We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short walk to the centre and opposite the park.”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A short walk to the centre and opposite the park.”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Lovely hotel. Lots of character. Great buffet breakfast with excellent selection of foods - hot and cold. No charge for room service in the day. A small gym.
Good location - only a short walk from the centre of Zagreb and near lots of restaurants and bars and the main Zagreb attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamillajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    425
    132
    28
    10
See reviews for
111
354
84
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The outside of the Hotel had some graffiti on the side. Otherwise, the hotel was great. The staff worked hard to satisfy any requests. The hotel is near the center of Zagreb. The breakfasts were well thought out to handle many cultures. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timhopkins100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Have mainly been using the same three hotels whilst staying in Zagreb, but decided this time to try out something else. Checked the usual booking sites and additionally the home pages of the various hotels. Fell for what I believed was a good family-weekend deal. The deal for a family of four included two nights in two attached rooms inclusive a "wellcome snack" and a three-course dinner the other day. Being a family of five I mailed the hotel and agreed to pay only 40 euros for the additional kid including the above mentioned package. The prompt answer to my mail and the good deal gave me a good impression of the hotel, but I still didn't expect so much from the visit as the hotel had got so mixed reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel turned out to be one of the best hotel experiences I've had in Croatia. Since we entered the hotel they really did everything to make us feel wellcome. The personnel at the front desk gave us excellent service who ever was on duty. The room we got was more thean just two attached rooms, but was more like an apartment; one huge bedroom with a double bed, another smaller bedroom with two separate beds and a huge livingroom in between withe a small balcony with a nice view over the nearby park. The furniture was stylish with a big table in the livingroom, where they brought us the wellcome snack, sandwiches and juice. The breakfast was good and plentiful. It included both warm and cold dishes and local homemade specialities. The restaurant where the three-dish dinner was served was likewise stylish. You could choose between two different options per dish. The service was good without being overwhelming. Yes, the stay at Palace Hotel was without doubt one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: Look for their special packages on their internet page.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosseTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

When we travel, we always look for good hotels with great locations. We spend such little time in our room that as long as it's clean, the hotel common rooms are nice and the staff is friendly, our primary concern is location. The Palace fits all of these. It is wonderfully located just across the street from a lovely park and within walking distance to the main Zagreb Square, the Old Masters Museum, the Archaeological Museum, the Mimara Museum, the Opera House, and pretty much all of the tourist places one chooses to seek. It was a bit farther to the train station so dragging your luggage would be a stretch, but the Palace is a very short taxi ride away and public trams run close by. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but it's also close to some GREAT local restaurants where we chose to eat each evening. The breakfast room is light and each morning, there is a wonderful selection of food no matter what your preference. The staff was very helpful and it is in a completely safe area of Zagreb which means walking late at night it not a problem. We worried at first that we would be bothered by noise from the local tram as it goes right by the hotel, but didn't notice it at all. We were in Zagreb for just a little over and week and were quite happy with our choice of the Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: We noted that some folks had mentioned the noise from the tram. We were facing a side street and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SACALosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My sister, cousin, and I visited Zagreb October 7-10, and stayed at the Palace Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The front desk staff could not have been more helpful, and spoke fluent English. The room my sister and I shared (a "junior suite") was spacious, beautifully appointed, had a large marble bathroom with a double sink, and a view of the park across the street. The WiFi Internet access was excellent throughout the hotel. The breakfast was the best we encountered in our entire two week visit to Croatia! Eggs, breakfast meats, rolls, fresh fruits, juices, coffee, and cereal just begin to describe the spread. Each night we enjoyed a nightcap and dessert in the brightly lit but friendly Lobby Bar. The property is located three (long) blocks from Zagreb's main square, and is within walking distance to Upper Town, the Kapitol District, the train station, and plenty of shopping. The only even remote complaint I would have is that the lifts are TINY. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmerikanacUHrvatskoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at the Palace Hotel twice in August and were very happy both times. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were traveling with two small boys (2 & 5 years old) and the hotel was very accommodating. We arrived early in the morning but they made every effort to ensure we could check in early. They added an extra bed to the room. As this was the end of a very long trip we had several bags, car seats, a stroller, and carry-on bags. They offered to store the car seats for us so that our room would not be too crowded. The rooms were very nice and clean. The breakfast was excellent with a great variety of food. The location of the hotel was perfect with all the major sights within walking distance. There was also a tram stop right in front of the hotel. They also helped us arrange last minute transport to the airport at a reasonable price. We will stay here again when we are in Zagreb.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJML_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

The Palace hotel is located within minutes walking to myriad museums, restaurants, & shops. It's also just 4 tram stops from the bus station, which was really convenient. The tram stops right in front of the hotel.

The front desk staff were all helpful, knowledgable, and very accommodating no matter who was at the desk or what time of day it was. I was less pleased with housekeeping and I wished our room had been cleaner.

The building is beautiful, it was built at the turn of the last century, but the drawback is that the plumbing is quite noisy and the shower is uncomfortable and doesn't drain well, leaving your calves soaking in water at the end of your shower.

The complimentary breakfast is quite good, particularly the baked goods. The offerings are varied and I would think that any guest, no matter his taste, would find it satisfactory.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritxu_Viaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Trg Josipa Jurja Strossmayera 10, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#15 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Zagreb, located in the center of Zagreb, immediately next to the beautiful old city park Zrinjevac, opened its doors in 1907 as the first professionally organized hotel in Zagreb. The hotel has since undergone several renovations in order to be modernized and follow contemporary management trends. Today, it merges the comfort of a modern lifestyle with a warm retro-chic atmosphere created by its antique-style furniture and its modernist interior. The Palace Hotel Zagreb is the ideal choice for guests who visit Zagreb for business, as well as for tourists at particularly favorable accommodation prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing