We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have stayed at the Palace Hotel before”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Have stayed at the Palace Hotel before”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed at the Palace Hotel earlier in month, but this time it was perfect in every way,,love this Hotel,,have stayed at the Esplanade but form now on this will be my choice of Hotel to stay when in Zagreb. The staff are down to earth, not snobby but the service they provide is number ONE.
My room was clean [most important] comfortable and very quite. Breakfast Buffet was the best I had in Croatia,, wonderful menu in the Restaurant, and the service is excellent,,,,you must taste the mushroom soup and the "Palace" special dish,,,will not be disappointed. When I return to Zagreb next October I will be staying at "Palace" Hotel again. Thank you everyone for making my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nada D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    400
    127
    26
    10
See reviews for
101
325
79
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, great staff, the best croatian strukli I ever had. Hotel has a soul and a story. Part of the hotel is being renovated, but I had no problems with it.You cant hear a sound, and they are really thoughtful towards the guests. I had a real good night sleep. would recommend it to all.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the Palace before and after a river cruise on the Adriatic. We were provided with all the essentials, but best of all was the comfy bed.Our room was small-ish, but comfortable and clean. You can walk to town, the underground mall or watch people in the park across the street.
Breakfast buffet is included with great items to choose from. Watch out for those filled croissants, yum!
We really like the feel of the hotel, classy but not snobby. The staff went out of their way to make sure what we needed we got. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank styx-stones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before heading back home. Room felt small but was well accommodated. They had parking available (for a daily charge) which was a bonus and the morning breakfast buffet was very nice. Right across the street from the park and only a few minutes to the main areas of town. Public transportation is easily accessible and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I'd definitely stay here again when in Zagreb.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Decadent, old style decór greets you as you enter the foyer of this magnificent hotel. Staff are welcoming, and the rooms are a fantastic standard; comfortable and spacious.

Breakfast is served with a selection of hot and cold foods, which will fill you for your day of sight seeing in Zagreb.

We shall definitely return to this grand old master.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lathonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yutz, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is very well located. The architecture is quite remarkable with parts of art nouveau, like the glass roof. But it seems that this hotel has its glory days behind him and was probably a luxury hotel during the communist area. It's a bit obsolete but yet it has a lot of charm. However, rooms are confortable and breakfast is rich. The staff could me more friendly. The greatest advantage is that it's really close to the very core city and Zagreb is a very lovely city. I rated it "average" but it shold be beetween "average" and "excellent". If you are not to demanding, this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've traveled extensively all over Europe, so I feel I have good expectations for what I'm going to get with a European hotel. They are renovating, but the old part of the hotel clearly dates back to communist days!

Service was amazing, and the location was great. To get to our rooms, we had to walk up and down several half flights of stairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah8711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Trg Josipa Jurja Strossmayera 10, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#15 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Zagreb, located in the center of Zagreb, immediately next to the beautiful old city park Zrinjevac, opened its doors in 1907 as the first professionally organized hotel in Zagreb. The hotel has since undergone several renovations in order to be modernized and follow contemporary management trends. Today, it merges the comfort of a modern lifestyle with a warm retro-chic atmosphere created by its antique-style furniture and its modernist interior. The Palace Hotel Zagreb is the ideal choice for guests who visit Zagreb for business, as well as for tourists at particularly favorable accommodation prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing