We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative”
Review of Zagreb City Museum

Zagreb City Museum
Ranked #33 of 216 things to do in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A somewhat skewed history of the city.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great little museum. Learnt a lot about the history on Zagreb. If you can't read Croatian then you will need an audio guide to get full benefit from your visit. Would recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    67
    23
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
395 reviews
208 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to Zagreb”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a good place to go on your first day in Zagreb - a fascinating tour through the history of the city. The museum is well-organised on a chronological basis, and you need about 2 hours to see it properly. Each room covers a particular period, and as you enter there is a panel with text in Serbo-Croat, English and German explaining what was happening during that period. Read this first, then you can make sense of the exhibits in the room.

My only criticism would be the coverage of the post-1945 period, which is rather limited. Perhaps it's all a bit too recent to get a proper perspective.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dohfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Muzej grada Zagreba”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It is somehow hidden, back at the end of Opaticka Street, so not many tourists pass by it. It's pity because it is the best place to learn all about Zagreb town. From stone ages, throughtout Roman times, Middle Age, to modern Zagreb. The way that this museum is designed is very owesome and original, very unique, due to its director Mr Vinko Ivic who has dedicated all his professional knowledge and great will to renovate the old building once Nuns Monastery to the attractive museum. The only thing that's missing is signs /arrows- pointing how to get out. Once I have gone through the museum, because I couldn't quickly find the way out, I panicked a bit and then simply I climbed out of the window in the ground floor of one wing of the building to get out. Luckily the windows were not locked up. The employees saw that happening on the camera and told me I wasn't the first one. !!! But still, I went there again with my daughter and her friend, as I am a tour guide in Zagreb and needed to check up on few things. This time my daughte wouldn't let me get out throught the window.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ingaj_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very interesting museum”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

An old convent converted into a museum. They excavated under the monastery and found artifacts dating back to the Roman times. you can walk through history from then until today. Very well presented.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lidia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty nice place”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice museum with some very exciting things, like (SPOILER ALERT!):

- first machine for making cartoons;
- first Oscar for animated movie;
- different clothing styles in different times of Zagreb history.

Very lovely place, pity that lacking descriptions in English, but anyhow is very interesting!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OlesiaSnezhkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zagreb City Museum also viewed

 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Zagreb City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing