We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Hotel Dubrovnik is located downtown in the main square... the heart of downtown. My daughter & I shared a double-bed room and it was plenty large enough for the two of us. The room was clean and modern, and the beds were comfy. The bathroom was large with a large, deep bathtub & shower.

I would like to pay Philip, the head bellboy a particularly nice compliment. That young man owns his job - he is "Johnny on the Spot," so to speak, and never with his hand out.

The reception desk could use a bit more customer service training, though. Renata got a bit haughty with my daughter because she asked if there are other restaurants open for dinner on New Year's Eve night. We didn't want to spend $100 each for the Dubrovnik's "American Grill" dinner, especially since we are Americans. Renata spoke to my adult daughter rudely, which really made us want to seek out another local restaurant that was open on New Year's Eve... which we did, and I will review that restaurant on another TA Review.

The hotel's reception desk seemed "put-out" that they had to change our euros for kunas, especially the only man behind the desk. I know everyone hates Americans, but Europeans need to keep their eye-rolls down to a minimum while taking our money.

All-in-all, the Hotel Dubrovnik is a very nice hotel & probably the only nice hotel in Zagreb. Zagreb is a bit run down, but give the town a chance.... research their history before you go, because the locals don't seem to know their history or even care.

Room Tip: The rooms with two twin beds are much larger than the single queen bed rooms. 4-star doesn't me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I must say that your comment was very detailed and precise. The reception provided a mixed impression in terms of one clerk that exceeded and one that was disappointing. Accept my sincere apologies on behalf of Hotel Dubrovnik !

Nevertheless, upon your next arrival to Hotel Dubrovnik, kindly contact me in advance. I would really like to meet you and talk this through.

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    519
    154
    22
    4
See reviews for
147
390
98
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent 2 nights in Zagreb recently, in December just before Christmas. As it was a short stay we wanted a hotel which is absolutely central so we could save time on travelling and more time for sightseeing. We chose Hotel Dubrovnik after reading all the reviews, and it was a good decision.

Hotel Dubrovnik is a business hotel, staff are friendly, services efficient and very good wifi connection. The building is just right by the Jelacic Square, with many tram services making a stop there and it was a bustling place all day. There was a Christmas Market right outside the hotel so we literally walked into a Christmas mood.

We had a room on the 7th floor looking out to the pedestrian street. It will be nice to have a room facing the square. I do find the bathroom a bit small.

During our stay we could walked from the hotel to all the key attractions in the Upper and Lower Towns. Zagreb is a beautiful small city and the side alleys are full of character and charm.

Overall it was an enjoyable stay and we hope to be back one day to re-visit Zagreb.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Jelacic Square. It is a bustling place all day and full of life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I truly enjoyed reading your review. Everything worked out well, the service was up to expectations, the room was nice and you felt in love with Zagreb ! Excellent !

Hope to see you back in the nearest future !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very nice hotel, with great staff. This hotel is very central with great cafes, bars, shops and a great market all on the doorstep. The cathedral and sports park are easy walks. Trams to everywhere can be taken from the square.



Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigsdSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. One of those comments that are always nice to read !

Welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Hotel Dubrovnik is an excellent place to stay when visiting Zagreb. Its located in the heart of the old town and all attractions are very close. Personnel is very polite and room was clean and comfortable. Liked that room was big enough to feel like at home for all three nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milkmann_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank your for your comment. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Dubrovnik ! Regards to Latvia and Riga !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasko, Slovenia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was my 3rd visit to this hotel as I was traveling on my business this was fine location as everything was organized in hotel and that was convenient. Arrival was good and receptionist was very friendly. I was sent to the first floor probably this was some budget level rooms place as I remember that I had much better room as this one. Room had a windows but it was overlooking a wall of the next building that I could touch with my bare hand if I reach out. Room was clean and cleaning ladies did very good job. What was the worst this room is that walls are paper thin. It is like in Asia in some cheap dorm. You can actually hear everything what your neighbours are doing and you can clearly hear what they speak. This is not a standard for 4 stars I would say. Also air con was working very strange. I wanted to lower to temperature in the room and I set it to 21C. Instead going down it went up to 24C. :) LoL. Internet was working in the room with good speed and I appreciate if internet is free of charge for guests. Breakfast was OK but nothing spectacular there. Launch also good, so kitchen is also doing good job.
Another problem we had was with the conference room and setting the proper temperature. We struggled for three days but we were not so successful. It is an air con heating system which is working very funny and not efficiently. Eaither it is too cold, either it is too hot and also too loud and not suitable for meeting rooms. So we need to switch it off. Also majority of people were constally coughing and it was like conference of sick people. Anyway I give 3 stars for this place as I left with mixed feelings. Something good and something definitely needs some improvements.
Best thing about this place is location as you are located truly centrally in the heart of Zagreb.

Room Tip: Ask for room with real window so that you will not be put in a room overlooking a big wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
267 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Fantastic location off the main square. Central for upper & lower town and most restaurants.
Extensive café culture right out of the door as is the Christmas market.
Service fine and friendly.
Room - exec suite - comfortable, spacious. Air con too hot would not reduce and no tea/coffee facilities (annoying in a suite with extensive seating space).
Breakfast average - hot buffet unappetising. Coffee, tea & cold buffet good.

Overall would stay again despite the niggles above - location is king on weekend breaks!

Room Tip: For a winter break when we expected to spend some down time in the room recommend an executive suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel Dubrovnik is located in the central old area of Zagreb, very convenient to shopping, nearby tourist sights, etc. It is large, seems to be used quite often for conferences. The staff was friendly and professional. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of offerings and was very good. I did not stay there seeking a "grand hotel experience" and so was not disappointed. If you want a nice, quiet, attractive, convenient place that is centrally located so that you can easily get out and see Zagreb, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheel1733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik
Address: Ulica Ljudevita Gaja 1, Zagreb 10360, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dubrovnik is located on the main city square of Zagreb which has a unique hospitality tradition since 1929. It is the only hotel located in the heart of Zagreb and it is surrounded by most of the major tourist sites such as the cathedral, Zagreb old town, Dolac market, parks, bars and restaurants. The hotel contains a total of 222 rooms which are equipped with air-conditioning, private bathrooms with showers or a bathtub, hairdryer, TV and a minibar. If our guests have any additional request for their room, they can contact the hotel. One of the most unique features of Hotel Dubrovnik is that there is a tram station located right in front of the hotel that will take you to most places because the public transport in Zagreb is well organized and there is a taxi stop located 50m from the hotel. Our guests can enjoy American Steak House Restaurant which serves Croatian cuisine, a Lounge Bar and a summer terrace facing the main square. The Main Train Station is half a mile away, the Main Bus Station can be reached within just over 1 mile and Zagreb Airport is 11 miles away. If our guests need a taxi transfer from the airport, bus or train station they can reserve it through the hotel for a better price. The hotel has recently introduced a new policy if our guests decide to reserve their room through our official website: -Free parking space -Late cancellation until 18:00 on the day of arrival -Late check out until 16:00 -15% discount in hair salon ,,Brba "- located on the second floor in Hotel Dubrovnik -15% discount for a massage in beauty salon ,,Beauty CheChe "- located on the third floor in Hotel Dubrovnik ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Dubrovnik Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing