We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace Hotel, Zagreb, Croatia”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Palace Hotel, Zagreb, Croatia”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hotel staff was absolutely the best. Friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable of things to do, places to go, restaurants, etc. The breakfast buffet at the Place is by far the best breakfast buffet I've ever experienced at any hotel I've ever stayed at. That would include the Embassy Suites', which is top drawer itself. But the Palace is a notch better. The usual faire; i.e., bacon sausages, scrambled eggs, omelets, rolls, pastries, coffee and nine different types of tea, and service that is simply extraordinary. One added offering for breakfast ... their STRUKLI .... an absolute to die for breakfast treat. Or "anytime" treat for that matter. I cannot say enough about this hotel. The only, and I mean the only drawback was when I checked out ... I was charged with a phone bill on the room's land line that was somewhat hefty .... significant because I did not once use the room's phone other than to order room service, etc. But overall .... I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I was to be in Zagreb, Croatia.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfarrPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    400
    126
    26
    10
See reviews for
101
324
79
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I have to stay in Zagreb about once in a month and I know a couple of high standard Hotels there. I prefer the Palace. The rooms are a little small but they are clean, refurbished and have everything you need. Beside a wide choice of cakes, cereals, breads, croissants and some warm stuff, they also offer a variety of Croatian hams and cheeses for breakfast. The price is ok consodering that Zagreb is generally an expensive place, what most people don't expect.
Even when I don't stay in hotel Palace, I go at least to the bar and have a drink, because I simply like the atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeRegardEloigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A conveinent hotel within walking distance of the main railway station (where there is a large underground shopping mall), and five minutes in the opposite direction the main square. Trams pass outside the hotel to all parts of the city.
The room we had was spacious enough for a family of three, with free internet (no fuss) and a decent sized bathroom. Room was clean and had a couple of art works on the walls which brightened up a fairly plain room.
I was looking forward to the 'old school charm' that had been promised in other reviews, but it must have been 'updated' since then because there was little if anything old about the hotel. A few furnishings suggested an art nouveau theme, but nothing genuine. Perhaps the lower floors rooms had more atmosphere than those on floor 5.
Good breakfast buffet let down by the fact that the hot food was not hot because the food warmers did not seem to work. Did however enjoy the egg and cheese strudel!
Staff were always available and spoke good English. Good discounts available on the internet, which made it affordable for us. Taxi to the airport was approx. £15.00 per taxi or a coach approx. £3.50 each

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the hotel rather than the front, do not have trams going past at all times whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbows75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We always stay at the Palace when we go to Zagreb .We enjoy the old world charm with very friendly and helpful staff,comfortable rooms and a great breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Some rooms are smaller than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Hotel was clean and price was good. It's in an old building in a convenient location a few minutes from the tourist areas of the Upper town. Room and facilities are a little dated and would help from some upgrading though.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This hotel is in an awesome location and is an easy walk from both the train station and from the main square. The only oddity was that to get to our room we had to take an elevator and then go up and down three flights of stairs! I guess the hotel still retains some of the odd layout from when it was a palace. Other than the surprise of having to navigate 3 flights of stairs with a bunch of luggage, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plutoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I travelled to Croatia with 8 watercolor artists on Going Places Together's Painting Croatia's workshop. As the coordinator of the trip (by recommendation from a friend who lived in Zagreb) I chose The Palace Hotel. We arrived in Zagreb on the 17th of September and spent three nights at The Palace. The location was perfect and the staff very accommodating. I thought by looking at the rooms on line that I traveling as a single was going to get a small (in comparision to Canadian standards) room. My room was perfect. It offered all I needed. The next question asks what sort of trip it was. It started out as business and it ended as friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toursforwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Trg Josipa Jurja Strossmayera 10, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#15 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Zagreb, located in the center of Zagreb, immediately next to the beautiful old city park Zrinjevac, opened its doors in 1907 as the first professionally organized hotel in Zagreb. The hotel has since undergone several renovations in order to be modernized and follow contemporary management trends. Today, it merges the comfort of a modern lifestyle with a warm retro-chic atmosphere created by its antique-style furniture and its modernist interior. The Palace Hotel Zagreb is the ideal choice for guests who visit Zagreb for business, as well as for tourists at particularly favorable accommodation prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing