We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Day and Night Hostel
Ranked #110 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Thun, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Me and my boyfriend spent 3 nights in the hostel day and night in Zagreb. The first two nights we slept in the private room with the double bed. this room isn't in the hostel itself, it's across the street in a separate building. This double room is excellent for staying a couple of nights, you have wi-fi connection in this building and a kitchen you can use. So you don't have to go to the hostel to cook. the bathroom is all right and air condition is working. the only thing that maybe wasn't perfect were some ants on the floor. i would recommend staying in the double room.
the third night we spent at the 4-bed room in the hostel. you meet a lot of other travellers, but in the night it's difficult to sleep because everybody is talking, coming home late or getting up very early. also there is more noise from the street and traffic.
the staff was just great, they speak perfectly english and are really really nice. we enjoyed staying in day and night in zagreb.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    27
    17
    5
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
17
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This Hostel maybe better before but over the years, the poor management causing the worst backpackers I ever met to gathered here. Perhaps we maybe unlucky but I still believed that the management can improve or looking into this matter.

The location was almost perfect which was somewhere between the bus and train station but it was very noisy, clubbers screeching and cars speeding was heard throughout the night.

The 8 beds dorm we are staying was greatly lacking of sockets for charging. We couldn't even charge our camera or phone when the others will either they plug out ours or fully occupied.

In the pantry/kitchen, with the limited pots. Backpacker A used one pot to cook rice and another for his side dish. The pots was occupied for 2 days for his breakfast and dinner.

Backpacker B did not clean the pots, plates and utensil he used. He was expecting others or the management to clean it for him. Making the sink to stuck with his foods and flooded.

The canned pork with my name written on the side was even eaten by a thief. When it was me and my girlfriend's dinner, resulting our dinner to be so lacking and pathetic.

Lastly, the backpackers in our rooms kept on switching the lights when we and others are sleeping. While just a day before, a group of backpackers talked from 12am to 1am inside the dorm itself while almost others are sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veryjovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed three nights in this hostel and I really enjoyed it. (1) It is very conveniently located and quiet. (2) The staff was nice enough to let me check-in a few hours early. (3) The beds have drawers underneath that lock and fit everything I had which helped keep the room from looking cluttered. (4) The common areas made it really easy to meet new people and I met some really great people during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Allen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

we were here some weeks ago. the room we got was not very clean, you could see someone's hair on the carpet. the bedding was old. there was a strange scent. the location was good, there is a tram station just across the street. anyway we were not satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lap N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zagreb hotels

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I found this hostel was nice, and had good facilities but couldn't help feeling a little uncomfortable at first.
This is because our room is next to the reception, so everytime I went for a shower they could all see you (the receptionists or the people on the sofas) and this is the same for the toilets too as they are next to the reception.
However, it was a good price and in a great location, and so we were able to look round the city, and catch trams etc. but know it was a short distance from where we were sleeping.
Also there was a big fridge and a communal box, which came in handy when we needed to cook something after a long day travelling when we just needed a bit of pasta and pesto!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Great stay here for two nights. The hostel was very clean and the staff was friendly. Cool vibe. A few blocks from the train station and only a few blocks from the cathedral in the city center. Several decent restaurants and cafes close by.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tractatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This was a very good hostel: quite clean, kind staff, 100% secure and excellently located! it is like 5 min walk from the train station and 8 min walk to the main square of the center. The tram station is in front of it, very close to the main attractions of Zagreb! you can cook, use a laptop, free wifi, and even watch tv if you feel like doing so. If I ever go back to Zagreb I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.1 mi away
My Way Hostel
My Way Hostel
#30 of 150 in Zagreb
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Chic
Hostel Chic
#16 of 150 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Old Lab
Hostel Old Lab
#31 of 150 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
#12 of 150 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Temza
Hostel Temza
#78 of 150 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Main Square Hostel
Main Square Hostel
#17 of 150 in Zagreb
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Day and Night Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day and Night Hostel

Property: Day and Night Hostel
Address: Ulica Kneza Mislava 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Day and Night Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing