We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old hotel”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Nicely located between the train station and the center of town, the Palace Hotel is a good deal at 90 euro per night for two. The room was large and comfortable. The enormous bathroom would have been perfect but for the fact that the shower glass screen was too small allowed water to escape onto the floor. Good AC, room safe, comfortable beds and quiet location added up to a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Old worlde charm and friendly staff made our stay at the Palace most enjoyable. Price was very reasonable too.

Nice large and comfortable rooms, good breakfast, excellent location. Can't ask for much more.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GEOMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I would happily stay in this hotel again. We shopped around and got a good price. It is well maintained, centrally located and has a delicious breakfast included. Staff was professional and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KenJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is in a really good location with easy access to both the upper and lower town areas but not affected by external noise. The room we had was clean, comfortable and well equipped, including a safe, wi-fi and a good selection of toiletries. The breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The only downside was the renovations which did not disturb us but meant that we did not see the dome, although that is a good excuse to justify a return visit! Definitely highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here for two night in July. Everything was fine with our room on the top floor, overlooking the square in front of the hotel. The room was a bit noisy, from the outside because of the outside bar on the square and the rooms surrounding our room. The room was perfect and cleaned properly. Great location close to the center and the train station.

The organization of the breakfast was a bit messy in my honest opinion, there were A LOT of people, at least 6 or 7, walking in and out of the breakfast room. This workforce could have been given the task of serving out coffee and thee. The breakfast was fine.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Herman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at the Palace Hotel for just one night during a conference in Zagreb. The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the historic parts of the city. Everything is within easy walking distance, but there are easy public transportation options available as well.

The Palace seems to be in at least two buildings that have been connected together, so the hallways are a bit of a maze, particularly during the renovations, while some staircases and elevators will not reach every floor. The staff members could have helped this situation with temporary directional signs to indicate how to get to the rooms.

However, my room was just renovated; it even had the smell of new carpet. The room small but spotless and well-appointed. The renovations seem to be of pretty good quality, but the baseboards were not attached securely to the wall. The bathroom was small but nice. My room overlooked a lovely courtyard, so it had a nice view and was quiet.

Our conference had dinner in the hotel restaurant. The buffet was good and varied. The breakfast buffet also was good, but the coffee machine could be improved.

Overall, given the location and room quality, I would stay here again. I expect the hotel will be quite nice once the renovations are complete, so my rating likely would go up after a future stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location with pretty park across the street. Easy walk to old city center. Spacious, clean rooms. Very nice bar and outdoor area. Super friendly and helpful staff. Wifi very good and desk printed train schedules and gave travel tips for our next stop in Slovenia.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
988 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Trg Josipa Jurja Strossmayera 10, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#14 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: £64 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Zagreb, located in the center of Zagreb, immediately next to the beautiful old city park Zrinjevac, opened its doors in 1907 as the first professionally organized hotel in Zagreb. The hotel has since undergone several renovations in order to be modernized and follow contemporary management trends. Today, it merges the comfort of a modern lifestyle with a warm retro-chic atmosphere created by its antique-style furniture and its modernist interior. The Palace Hotel Zagreb is the ideal choice for guests who visit Zagreb for business, as well as for tourists at particularly favorable accommodation prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing