We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand hotel”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I stayed at the Palace Hotel while visiting Zagreb with friends for one night in July 2010. The hotel is located in a very peaceful part of lower Zagreb, with trolley cars passing by and large shady parks surrounding it. The hotel feels... well, like an Austro-Hungarian palace, which it used to be! The front desk check-in was efficient and friendly, and the hotel features a free computer terminal with printer so you can print your boarding pass if flying out of the Zagreb Airport. Our room was big but had no view and the decor was very dated. Regardless, the hotel was quiet and served well as a home-base while exploring Zagreb. It also featured a nice complimentary breakfast served in its dining room. Modern and chic do not describe this hotel, but comfortable and historic do. I would certainly recommend the hotel to you. We paid in cash to get a 10% discount on the room price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel was exactly as I was expecting and there was car parking (for a fee) which suited us. The hotel is clean and comfortable, staff obliging and close to the main centre.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taraterrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Generally, it seems to be a nice hotel, mostly if you are in transition to other countries, although it is a little bit expensive. The staff is nice and the rooms are clean, but the breakfast is pretty much poor.
It has a good location and it is easy to find by car, but it doesn't seem to have lots of parking places.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buburuza77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I can recommend this hotel. It is nicely located - very close to everything, but across from a park. Nice renovated room, great breakfast included and great service. We had a "triple", so a double or queen bed and a couch that turned to a single bed for our son.

One word of caution: my son was up at 5am due to jet lag and we let him watch tv, in his channel surfing he came across several channels of serious porn. We grabbed the remote and covered his eyes and tried not to laugh when he said "eww, what was that??" That was a surprise we could have done without!

About $198 per night - pricey, but all hotels in Zagreb are. Also - a full day in Zagreb is enough. Lovely town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAlotCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We wondered if we should stay at a hotel located on the main square, but were happy we chose the Palace instead. It is only a couple of blocks from the square, and right across the street from the beautiful parks leading to all the main attractions. We walked everywhere, and we are senior citizens. The hotel was clean, the bed was firm, and the breakfast (in a lovely dining room) offered lots of choice. The mostly male front desk staff was a bit stiff, but the room cleaners always greeted us with a cheerful "Dobro dan." Our room was located in what seemed to be an extension of the building, so we had to take the small elevator, walk a long hallway, then go down some stairs, and along another hall. It was very quiet, but had no view. There is a free computer station in the lobby, a great plus to us since we don't carry any wi-fi type of equipment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

First time in Zagreb. This hotel is very central for the old town and the lovely green spaces. The staff are very helpul and speak English. The rooms are a little tired, this is apparently the oldest hotel in Zagreb. The breakfast was excellent catering for a wide range of tastes. Hotel very international.
Zagreb itself especially old Zagreb is lovely and well worth a visit in its own right.
The Kuna is also more favourable than the Euro.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greatnorthroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Good hotel with a fine location and helpful personnel.
My special thanks go to the waitress and waitors at the breakfast..
I'll go back there when I'm in Zagreb again, for sure.
Thanks them all.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirnavv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Trg Josipa Jurja Strossmayera 10, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#15 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: £76 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Zagreb, located in the center of Zagreb, immediately next to the beautiful old city park Zrinjevac, opened its doors in 1907 as the first professionally organized hotel in Zagreb. The hotel has since undergone several renovations in order to be modernized and follow contemporary management trends. Today, it merges the comfort of a modern lifestyle with a warm retro-chic atmosphere created by its antique-style furniture and its modernist interior. The Palace Hotel Zagreb is the ideal choice for guests who visit Zagreb for business, as well as for tourists at particularly favorable accommodation prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing