We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located full service hotel”
Review of The Westin Zagreb

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Zagreb
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Centrally located full service hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

+ve
Full service hotel, even has a casino.
Beautiful views of the entire city from the 17th floor dining area windows.
Huge exercise room and ok sized pool accessible from 1st floor.
15min walk to old upper town, near the loop for lower town, museums and arboretum.
Updated rooms with firm bed and many pillow choices.
Many rooms with views of the city due to it being one of the tallest buildings in the city.
Fast elevators.
Ok breakfast with milk, cereal, breads, fruit salad, veggies, eggs and fruit juices for vegetarians. Box breakfast with bottled juice and water can be requested for early departures.

-ve
Internet requires a per device security code. The biggest problem was that the code is remembered only for a short duration (even with the Remember box checked in) and needs to be reentered after longer breaks. Having to enter the cryptic code more than a dozen times over 2 days was a complete pain. If the code expires a trip to reception is needed to renew it. Also the internet was slow and flaky late evening. If they really want to secure the internet they should issue a code that needs to be entered only once for the guest's duration of stay and one code should suffice for multiple devices (a different code per device is just a pointless inconvenience, probably an artifact of their billing arrangement with the internet service provider which needs fixing).
Hotel menu has very few vegetarian choices and though there are quite a few bars and coffee/snack shops in walking distance, locating a restaurant where you have some vegetarian options and a non-smoking seating area can be difficult. Most of the time we ended up eating pizza and ice cream around the upper old town.
Fridge is part of mini-bar and sealed, so if you want to keep your own bottles you have to break the seal and let mgmt. know that you didn’t use the mini-bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sir, thank you for staying at the Westin Zagreb and thank you for sharing your impressions.We will look into the points you are bringing up. We already discussed the issue with the internet code and we are working on it. Also, we discussed the comment in regards to the vegetarian food. Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    432
    220
    63
    28
See reviews for
115
294
85
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was at Westin Zagreb on a business long stay, and was impressed by the friendly and efficient service from the staff. They listen well and try their best to help you.

Also the location is quite nice, with the city center a good walk away. Had a good time, and would love to go back on vacation with the family.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a good view of the hills towards the north, and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaviSeshadri_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sir, thank you for staying at the Westin Zagreb Hotel and thank you for the great feedback. Great to hear that you were satisfied with our service. Hope to see you back in Croatia with your family. With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed there for two nights as a part of our group tour through the region. Not a five-star experience but my sincere compliment is for the friendliness and good service from the staff. Our room was well-kept and clean. Good location is also a plus. The hotel itself is located in a nice quiet neighborhood but within walkable distance to the main square (Jelacic Square?) and a lot of shops and cafe-lined streets in the downtown area. There are a couple of museums located around the block but we didn't have time to check them out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the feedback, especially for the comment regarding to our staff. Great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and your stay. Hope to see you back in Croatia. With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGH POINT, NC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A well managed and attractive setting makes for a pleasant travel experience. Very good location within walking distance to several cafe streets. Area very well lit at night. Did not have chance to check casino.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHIL8888HighPoint_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sir, thank you for the great feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Traveled to Croatia two weeks ago and did not realize my name was incorrect on the plane ticket. The wonderful Lufthansa ground crew in SFO took steps to assure that I was able to board my flight but asked me to confirm the correction while in Europe. I must admit I was really concerned when I checked into the Westin in Zagreb on April 24th since both Lufthansa and Travelocity refused to correct my name on my return plane ticket after numerous phone calls. It was a nightmare trying to call while traveling abroad. I approached Katatina who was at the front desk and she immediately asked her supervisor to allow me to use the hotel phone. After spending almost two hours calling several different phone numbers (with her help locating some of them) and also with the assistance of Silvio, I was able to print the necessary documents to confirm and prove to Lufthansa that the ticket was for "me" and returned home without incidence. I must add that this trip to Croatia has been full of surprises. Croatia is a beautiful country with the warmest people.....great food, great scenery, and great value!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sir, thank you for staying at the Westin and thank you for the great feedback. We are very happy we succeeded to fulfill your expectations. I'm glad to know that Katarina and Silvio helped you to resolve the issue with the plane ticket. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Croatia and to Westin Zagreb Hotel. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A friend and I stayed here during a tour. The room was fine, bed comfy, nice view of the city. The location was good, we walked to several points of interest, like the botanical garden and the Museum of Arts and Crafts. I just felt that the room/hotel was lacking some charm, which is why I didn't leave five stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Westin Zagreb and thank you for sharing your impressions. We would truly enjoy to welcome you back upon next opportunity. With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was staying with my husband last march in Westin Zagreb and our experience was really nice. The hotel has PERFECT LOCATION, it is in the center of Zagreb, in front of Mimara Museum and just few blocks from their National Theather. All the attractions are very close and for us that was very important, we didn’t had to take any taxi- from there you can visit all attractions by foot.
Beside good location, hotel has nice and big lobby, staff were friendly and rooms are spacious and very clean with comfortable bed. Also, wifi was very fast and that was very important for us!
To recommend: in the restaurant they have delicious -strukli- their typical traditional food with cheese, do not miss it!! Also take the room on the higher floor – the view is AMAZING!!
If coming back in Zagreb one day, we will definitely return to this hotel :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Madame, thank you for staying at the Westin Zagreb and thank you for the great feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I'll forward the comment regarding to the food Štrukli to our chef. We are very happy we succeeded to fulfill your expectations and would truly enjoy to welcome you back upon next opportunity. With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 58 in Zagreb
928 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
1,208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 58 in Zagreb
861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Zagreb

Property: The Westin Zagreb
Address: Ulica Isidora Krshnjavoga 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#5 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Zagreb 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Westin Zagreb
Zagreb Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing