We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderful hotel in a great location!”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The entire staff was excellent. The morning breakfast was also very good. We really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely reccomend this hotel for the value and the location to both the upper and lower city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkkack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    407
    129
    27
    10
See reviews for
103
332
81
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel is very well located, just a short walk from the old city opposite a park with several museums. Nice area. It is a classic old hotel which has been kept reasonably updated, but could do with another makeover of both the rooms and the breakfast salon. I stayed on the 4th floor - far back in the hotel. The room was quiet, a bit small but quite comfortable. The breakfast was adequate and the staff was polite without going the extra mile to be friendly and make you feel welcome. All in all a good place to stay, when in Zagreb, but not worth a trip in itself:-)

Room Tip: I don't know if rooms closer to the front of the hotel are more modern - but they might be noisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jørgen Bo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This grand old hotel is in a very good location near the center and train/bus station. It's a bit dark and some finishes are worn and need refurbishing (e.g., carpet and wallpaper), but it is clean. The staff are very professional and helpful. We appreciated the assistance we received when we arrived and needed to dispose of a rental car. Our room on the first floor was just up a staircase from a private banquet where a party was being held until 2am one night, which affected our ability to get to sleep one night. The room was quiet when there was no party. The expansive breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was very good, and made this an excellent value.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the party/banquet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Palace at the beginning of a 2-week Croatian tour, and 2 at the end. Our first room was a standard double, which was located in the back on the 4th floor, but then down a little stairway and into a back hall. The room was small but comfortable with no view; it was adequate save for it being a bit too hot (what was supposed to be some sort of air conditioning unit was dysfunctional) and way too steamy after a shower. The latter posed a real problem for my wife, who hates humidity and steamed up mirrors. Fortunately there was a door between a small foyer area which included the bathroom, so this could be shut to protect the main living area while I fanned the bathroom and hallway doors for 5 minutes after each shower to de-steam the mirrors (there was none in the main bedroom area). The hotel, as so many have stated, is charming and the staff are lovely. I noted someone having a problem with luggage; just ask the front desk and you will find the bellmen to be extraordinarily helpful, as we did.

The breakfast offered is truly ample and the best hotel offering we found in Croatia. There's even a bucket with free champagne and some sort of brandy for those so inclined. Fruits, cereals, veggies, sliced meats and cheeses, bacon, sausages, omelettes, scrambled eggs, french toast, potatoes, yoghurt, packaged miso soup, various coffees and teas, and even a "macrobiotic" offering of oats and additives. Then, of course, there is the Zagreb štrukli, a pastry filled with cottage cheese which is a house specialty see:
http://www.palace.hr/en/restaurant
My very health-conscious spouse loved these, to my wonderment. At the end of a breakfast, when they were out of them, she asked the staff about it and they had the chef cook up a couple of large, exquisite štrukli especially for her. Which brings up a comment I saw about cold food and lack of chafing dishes. You might be surprised at how eager to please the waitstaff is in the dining room. If you want something made especially for yourself, just ask; they seem delighted to accommodate special requests. Amazing.

During our stay, we considered relocating because we didn't find the room terribly pleasing. Before doing so, we asked to see some larger rooms and were shown the section comprising rooms classified as "comfort" rooms. These are closer to the elevator and are much larger, so we managed to book one of these for our return. On moving into the one we were assigned which was on the 1st floor just at the top of the staircase and having a wonderful view overlooking Strossmayer Park (hint: get a "comfort" room and ask for a park view). My wife was very happy; she felt as though she'd moved from a 3-star hotel to a 5-star for just a modest bump in the price. The room was cool, well-ventilated, nicely furnished, and had great mirrors (including one of those illuminated magnifying ones in the bathroom).

One last thing. Within a short walk is the Boban Restaurant, to which a Zagreb friend (a retired press foreign correspondent) introduced us. We returned several times and were always pleased. It's a good bet and not expensive. But for a truly wonderful meal: Trilogija (which my very well-travelled wife thought one of the best restaurants she'd experienced in her life.)

Enjoy the Palace. You'll be glad you stayed there.

Room Tip: "Comfort" room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I really enjoyed staying in thesis hotel. The hotel had an old theme. The rooms were quite hard to find as there was lots of 'in the middle' floors. My nan and grandad struggled with carrying bags around whilst trying to find our room. The hotel is very near the centre and takes minutes to walk to the square. We all really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. The WiFi in the rooms was excellent. Also the room service was quick and enjoyable

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here three nights and loved the location, not far from the old town, and staff, pleasant and professional. I actually stayed in 3 rooms, all comfortable, though none with much of a view. (I suspect that on the park side of the hotel there are some nice views.) I don't normally stay in grand old hotels, but this was very nice and reasonably priced for the amenities offered.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank karlovmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Good location with pleasant room. WiFi was excellent as was the shower & breakfast. The gym was 2 treadmills, a bike,a cross trainer & a multi exercise bench. I had it to myself so it's enough to burn a few calories if you can find the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
1,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Trg Josipa Jurja Strossmayera 10, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#15 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Zagreb, located in the center of Zagreb, immediately next to the beautiful old city park Zrinjevac, opened its doors in 1907 as the first professionally organized hotel in Zagreb. The hotel has since undergone several renovations in order to be modernized and follow contemporary management trends. Today, it merges the comfort of a modern lifestyle with a warm retro-chic atmosphere created by its antique-style furniture and its modernist interior. The Palace Hotel Zagreb is the ideal choice for guests who visit Zagreb for business, as well as for tourists at particularly favorable accommodation prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing