordable. The rooms were cozy not overly large but very comfortable. I truly enjoyed my stay there and will stay again no doubt. I cannot say how much I appreciate the staff during my stay they pointed out many local spots and recommended so great eating establishments close to the city center. I especially want to thank the kind gentleman who checked me out early morning on the 27th of July as he was very patient and kind with a small rush that early in the morning. I cannot remember his name but he went above and beyond and so did the rest of the staff. I cannot recommend this more highly.

Room Tip: The higher floors seem quieter though none of the spaces were very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rnick45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Rnick45,

Thanks so much. What a great source of encouragement it is to get fabulous reviews like this that confirm we're on top of the game and that we made such a great connection with you. The Sheraton Zagreb eagerly awaits your return!

Regards,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel overnight due to a cancelled connecting flight. The staff were instantly warm and friendly. We were served a delicious three course meal and a buffet hot and cold breakfast. Room was cosy and big. Highly recommended if on a short trip or wanting to be close to airport and accessibility to city centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toxictwin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Toxictwin02,

How great to hear we delivered on a pleasant stay for you despite the fact this was an unplanned scenario for you. We pride ourselves on our Sheraton connection approach to service excellence, and you're very kind to have taken the time to share the fact we deliver on our promise. Do come back soon for a planned visit - your Sheraton Zagreb Team awaits your return!

Cheers,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I chose the Sheraton because of its location and the Sheraton brand. It lived up to my expectations in most cases.
The hotel was just a short stroll to the centre of town and many of the tourist sites and restaurants.
From my room I had a view of the magnificent spires of St Catherine's Cathedral.
My room was spacious and my bed very comfortable. It was very quiet despite being in a busy part of the city. I slept like a baby.
My bathroom was adequate, a little dated, with a step in bath shower. I don't like this. It is uncomfortable and could be quite dangerous when entering and exiting the shower.
The room was cleaned to a high standard and I liked the drawdown at night and the little chocolates. A lovely bowl of fruit was delivered to my room which I thought was a classy touch.
Breakfast was very good and staff very friendly.
The hotel wifi is the best I have encountered in Europe.
I think some guidance and provision regarding tour options and obtaining a driver ought to be standard hotel policy. I had difficulty obtaining an appropriately hotel recommended driver. Customer relations is an essential part of running a hotel.
Overall I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and indefinitely would stay there again if I returned to Zagreb.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Leon,

Many thanks for sharing your impressions with us in such detail. I've taken note of your comments regarding providing tour options in the city; I quite agree. For your information, we've started up our refurb. The first phase will encompass the restaurants, bar, public areas, ballroom and meeting salons and will be completed by mid September. The second refurbishment phase will kick in this autumn and will encompass guest-rooms. I sincerely hope we'll have the chance to reconnect soon.

Cheers,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.9 mi away
The Westin Zagreb
The Westin Zagreb
#15 of 58 in Zagreb
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
1,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 58 in Zagreb
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Zagreb Hotel

Property: Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Address: 2 Kneza Borne, Donji Grad, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#11 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Family Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre, Sheraton Zagreb Hotel is just a stroll away from the main attractions where Zagreb's history and tradition can be witnessed in museums and galleries, architecture, numerous theaters, lively cafés, and bars. Offering easy access to the city's main points of interest and close to public transport, we are the hotel of choice for business and leisure travellers. Bright and spacious, our 306 guest rooms and suites feature a personal and inviting atmosphere and modern conveniences. Make time for yourself at our heated indoor pool, Wellness & Spa centre and fitness facility. Plan a successful business event in our halls and rooms. Our modern and multi functional halls are ideal for your conferences, meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Zagreb
Zagreb Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing