We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Very Mediocre”
Review of The Westin Zagreb

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Zagreb
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Very Mediocre”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I'm generally quite impressed with Starwood and their Westin's. In fact, I chose two on my recent vacation. One was extraordinary and one was well.......blah......

The Zagreb Westin's location was fabulous. Very walkable to the cathedral and nicer parts of town and seemingly right on the border of the not so nice.

Location: A

The room condition was ok, The mattress was particularly bad. The carpets need to be stretched out or replaced. Bubbling carpets is about as bad as it gets. Rooms are tiny.

Room Condition: C

Service was uneven. Night auditor was frankly rude and not very good. Bellman was fantastic. Bartender was ok at best. The worst bit was parking. Upon checkin, which took forever because the copy machine was down and night auditor incompetent, our rental cars which were to be returned at the hotel were in the registration area (not even parked) for more than the allowable 15 minutes. Therefore, we were charged for parking for one hour during registration and return of our vehicles. Not much money, but its the principle that counts.

Service C

Would I choose it again? Probably not...unless I was using points. It needs an upgrade to meet Westin standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnkrbim928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sir, thank you for sharing your impressions. We will look into the points you are bringing up, especially the issue with the parking. Thank you for staying at the Westin Zagreb Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back upon next opportunity. With our kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    426
    211
    61
    25
See reviews for
114
287
85
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuakau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The rooms are spacious and well serviced. Biggest issue we had was with the dining room as it was very full with a number of tours staying - we had trouble finding a table. Kept running out of various dishes, at both the buffet dinner and breakfast. You can't fault the location though as it is a pleasant 10 minute walk into the centre of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sir, thank you for staying at the Westin Zagreb Hotel and thank you for sharing your impressions online. Your comments in regards to the breakfast we will take in consideration. Thanks once again and welcome back. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovinj, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Well everything was great the moment we did arrive to the hotel, reception room is specious clean large with touch of the decor,bed quality and pillows are great, bath room and specious with excellent towels. restaurants also very good especially the breakfast was rich,even the price is high but is good. All staff extremely helpful and attention to detail second to none .Location - close to shops, sightseeing, yet not noisy.

Room Tip: bed quality and pillows are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauricio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sir, great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights in June. Good room and bathroom, very clean.
Good sound insulation, never heard a noise except for exuberant soccer fans on the street after a recent late night World Cup victory.
I didn't include breakfast as it is expensive for a light meal but Ok of you are a big eater.
Beautiful pool and good gym area.
The excellent tram system runs alongside although the fabulous city centre is a short walk away.
Great views across the city but through rather dirty windows.
This is a great hotel for quiet time and access to the bustling city centre.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank KayKayTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the nice feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcome you back upon next opportunity. With our kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Im on a tour and have to say this hotel is superior to any others so far.It has an impressive marble lobby with beautiful furnishings. Huge big bed in our room which was very comfortable, The room was spacious and the bathroom very roomy with lots of toiletries . The only negative was the noisy lifts at night. get a room away from them. Nice restaurant with lots of food on offer. Would return anytime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeronikaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for staying at the Westin Zagreb Hotel and thank you for the great feedback. We are very happy we succeeded to fulfill your expectations. We already resolved the problem with the lifts. Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Zagreb. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovinj, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

many thansk for excelent service.
the rooms were very clean and nice with an excelent view and the hotel location ist very good.
hotel staff its educated and very good too. staff ist verry pleasant.
breakfast was excelent. the gym has vey good equipment.
i will definitely stay here again
thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sir, great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We hope to come back to Zagreb in the near future and again stay at the Westin Zagreb. I had a medical problem on the plane and as soon as we checked in, the front desk "jumped in to help". They gave us information about the hospital and immediately called a taxi. We had to stay an extra night beyond the two nights already booked because of a test at the hospital. All shifts of the front desk helped in some way, such as faxes and finding telephone numbers for re-booking airline tickets to get home. Breakfast for the last morning was not on our minds but the staff had boxed food waiting for us before leaving for the airport. Every front desk staff helped in making our stay as enjoyable as possible. The lobby was beautiful as was our room. The breakfast selection was more than we expected. We definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnadurkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darko R, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for staying at Westin Zagreb Hotel and thank you for sharing your impressions.
I’m very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced due to the medical problem.
On the other site I’m very happy that my team helped you in that situation.
We are very happy we succeeded to fulfill your expectations and would truly enjoy to welcome you back upon next opportunity.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Zagreb

Property: The Westin Zagreb
Address: Ulica Isidora Krshnjavoga 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#5 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Zagreb 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Westin Zagreb
Zagreb Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing